TribeSteemUp BiWeekly Question -- What does it mean to be a Lightworker?

FireInTheSkyMorningClouds-090718.jpg
Image Source

Lightworkers. Huh?

As I said a few days ago in the TribeSteemUp channel, I was planning to skip this bi-weekly question because of the original slant I had on it. "What does it mean to be a lightworker?" As I said in response, I never thought of myself as a "lightworker," so I didn't think I had much to offer on the subject.

But then @riverflows suggested another perspective -- which ironically I had independently hit on -- which gave me a different approach to understanding more about this term -- and these people. As a learning experience, that was significant.

It's been interesting to see others have shared my reservations. The term itself -- lightworker -- brought to mind some airy-fairy type with a blank dopey look on her face (always a "her" BTW) who used this self-described label as part of her overall introduction.

break1.gif

MorningHasBroken-090718.jpg
Image Source

I wasn't sure it was pertinent.

The obvious implications of being so much more refined and spiritual than the rest of humanity always put me off. (I'm sure you know the type I'm talking about. I'm sure you've met them.)

The very term Lightworker seems to be a title that should be given to you by someone else -- in writing or speaking about you, not something you claim and stick on yourself as part of your public identity. ("Hi, I'm Tiffany and I'm a lightworker." blink-blink-blink.)

So ... in researching the subject, I turned, of course, to my books and the internet -- to see what other opinions might be. My opinion, just because it's mine, doesn't have to be the final say on the matter. It took some digging, but I began to see the outlines of people I know and admire ... and the contributions they make to fashion a better world here and now and a better direction for us all in the future.

break1.gif

BronzeSunriseThroughTrees-001-090718.jpg
Image Source

This type of person is special.

To say they are different doesn't begin to tell the tale. They are wise and discerning, noble in intent and purpose. They hold fast to their values -- which includes a compassionate regard for all life. They see the world isn't perfect -- sometimes not even close -- but they dedicate themselves, their time and their labor, to pull it closer to that standard.

They are remarkably selfless. They are teachers, writers and thinkers. They see life through a different lens than so many others. But the vision they hold is inspiring and loving -- and is certainly a target worth working toward.

break1.gif

Sunrise-001-090718.jpg
Image Source

You can spot them at once.

They may or may not see themselves as embarked on some great spiritual mission -- but if they do, there's no pretense in their presence, no grandiosity or inflated self-regard. They meet other people on the level of one soul to another. When you meet one you know instantly, this is the genuine thing. Just as when you meet the other kind, they give you the creeps.

They are authentic and sincere in their self-presentation in ways you just can't fake -- although plenty try. They believe in themselves and the rightness of their purpose without having to push it -- and they don't waver from it. They teach by example -- and the example is real. And, to draw a line from As Good As It Gets -- they make you want to be a better person. That alone is a gift.

break1.gif

PinkLayeredSunrise-001-090718.jpg
Image Source

In every strata of life.

They can have wealth and power. They can be obscure and follow a modest profession. What distinguishes them is what they accomplish with their life -- as their legacy ... in a family, a community or a nation. To meet one, changes you. To know one, changes you a lot. (It may be the best evidence I can point to for reincarnation. They learned this stuff and developed these characters somewhere. It can't be just the luck of the draw.)

The most significant thing I found in this exercise was a profound core of meaning and substance behind this often silly New Age jargon. There is such a thing as a lightworker. The world needs these people. Thankfully, the world has them. In a whole lot of ways they are basically what I've always called, "A decent, evolved human being." That's not a bad description as it turns out.

break1.gif

DarkAndLovelySunrise-031818.jpg
Image Source

Stay tuned for more.

Researching this topic, however, revealed to me far more information than I can possibly contain in one post. It's been an important learning experience -- despite it rocky beginning. I plan to make a series of posts about what I discovered -- that will either show up here or on one of the alt blogs that tantalize my imagination.

