Tree Tuesday - The Series Begins - Belogradchik, Bulgaria

in #treetuesday6 years ago (edited)

Yesterday, I created a post that is a prelude to this series that I am kicking off today. Last fall, @brentssanders and I began our two month Bulgarian travelrama in Belogradchik. I ended up taking a crazy amount of photos in this place and I have been overthinking ways to share as many of them with you as I can.


On Monday, you got a little taste of this place in black and white. Let's bring on the color, shall we? Today, I will be showing you some of the trees we encountered on our hike through this geologically fascinating area (which you will see more of tomorrow) that comes fully equipped with a centuries old fortress (more on that later).

Off we go...

Belogradchik Trees 6 - Extreme Edit.jpg
I have been accused of not being able to see the forest for the trees because I find myself most comfortable in the abstract. The composition of this shot makes me happy. All those lines and textures just move me all over the place. It's also a bit trippy...like we are looking through a window into a new and brighter world.

Take a look at those aggregate rock walls. I spent a fair amount of time imagining the process in which they formed...more trippyness ensued. I'm sure there is a straightforward explanation for how it all came to be but I enjoy the scenarios that play out in my head.


Belogradchik Trees 12.jpg
I took a lot of pictures of this particular tree. It's such a knotty, gnarly beauty. I don't think I have ever seen vertical stripes running through bark like this before...almost like it's busting out of its skin. The dappled light just added fuel to my momentary obsession.

Does anyone out there know what kind of tree this is? I would greatly appreciate you sharing that info with me in the comments below.


Belogradchik Trees 8.jpg
Here's Brent being more brave than I would ever be. I will climb on a lot things but walking out on a log has always freaked me out. Go figure.


Belogradchik Trees 3 - Extreme Edit.jpg
Here is an example of my extreme editing. The original shot was pretty dark but I really like how these pine trees look like they are dancing with each other not to mention all the textural action going on here. This rendition is probably very close to how I was actually seeing things in the moment because we had gone off on this hike without breakfast and I was surviving on wild berries and rose hips. 😵


Belogradchik Trees 2 - PS Resized for Steemit.jpg Belogradchik Trees 10 - PS Resized for Steemit.jpg
The shadows are the stars in these shots plus, you are starting to get a good look at the rock formations that were surrounding us.


Belogradchik Trees 17.jpg
Here is Brent capturing the beauty from a vantage point that most of us never think to explore. I wonder what shot he got here? Care to share @brentssanders?

As I was preparing this post, I was concocting a story about how those roots were snaking their way over to Brent while he was doing his photographer thing. Because his sweatshirt is the same color as the roots, they thought he was one of them. I know, a little weird, right? 😁


Belogradchik Trees 7.jpg
And finally, here is a lovely shot of the swaths of pine trees that have a fantastic view of the Balkan Mountains in the distance.


I hope you enjoyed our journey through this little slice of the forest in northwestern Bulgaria. Next stop...the Belogradchik Rocks, fantastic sandstone formations like none other! Stay tuned!!!


Want to see more from this area? Check out this post of mine from a few weeks ago that came from just outside Belogradchik.


This is my contribution to #treetuesday as it has been proclaimed to be by @old-guy-photos.

!steemitworldmap 43.623153 lat 22.678270 long Belogradchik, Bulgaria d3scr

Steemit USA footer.png

Sort:  

Hey! That's one sexy dude there! Let me see if I can find that pic ... I think it must be this one:
DSCF1598.JPG

:D Thanks for finding it. Those are some sexy roots too!

Oh, you mean you noticed the similarity between my scraggly legs and the roots? Nice!

It seems you may be putting words in my mouth or whatever the equivalent is in the world of commenting. :D

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=samanthajbarnes
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=tree-tuesday-the-series-begins-belogradchik-bulgaria


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #landscapephotography

You have earned 5.40 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.08
Server time: 22:26:03
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 853.57/1600.00
Total Photos: 71
Total comments: 219
Total contest wins: 5
And have also received a 1.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Cool photos darlin. The first is my favorite. For some reason trippy is my thing lately. :) Peace.

Thanks so much! Those trippy moments make life interesting.

It's hard to pick a favorite out of these cause I love them all but that knotty gnarly one is pretty cool!! 😊

That one is pretty cool plus it has that beautiful red rock next to it. I hope I meet this tree again someday. :)

Thanks for coming by and weighing in!

Great post, I love the fact that I can travel without leaving home.

I will be following your series... Bulgaria has always held a curious fascination for me.

Thank you so much! I will be happy to take you along! :)

I have been to Bulgaria three times now and my fascination grows stronger with each trip. I returned to the states in December and have been posting about BG on and off ever since.

Thanks for sharing your hike with us. The second picture looks like a standing dryad. My partner @hedac and I also love to spend time in Nature. He loves photography and getting lost in the Wilderness so tagging him so he see this post.

It was my pleasure. Glad you tagged him, the more the merrier! Thanks for coming along!!!

He is way braver than I!!! Nice shots!!!

8>) Thank you so much for taking a look!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44