Introducing Slothicorn : The Toy

in #slothicorn6 years ago

header.jpg

I woke up this morning and I wondered what would a slothicorn toy look like. So I decided to make one. Unfortunately ,It's not a real toy that you can play with though because I don't have the resources for that. It's just a mock up that I can build in 3D. I was thinking of making it like one of those toys they put into a mcdonald's happy meal.

The Process

Before I build the 3D model, I do a sketch of what it's going to look like. I am not gonna be 100% sticking to this design, it's more of a guide that will help me when I am building it in 3D.
concept.jpg

So next I go into my 3D software to build the basic shape. As you can see the silhouette is already a little different than the original sketch. I decided to go for a bit more roundish figure.

1v2.jpg

Now I sculpt it a little bit . I use a software called zbrush which gives you the ability to sculpt 3D models just like real life clay. I added some details to the toes and fingers too.

Now we go to the texturing stage where I apply color to the 3D model. I choose this brown as a base color.

5.jpg

I paint in the eyes. If you are curious what that that red line in the middle is, it means symmetry mode is on, so when I paint on one eye, the other will also get painted automatically.

7.jpg

The secondary color of his body

9.jpg

Added in his nose and mouth.

10.jpg

And finally his horn and rainbow tummy.

11.jpg

Now the fun can begin! We go to the rendering process. This is a render with one light inserted into the scene. He looks kindda lonely.

1.jpg

So I gave him 3 friends. They kindda look like triplets now.

4.jpg

I think it's time to give them all different colors . So it can be a party!

Party Time

6.jpg
8.jpg
9.jpg
10.jpg

closeup.jpg
closeupblue.jpg
closeupbrown.jpg
11.jpg

wecandoit2.jpg

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.!

You are welcome to use the images for whatever you want!
Thanks for coming by!

wanafsmall.jpg

Latest Work

Whale Wars: Banzai Dolphin
DuoDraw Contest Entry : Agape
Speed Drawing Contest Entry: The Don
Slothicorn Story Entry
Chinese New Year E-card
State of Sndbox Entry- Camping (won Forth Place)
Sndbox Dtube Animation Contest Entry (won Forth Place)

Sort:  

I want one can we put a magnet on the back to stick it to my fridge :)) or a pin to add it to my backpack or a chain for my keys .................................... so many possibility the design is so perfect

DQmRK1avynwo8afcd7kx6zgakhLrTJYdFH3VB3m5TyZSudz.png

thank you for share it with cc
this sticker badge art was done by @drawingly

d'awww thank you very much. Maybe one day when 3d printing tech is more widespread. I am happy you like it :D

is not that hard now I have a friend hat can print small toys and about magnets and pins you just have to make a small cylindrical cutout in the back where to stick the magnets and pins :))
nothing is impossible

Peace and love to Malaysia Great article UpVoted

woah that was quick , thank you @tokoya :D

Cute and nice concept.. i show ur artwork to my daugther and she ask where to buy?hehehe.. good job wan!!

hehe I will make a real one so can sell to your daughter , thanks @arelonz :D

Dude. That's some teletubbies shit right there Hahaha! Good job, man. Very entertaining process

you can be Dinkie winkie bro , otw to ur house now

thanks slothi!

I love it! So cute. Hehe

Thanks @annekins, really appreciate it

Oh my god a sloth that's also a unicorn? That is one of the most adorable combinations I've seen! Great job in making it~

tq thilah , you should do some art for slothicorn too!

Ahaha maybe I can give it a shot when I have the time!(a bit busy the rest of the week)

The colorful versions are awesome! And the last renders look so real!:D

hehe thanks @fabiyamada , in my day job I do vfx , so making things look photoreal is part of my workscope :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 54691.22
ETH 2323.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12