Turned out this was a great question. I learned some things I needed to know -- which may have been the whole point.

break1.gif

About the art in our visual essays ...

Although sometimes the background pictures in our visual essays support the topic and text, they don't always. Sometimes the connection is clear. Sometimes it's symbolic and subtle. Sometimes, there's no connection at all.

The scenes depict landscapes and natural features, buildings and wildlife. They were chosen because they show something lovely or interesting ... or simply because the photo appealed to me.

Our spectacular and remarkable planet is changing at astonishing speed. Rarely are these changes for the better. Few people seem to know ... or care ... or have the will and power to do anything about this. It may not be long before the world humans have known and lived in for centuries is forever lost. We certainly won't be able to make repairs as fast as we destroyed it.

So a few years ago I began collecting pictures of the way things were ... and still are for now, a record of the beauty we have while it is still ours to love and honor.

The photos here are part of that collection, with sincere thanks to the artists who saw these moments ... and with their cameras ... preserved them. All of us at Enchanted Spirit are profoundly grateful to them for their generosity and skill ... and for the added grace, depth and dimension their art brings to ours.

Original images used under this Creative Commons license or this Creative Commons license and modified by added text.

enchanted_red.png

break1.gif

The STEEM Engine

break1.gif

thealliance_logo.png

break1.gif

Isle of Write

break1.gif

break1.gif

1-1.jpg

The 8 Pillars of TribeSteemUp

break1.gif

#thesteemengine #thealliance #steemusa #isleofwrite #qurator #tribesteemup

break1.gif

Sort:  

excellent description, the best one I've seen yet and without saying you are one ... sort of ...
i guess you are leaving all of us up to call you one ... i am so very hesitant to use the darn word myself and many who use it i feel are usually not one. LOL
at any rate, i would never call myself one either even tho my work here is very much Starseed type stuff, as you know .
i'm not sure of your message, only you do and your teachings. i do know that you make me laugh every single day i interact with you and you brighten even the smallest particle of my Being with your presence on Steemit. without you i would not have continued some of my writing if not all of it ... so thank you dear one, thank you.

As you know, we agree on that. If you have tell someone you are one ... you aren't.

I resonate to a lot of what I discovered ... but again, it amounts to what I call living as "a evolved, decent human being." (Maybe that's both the catch and the secret.)

Your remark made me think last night ... What is my "message?" (What would I say to someone about what's important in life?)

I think it would be along the lines of "Learn who you are and then live from that." In other words, don't try to be someone you're not. (You'll be a lot happier and more effective -- about everything -- that way.) That's why I find Astrology so invaluable. It is just totally on point with that information!

I'm glad you're here on Steemit. I'm glad you stuck around. I'm glad if I did anything to help that.

Bless you also for all the rest. <3

i’m feeling more that its what you wrote to riverflows, along the lines of HSP way of life and thats how we live. we are here for a special purpose and i got a message after i wrote my first comment, you are here to help people like me fulfill our purpose, in writing. you are our cheerleader, whether it be through astrology or your direct way in telling someone how to formulate a blog, simply by example. bottom line is, we are all coming together for a reason, i’m putting the pieces together ... but then again i love puzzles, i always have. we already know we have promises we made above to be here and in this timeframe there is a huge importance. if only i can remember! it will come. if you have any clues, please dial me in. its totally in connection to TSU, ET and FT. the men are signaling us but the the women will be the glue.

Oh its funny we felt the same, huh? Blink blink haha!! Sooooo felt sceptical and scathing about the term as a new age bullshit term. Turned out it mean something a lot better huh once the label was thrown aside. Yay for more enlightened folk huh. Love the photos!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, once I got past my resistance I liked what I found. But I'd really like to deep-six the label.

They have a lot of the qualities of the HSP (Highly Sensitive Person) ... but they're not identical. It depends on their philosophy of life -- which is something unique to us all, and also something we all choose.

