True Skate Stories - Frontside Chin Slide Body Slam

in #truestories5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: True Skate Stories - Frontside Chin Slide Body Slam


Find this post on Hive commmunity run blockchain.

Sort:  

What a story bro.

Couldn't agree more about the skateboarding art part as well as with the people that get attracted by skating. I mean it takes a lot of nerve and power to skate so better release that energy with skating rather than fighting or doing stupid stuff.

I also find weed to play a big role in skateboarders lufe. Once a skater smokes one after a hard skate sess the body instantly relaxes and the tension is just gone. That's the reason I believe most of us skaters smoke. You could call it "medical" reason 😂

About the slam, damn dude looks like that hurt. That can't breath thing sucks but I guess it's just a part of the game. Sweet photos my Raj and I hope one day you get to ride your board again.

Much love my friend and #SKATEFORLIFE

!SKATE20

I mean it takes a lot of nerve and power to skate so better release that energy with skating rather than fighting or doing stupid stuff.

Yeah I think so too. I was seriously pissed off a lot of the time as a teenager and skateboarding really leveled me out. It brings focus and discipline in practicing the tricks. Also, I'd just go into my own little world skating work music in my ears and everything fades away other than the line.

As to the weed, ha ha well you've got it spot on. It was always the perfect pain relief if I'd been skating all day and I'd had any bad slams 🤣 That slam I described was quite a bad one but I had worse. Broken bones are the worst.... stories for another time.

Thanks for checking out the post. I'm glad you enjoyed the skate story bro 🙂

This post has been resteemed by @original.content.

Follow me to keep up-to-date with posts tagged #oc and the author on ocdb's follow list.

If you don't like this message, please reply STOP and I'll cease notifying you ASAP.


Powered by witness untersatz!

Awesome. I had a friend who had a flata bit like that. I used to frequent it a lot. They were indeed simpler times!!!

I had a friend who had a flata bit like that. I used to frequent it a lot.

ha ha, I think everyone knew a place like that... I was lucky enough to end up staying in a bit of a student/pot heads paradise abode. The only part I didn't mention in this blog was the all night playstation and pool nights we used to host.

It was a sweet gig tbh straight after leaving the paternal home and being a bit of a tare away. There was even a dishwasher which kept harmony in the house as no one had to do the washing up 😆 the only thing we ever argued about was who was making the next cuppa tea.

when I think about it was basically like a 90's version of the house in 'the young ones'

a teenage dreamland of questionable hygiene

What a great line!!!
What a great memoir of a slice of life in one's foolish youth.
You make me think it is not true that "Youth is wasted on the young."
I love the image of the downed skateboarder "scraping" his body off the pavement and running up those steps, to the amazement and probable envy of the older (wiser?) couple.
Dang. I keep coming to these posts weeks too late to resteem or upvote, plus, my vote fell to a worthless one cent. (Gotta Power Up!)
Thanks for this Raj!

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @niallon11.


@helpie is a Community Witness.

Thanks for the curation @helpiecake and @niallon11, much appreciated :)

During the nineties I got into using Cakewalk, the rival to Cubase. I worked as a support dude for the software for some time, but never really got the hang of using it as a multi-track recorder.

As for skateboarding.. I did some when younger and took loads of risks, going down hills at 30mph with blind bends etc.., I could easily have died but you have no fear then. Never got into the tricks you did though. My board was a bit shit, but I did buy some custom wheels for it. Bright yellow!

As for skateboarding.. I did some when younger and took loads of risks, going down hills at 30mph with blind bends etc

Ha ha, you're right about being fearless when young. Me and a friend used to do the craziness called skitching. That's basically when you get a tow by holding onto the wheel arch of a car... or we used to do it with buses. That was probably one of the maddest things when I look back on it cause we were often in traffic. This video shows what skitching is:

https://youtu.be/Ezi-vEqOdR8

I used to love bombing down hills as well.

P.s. the yellow custom wheels sound awesome! 🙂

Cool video, but what do you do if the irate driver brakes hard?

What kind of response did you get from the drivers considering your in full view in their side mirror?

You don't get a good response in Liverpool from the drivers if they noticed you lol

The buses were easier because they couldn't see you because the mirrors were higher. I must admit I had some sketchy moments in Liverpool city centre skitching cars.

My mate Ben who was a much better skater than me used to do it more often... But If I was out on a skate session with people better than me, I just had to follow the crowd.

Twas fun... and scary 😆

P.s if the car broke heavily, you have to push off from the wheel arch, to negate the momentum, and head for the kerb.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Great write-up and awesome photos @raj808.
This post was upvoted by @steemskate's curation trail and resteemed.
Have a great day dude


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

@knowhow92 tipped 20 SKATE TOKENS for this post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29