La Petite Mort (Little Death)... Short Fiction

in #twentyfourhourshortstory6 years ago (edited)

2516948-ULPJGPJF-7.jpg

Source

Breakfast...

"I could swear it" George muttered, bits of vegetables falling of his mouth in the process. "I still don't understand why you don't see it".

I looked at him as he chewed on, and I thought to myself that I couldn't love this man any less. He picked up another sandwich, and as he makes to eat it too, he catches me staring. He stops eating, and looks straight at me.

"C'mon Jane, I need you to listen to me."

The serious expression on his face almost makes me laugh out loud. I know he means it however, so I control myself and simply smile.

"I am dear, I understand you perfectly. Our new neighbor is an alien", I replied. I couldn't resist adding just a little hint of sarcasm to the last statement.

George smiles, the serious expression dropped for now. I half hoped silently that the alien talk would be dropped too, he had been repeating it for the past three weeks since Charles, the new neighbor, moved in. Something about Charles seems off he keeps saying, but only once has he gone as far as using the word alien. Nevertheless, I knew that was what he really meant to say.

I smiled back at him, and gave him a peck on the cheek. "Finish your breakfast love, the day awaits its Prince."

"I'm no Prince young lady, I am King." he replies, stuffing his mouth with the remaining sandwich.

"Yes, your majesty." I get up and give a half curtsy, then reach for the TV remote.

The rest of the morning passed without any further talk of Charles. George went to work, and I was finally free to concentrate on what I had been secretly planning for the past two months.

I knew George must have forgotten, what with all the talk of Charles being strange and all. I didn't worry though, men will always be men.

But today marked the tenth year since our wedding, and I was going to ensure it was the most special yet. A thought crossed my mind, and something like electric moved inside me. I smiled for the umpteenth time to myself; women afterall, will always be women too...

Lunch...

I was thrilled with my shopping, every single item I had gotten was perfect. I even went one better than I envisaged and bought myself a special treat. Little Death the attendant had called it, and I couldn't wait to have a taste of the afterlife experience. George had no idea how awesome tonight would be. Again, my insides tingled.

I sipped the last dredges of my coke, pushed the burger aside and stood up. I had more than enough appetite, but there was only one meal on my mind right now. Time to go home and begin preparations.

I leave the mini restaurant and start towards the direction of my car. As I fumble in my bag for my keys, something catches the corner of my eyes. I stop and backtrack a little, the signpost was clear...

"DISTINGUISH ALIEN FROM MAN"

Out of curiosity other than anything else, I decide to go take a look...

Dinner...

Little Death!!!
I could almost feel it as I placed the last candle on the cabinet. I paused for a second and savoured the setup. I smiled with satisfaction at my efforts, still one thing was missing. I went back to the garage and opened the back door of the car.

"There you are, my pretty."

I picked the pack up and made to leave, then a silly thought occurred to me. It took only a moment's hesitation to decide, my imagination was really running wild. "George would be pleased", I giggled to myself as I reached under the seat to retrieve the crystal object...

As I walked back into the sitting room, I glanced at the time. George would soon be home, I thought with glee.

As if on cue, the door opened, and George walked in, followed surprisingly by Charles.

"Honey, look who I..."

What happened next was better seen than told. The crystal in my hand grew hot and I dropped it to the floor. It shone a very bright blue, just like the mysterious man in the shop had said. I was stunned at its efficacy; truly there was an alien in our neighborhood...

George shone just as much as the crystal did, it was only too obvious...

The only thought that came to me was... After ten years...

I died afterall, but not a little...

THE END

#SladenSpeaks


Written for @mctiller's Twenty Four Hour Short Story Contest


BRVF51QgEXt.jpg

Sort:  

Very good; need to read more like this on Steemit.

Hi @seesladen, your post has been upvoted and resteemed by me as MAP admin, and been included in this recent "MAP Upvotes and Resteems" article.
Please read about how to join and the benefits of the MAP community.
As I have already checked your blog, please treat this as an invitation to use our new "express joining" method at our dedicated Discord server; it's free!
Anybody else interested in joining MAP, please read this and this.
Thanks for reading.

Oh yeah?

I'm glad you like it 😌

Woah this is amazing. Finally after a long time I got the time to read your post. And this one is a masterpiece. Thank you for sharing :)

Awwww... Thanks dear... Was beginning to wonder where you went. How have you been?

I just got busy with exams and stuff. I have been doing good. Thank you for asking:)

Oh, okay... Goodluck with your exams

Thanks for participating in our Giveaway.
Your post has been Promoted for Free.
Find out how to participate by clicking here.

This post was upvoted and resteemed by @resteemr!
Thank you for using @resteemr.


@resteemr is a low price resteem service.
Check what @resteemr can do for you. Introduction of resteemr.

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

picked the pack up and made to leave, then a silly thought occured to me.
It should be occurred instead of occured.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54114.77
ETH 2331.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.13