As I said, in the end there was way too much to try to put in one post. I'm eager to write the rest of it. (So much ambition, so little time.)

Thank you for appreciating the photos. It's kind of a hassle slogging through the junk on Flickr to find them. But I think they're worth it. I like including them on the blog. They dress the place up so much even I like to hang out here!!

it is really refreshing for me to read how so many of us did not like how this term was being used, I tend to stay away a lot from the new age movement, as that term itself is ridiculous, there is nothing new age about being in balance and working for the greater good, this time of work has always existed, ignoring that and ignoring the powerful healing when we embrace the darkness has such a negative effect on us all, on the planet as a whole. It is the ones who are humble, who to what they do with a wish for any acknowledgement and fanfare they are the ones who deserve the upmost respect. Yet they would not feel comfortable with that xxxx
Respect to you beautiful and all the work you do xxxx

It can't be just the luck of the draw

Why not?

Had to be asked LOLLLLLLL

You read very different books then I do! hugs

I read very different books than most people. Also ... if the quality of a soul is just the luck of the draw, that means the "odds" say that for every lightworker type there will be a counter-balance of a "no light" entity ... or "mostly pure evil." Maybe that could be true, but it takes evolutionary progress mostly out of the picture. Doesn't matter if someone lives a good life or not -- because there will always be the "dark version" of him coming along to undo it.

And why would one soul be just randomly "blessed" with the ability to change the world for the better and another be doomed to cause nothing but grief mostly through no real fault of his own? I suppose the philosophers could carry on with this argument for quite a while, but overall Life does seem to opt for progress.

Of course, that could be just simple Darwinian natural selection -- what adapts and succeeds survives ... and increases. And so the chances of that happening again increase, too.

The world is made up of yin and yang, for lack of a better term. So to know what good is or light there needs to be darkness. There will always be bad things that happen it's how we all learn. We are all taught lessons in life for a reason. Some are lucky? enough to learn more but again that is for a reason.

I don't think it was a "let's throw these traits up in the air and see what sticks to whom" I was really saying. More like we each have a soul even as a little one and we do have free will. I think we are all handed out gifts at the door but it is up to US as humans to use those gifts as we see fit. Some never see what kind of gift they have gotten and I think those are the miserable ones. They spend most of their life wanting to be someone other than who they are. Where if they just accept who they are their life would have been better

Most gifts become stronger when a person is on their right path so again this would follow along with what I have written above.

I am an Aquarius and descend from the Bohemian race. I find this an interesting combination......

anyway just rambling now..... but loved your comment and this subject!! Thank you for researching it cuz we both know I never would! LOL so please let me know when you write more about this subject!!

Well, as you may have seen here and elsewhere, I'm an Aries (and how!!) ... and my father's family was Bohemian. (His parents were brought over from Czechoslovakia with their parents as toddlers.) So, we're compatible -- but different. Which 'splains some things.

Spooky...............................

Also, that thing about yin and yang ... I know. And it kinda bothers me. Because that says we're never intended to reach perfection -- that it is actually impossible. And maybe some of the atrocities and horrific crimes we're seeing lately -- are the counter-balance to the additional goodness we've managed to turn lose in the world. Carried to an extreme, this can get real depressing.

well if you look at it THAT way it is depressing............

so let's find a positive spin for that, shall we?

we meaning you :D cuz I'm nice that way...... LOLLL

That's part of the reason I didn't mention it in the first place.

ES gif 7.1.gif

your crystal ball

Oh, my goodness!

Yes.

This is bloody awesome. Both you and @riverflows are definitely on a similar train of thought, and it's been my contemplations on this topic also.

Lightworkers probably would never declare themselves as such - I wonder if humility is one of their traits also? I cringe every time I hear the term, but maybe its time to stop doing so.

Excellent article! I had heard of Light Workers before, but your writing sheds a bit more understanding. The photos you included are awesome! Great job pairing them with the writing! 💙

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63212.56
ETH 3233.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88