Monochrome Monday - Prelude to a Post or Two or Three or... - Belogradchik, Bulgaria


I am making my #monochromemonday post a prelude to a series on my travels to Belogradchik, Bulgaria. This was the first stop on the two months of roadtripping I did with fellow Steemian, @brentssanders last autumn. I will share with you some of my captures of the natural beauty, fill you in on a bit of the history behind the the ancient fortress located there and take you on a tour of the neighborhood where we stayed.


Here's your sneak peek...

Belogradchik B&W 7.jpg
The Belogradchik Rocks are fantastic sandstone formations. Wait until you see them in color!


Belogradchik B&W 4.jpg
Here's Brent leading the way through the centuries old fortress. I had never been anywhere like this before. Little did I know that this was the first in a long string of mind blowing experiences during my travels in Bulgaria.


Belogradchik B&W 3.jpg
You will see more of the beautiful trees we saw tomorrow in my #treetuesday post. I thought these roots lent themselves to a black and white image.


Belogradchik B&W 2.jpg
I really enjoy the contrasting textures of the rocks and foliage set against the smooth backdrop of the Balkan Mountains...layers of deliciousness, in my humble opinion. 😍


Belogradchik B&W 5.jpg
Even though we arrived in Belogradchik after dark, I couldn't resist snapping a few pics in the sleepy streets of our neighborhood. This building had obviously seen better days but it was a yet another textural masterpiece in my eyes!


Belogradchik B&W 6.jpg
If you have followed me for any length of time, you know that I can wander off into the abstract side of things and have been known to do some extreme editing. No doubt you will see more of this in the upcoming posts.


The beauty and the energy in Belogradchik is something I will never forget and I'm very excited to share more of this place with you! Stay tuned!!!


Thanks to @old-guy-photos for making #monochromemonday such an excellent part of our Steemit experience!


!steemitworldmap 43.623153 lat 22.678270 long Belogradchik, Bulgaria d3scr

Steemit USA footer.png

Sort:  

Hey @samanthajbarnes, I am a curator from the new Whaleshares Curation Team. I have selected your post to be presented in a live curation discussion on tongiht at 6.59pm EST and 11.59pm UTC. Your post will be awarded with some Whaleshares vote on the night. I do hope you can come along and spectate. The event will be held in The Curation Lounge on the Whaleshares server. Hope to see you there! Click this link to join https://discord.gg/jSuJuHw

How exciting! Thank you so much for taking time to check out my post! I will certainly tune in!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=samanthajbarnes
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=monochrome-monday-prelude-to-a-post-or-two-or-three-or-belogradchik-bulgaria


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Very compelling photos, the monochrome treatment is stunning!

Thank you so much! I have had these and a bunch more photos from Belogradchik tucked away for a while and have been trying to figure out the best way to share them. There was so much to see there!

Nice pictures!!!

Thank you, sir!

Very intense bw and amazing photography

Thank you so much! It was nice to meet you tonight.

Beautiful photography! Upvoted :)

I truly appreciate your support!

Some amazing work in black and white, Samantha. I quite enjoyed:)

Thank you so much! So glad you enjoyed my post!!!

Very rich place for taking monochrome shots it seems!

Indeed! Stay tuned for the color shots coming in my multiple post series on Belogradchik. I have so many pictures to share and I am trying not to be obnoxious about it. We'll see how that goes.

Thanks for stopping by and taking a look! Have an excellent #treetuesday.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44