Trial By Comics : Desert Sniper Inked

in #trialbycomics6 years ago (edited)

header.jpg

Hello Steemians,

Thought I would give the Trial By Comics : Ink challenge by @kommienezuspadt a whirl. I have loved comic books since I was young, collecting a lot of x-men books. I also like graphic novels that don't center around superheroes and have more universal themes like Habibi by Craig Thompson or The Sculptor by Scott McCloud.

This is also my first ever entry to Trial By Comics. I wish I was around for the Star Wars challenge as I am a big fan of the movies.

For this piece, I decided to do something I had in my head for a while. I imagined a sniper in a poncho in the desert canyons. He is accompanied by a floating robot who acts as his spotter. They are best buddies and together they have to survive in a post-apocalyptic world.

My method for this is digital, using Photoshop.

Final

ink art10.jpg

Step by Step Process

I did a rough sketch first to block in the composition that I wanted.
ink art1.jpg

I lowered the opacity of that layer and did a more detailed line work on top of that.
ink art2.jpg

The linework for the sniper and the droid is nearly done here.
ink art3.jpg

Now I am starting on the background
ink art4.jpg

The heavy work of the inking begins. Putting in shadows and more detailing.
ink art5.jpg

More shadows
ink art6.jpg

Foreground detailling
ink art7.jpg

Final inking done
ink art9.jpg

and to top it all off with an animated gif of the process.

ink art10.gif

Hope you like my entry ,
see you in the next post !

wanafsmall.jpg

Latest Work

Slothicorn: The Toy
Duodraw Contest Entry (won for agape)
Slothicorn Story Entry
Chinese New Year E-card
State of Sndbox Entry- Camping (won Forth Place)
Sndbox Dtube Animation Contest Entry (won Forth Place)

Sort:  

Nice drawing
never thought it takes that much work for one drawing

thank you @mathias240, well if you're doing super detailed work like Katsuhiro Otomo, it will probably take a bit more time then say this drawing of wolverine by one of my fav artists , Jim Lee! It's all subjective at the end of the day

Wow.. speechless nice quality of line.. cantek weh!!

thank you @arelonz, come and join the ink challenge too, it's a lot of fun :D

@wanaf This is definitely one of the best posts I have seen so far. I love military themes so when I read it was called "Desert Sniper" I knew it would be awesome. I think that even the first sketch looked awesome (with the smoke on the cigarrette and everything). Keep up with the good work my friend

thank you @juaca7777 for your generous comment and support. I also see you do art on steemit too. Let's improve and produce some great things on this platform ! It's never been a better time to be an artist!

Loved the drawing!! Cool to see it come to life! How long did it take you??

Hi @stateofthearts , glad you like it . I would say around 4 to 5 hours at a leisure pace :D

Impressive, it really is a good drawing love the shading. We run an art initiative here on steemit, we would love to see more of your art and to have more active artists like you in our community! Hope to see more from you

owh thats really cool, the artistic community on steemit is still in its infancy stage , it needs all the help it can get . Will continue to contribute ! :D

I agree 100% anyway to link active artists helps! https://steemit.com/art/@stateofthearts/state-of-the-arts-premier-art-sharing-on-steemit
Explains our initiative and how to participate! Looking forward to see your activity in the community!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70181.59
ETH 3549.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74