💸 Challenge!!! I want Everybody to do Something NEW this week! 50 Steem Dollars in Prizes! 💸

in #trysomethingnew7 years ago (edited)

Write a post on what it was, how it went, and post the link in the comments below!

As many of you know...I didn't come into this community with a following, or mad writing skills, or really even any idea how to create content.

I'm just another person who had a slow go at the beginning. BUT, since there are so many of you reading this...you can see that I've managed to build up to a place that I'm rather proud of accomplishing. Periodically I get asked how I made it through those down times when I felt I wasn't reaching anyone, putting in the hours, but not getting what I wanted out of it.

Sure, the thoughts of packing it up and doing something else came to mind...but obviously that didn't happen. So before I get to the "Do Something New" Challenge with a 30 Steem Dollar prize pool...I wanted to share a few of my secrets with you.

If you're not willing to do things for free...you're really not that passionate about it. I know this can be rough to here...but I do find it quite true. Now, before you start going off the rails...I don't necessarily mean doing it free forever. Everything has it's limits. This simply means that during early stages, while you're still learning the ropes...focus on it being something you ENJOY!

When it's fun, and useful towards your person progression...you've already won!

I know this can seem cliche..but it's important. So many of us have such grandiose expectations, not only on Steemit, but with life in general. It's stated so beautifully in the lyric, "Life's a journey, not a destination." With this in mind...FIND A WAY TO WIN!!

I call this my "Gamer Mentality." Any game has some way to win (yes, even 52 card pickup!) If the standard game isn't working...change the rules! Say to yourself...who cards if i win by doing such and such...I win just by enjoying myself, or learning, or whatever. BE YOUR OWN GAME-MASTER!!

Baby Steps and Little Wins

Lastly...trying to focus on that over the horizon goal is tough for most of us. It's so far away and you don't feel that you reap the benefits until you've covered a massive amount of ground. So along the whole way...you miss all the small things that are getting you closer.

We all pretty much have the big dreams...and hold on to those!! But we can only go so far without being re-invigorated along the way. This is where the little wins come in. Take note of getting over that next hump...take note of a new skill, or a new friend, or so many easy to miss things.

So while staying oriented towards that end goal, try to plan your next few baby steps that bring you closer. These are always things that are WELL WITHIN YOUR ABILITY!! If they don't work out as intended..who cares...they weren't that big...or you find a way to make it into a win for yourself. Like Edison said:

Failures are ONLY failures if you don't learn something from them!!

So keep going! Keep learning and Keep Growing!! I guaranty you'll find what you're looking for when you're able to maintain this mentality.

OK, OK...get on with the Challenge Already!!

What I want you to do it do move yourself at least a little outside of your comfort zone. You can choose what this means exactly to you! I'm leaving this wide open for YOU to find what YOU want to try.

Prizes!!!

First Place - 25 SD

Second Place - 15 SD

Third Place - 10 SD

To enter, make a post on your own the shows what new challenge, activity, or whatever you tried. Succeeding at it is not required...I simply want you to TRY!!

  • Please include the #trysomethingnew tag in the post.
  • Drop the link to your post down below in the comments.

I will pick the top three winners with the criteria simply being...IMPRESS ME!! Feel free to provide some backstory on why something was hard for you to try, what's held you back before, and maybe what you were hoping to get out of it. I don't want to exclude anybody from participating, but when choosing winners is close..I want to lean towards giving it to newer, smaller users.

The Bottom Line here is to Have Fun Trying Something NEW

Winners will be chosen in one week, when this post pays out.




Don't Miss the Show! Follow the Steemit Talk Podcast (STP) Account

New STP Website!!

Are you new to Steemit and Looking for Answers? - Try https://www.steemithelp.net.


Image Sources:
Comfort Zone
Edison Quote

Sort:  

So fun! Not sure if this counts but I made my first ever satirical post on steemit?

https://steemit.com/satire/@lauralemons/studies-are-showing-that-spending-most-of-your-time-in-bed-is-optimal

It was really fun and surprisingly came to me naturally. It made me laugh to write it so that alone made it worth it to me. :)

Hahahaha!! That was freaking fantastic!!
And the cute kitty pics were a bonus! :d

hehehehe thanks. :D It was funny how many people didn't detect it was satire even with how clearly it was satire. XD

Hehe...that seems to happen to just about everybody. We'll except for maybe @lordvader. Lol

haha It was fun to watch. :D

I'm doing something new. I just posted my first post on steemit and am going to the KC Steemit gathering tomorrow!!! Will post about it and link here!!!

Nice! That first post really is a big step! It just gets better from there! I'll actually be in KC myself, will see you there! 🤣

YAY! Looking forward to it!! Is there a post or place I can access all the info, RSVP? I think I saw it once...But I lost it....Arg...

Never mind! Found the RSVP!

If I flag this post, does it count.
Just kidding. Start of a long weekend to a public holiday on Monday.
Just going to chill and not try anything crazy like bungee jump.
Perhaps, just take a walk and if possible find some place new.

Hehe...flagging would be something new! :P

But exploring new places to walk totally count in my mind. :)

Yay, I did had some walk though in the city.

I am making a commitment to paint everyday, even if it is just a little...I have spent years and years torturing myself and letting fear keep me from my potential... on day 4 now and it is really hard but
I am hoping it will get easier and I wont quit! https://steemit.com/colorchallenge/@michelleart/colorchallenge-mondayred-is-getting-the-creative-juices-flowing

That's awesome!! I definitely hope you keep it up!
I LOVE that paining! So serene, yet powerful. :)

Thanks! It kinda makes me cringe...I have crippling perfectionism so I am taking a personal risk sharing it and can easily talk myself out of painting at all which breaks my spirit. Please check out my blog to see some of my better work :) Thanks for putting the challenge out, you are making the world a better place! <3 Following you for more :)

Awww..if this one makes you cringe..I've definitely gotta see some others. (It helps that I'm a huge fan of OM.)

I am working on clearing some energy by doing these paintings and it is not pleasant for me but totally worth it lol

I saw some of your other pieces on your blog..and on your website. All I can really say is WOW!! :D

I'm blown away!

Thanks for checking out my website !

Absolutely!

Nice ! It sounds so silly but making this post, with my picture, was really a lot harder for me than I thought. I am going to stop saying I am not a writer .. Anyway, Thank you so much for all you have done for me.
My re intro post
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@jtstreetman/getting-back-to-steemit

I absolutely know how hard this was for you and I'm soooooooooo proud of you for putting this out there! :D

Thank you for entering the contest!! :D

I will definetely participate!!! Next tuesday I'm planning to do something I've never done before in my life!!! It is really an out of comfort zone experience!!!!

Oh hell yea!! I look forward to seeing it! :D

There it goes!! https://steemit.com/art/@omwith/tomorrow-is-the-big-day

Yesterday I played an impro for the first time in my life in front of 40 people audience!! :)

saving this spot to remind myself to post later...even if the contest ends before i reach my destination.

i am going to #trysomethingnew tonight and moving 3K miles x-country with no set place to live to start a new job in a city i have never been in. DId i mention I don't have a place to even live yet?

I'm nervous but excited.

I'm going to do my best to document the journey (while studying up and not interfering with my prep for new position) and hopefully will have time do at least a short post on it.

Hell yea!! Thank you Ajna!!
Love the FIRE FIRE FIRE FIRE spin spin spin spin. :)

I could vote for you today it is such a nice feeling, what an incredible post to try and help us . Thank you so much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99