Exploring the Back Roads of Northwestern Bulgaria - Abandoned Shit Weekly Contest - №. 2 - Homes

in #aswcontest6 years ago (edited)

I am excited to present to you my first submission to the #aswcontest! If you find yourself recklessly drawn to abandoned things like me, this competition is for you too! There are still a few hours left to join in the fun for this week's challenge. Click here for the particulars. Thank you, @customnature, for initiating such an interesting and fantastically named contest!


THIS is the one and only picture I am submitting for the contest.
Belogradchik House 5.jpg
Last October, fellow Steemian, @brentssanders and I embarked on the first of several road trips exploring the western half of Bulgaria. We came across this house that is located just outside Belogradchik. There is some serious country livin' going on out in these parts. There were a few other houses there, dotting the hillside and the inhabited ones were almost as rustic the one in the picture. When we finished up our investigation of this place, there was baba (grandma) out walking her cows down the road...quite a pastoral experience and not something I was accustomed to seeing back home in California. My suspicions were being confirmed right then and there...this was going to be an incredible ride!




Now, here is where I go rogue. (Way to make a good first impression, right?) I know the contest rules say to post ONE picture but I wanted to give you a tour around this house because it seems like this is the crowd that would be interested. None of the rest of these are meant to be considered as contests entries...please forgive my eagerness to share.

Belogradchik House 7.jpg
The view from the road.


Belogradchik House 2.jpg
The first glimpse of the front porch.


Belogradchik House 6.jpg
I wanted to get a closer look at the cool arches. I went up the steps as far as I could without feeling like I might go through the wooden slats.


Belogradchik House 1.jpg
Along the side you can see all of the building materials used...stone, brick, wood, mud, red tile, plaster...quite the collage.


Belogradchik House 10.jpg
Here's another peek inside. This shot along with my contest submission really shows what a cool house this must have been back in the day. The interior designer in me saw great potential along with a ton of work! I also dig those shadows on the floor and how the sunlight hits that back wall.


Belogradchik House 3.jpg
Here's a look around back.


Belogradchik House 8.jpg
I will end with this artsy shot that includes my shadow selfie.

This photo causes me to wonder about the stories attached to this house. Who used to sit inside looking out of this window? As it is with so many of my questions, I will never know the answers. That's ok...I will use my imagination.


Thanks for coming along with me on the bonus tour of the house! See you next week when I will do my best to play by the rules. ;)


!steemitworldmap 43.622687 lat 22.688506 long Abandoned House Outside Belogradchik d3scr

Steemit USA footer.png

Sort:  

Looking at these shots I hit both by the beauty of light and even the beauty in decay. But I can help wishing that I could have seen the buildings in their glory. Hi Samantha, I coming at you from Old Guys Photos Page (Paul) Very new on here ... my first day ... looking to reach out and join and build community. Hope to see more of you:)

I understand what you are saying. We traveled all over western Bulgaria and were able so see building and homes that were restored. The were really striking.

Welcome to Steemit and thanks for stopping by and leaving such a lovely comment. This is a wonderful, crazy, mysterious community so enjoy the ride!

Thank you, Samantha. For the warm welcome:) Feel free to stop in by my place:)

just needs a tiny splash of paint !! :D nice place hehe

It actually was really nice...perhaps a few splashes of paint would do the job. ;)

Thanks the upvote and comment!

welcome 👌😁🍷

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=samanthajbarnes
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=exploring-the-back-roads-of-northwestern-bulgaria-abandoned-shit-weekly-contest-2-homes


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #architecturalphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Thursday.

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 6/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Server time: 21:04:30
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 712.57/800.00
Total Photos: 55
Total comments: 177
Total contest wins: 5
And have also received a 1.11 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Looks like it is on its last legs about to fall apart! I love seeing abandoned shit :p.

I fear you could be right. Yes, abandoned shit is quite intriguing. You have come to the right post...I hope you check out the other #aswcontest submissions.

great photos of the abandoned house.

Thanks so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58802.33
ETH 3158.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42