My Favorite Tree in my Backyard for Tree Tuesday

in #treetuesday6 years ago (edited)

IMG_1373.jpg

Tree Tuesday

Tree Tuesday is an initiative started by @old-guy-photos.

Trees are some of my favorite things around. They are so good for us in so many ways.

  • Trees clean the air - yes, do plant a few - or a lot of them.
  • They give us shade.
  • They produce rain. (Something I need to write a post about)
  • they provide food.
  • They provide lots of mulch.
  • They provide habitat for all kinds of wildlife.
  • They reduce crime. (Another topic for a post)
  • They reduce anxiety.

And so much more.

IMG_1374.jpg

Do you have any idea how many critters make this tree their home?

I haven't counted, but a lot of them. All kinds of birds have made their nest in this tree and others stop by for a rest or a conversation. Then, there are the pinecones with all their yummy pine nuts.

Boya, my dog, likes to eat those too.

IMG_1386.jpg

And they make a loud noise when they fall on our veranda roof!

IMG_1378.jpg

Take a look from straight under one of the main trunks. Those cones fall from pretty far up.

It is sad that the tree at one point - or at several times - was subjected to unhealthy pruning. Sadly, many tree trimmers do not know about proper pruning techniques and butcher the poor trees they are supposed to trim.

IMG_1379.jpg

Here you can see that the branches are not well balanced and worse, there are stubs left where a branch was cut. That invites rot to set in. I have hired a climbing tree trimmer before - going up with a rope and a chainsaw and he fixed it a bit. But it became apparent that he didn't really know the proper technique either.

IMG_1380.jpg

A couple more shots from under the tree. It is loaded with pinecones and sadly, some areas aren't looking too good.

IMG_1381.jpg

I am rooting for the tree to stay strong and keep growing. It probably was planted when the house was built - or maybe it was already there.
The tree has survived a lot and I am hoping that it will stay happy for many years to come.

Do you have trees in your yard? What kind? Which one is your favorite?


Seemit band.png

Join us for the daily 5 - Minute Freewrite. Check my profile for a new prompt every day.

Seemit band.png

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Seemit band.png

My recent posts

ULog 6- Feeling a Bit Like a Failure today

Working in the Front Yard

Steemit Mini Meetup San Diego

ULog 4 - Meeting Dreamsteem

ULog 3 - Why I Like a Wild Garden

ULog 2

Ugly Snake

Healthy Food Choices

Bone Broth made from Chicken

If you find a post after the seven days, please consider upvoting a more recent post.

Seemit band.png

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Imgur IOW COLOR LOGO.png

art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

Award by @japhofin8or

thealliance_mariannewest.png

Thank you @enginewitty for the banner

Seemit band.png

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
Click on the graphics to vote for Enginewitty as a witness

Join us at the Freewrite House for fun and games!!! Weekly drawing for SBI memberships and so much more!!

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Other ways to earn cryptocurrency

I will benefit if you use my links

Join Mana - Universal Income Project: https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=179a62831e
Listen to bitrad.io and earn Bro: https://bitrad.io/?ref=97511
Want to earn sweat coin by walking outside? Join here

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here!

Sort:  

Sorry your trees haven't been well maintained @mariannewest. Yes, we have too many trees in our yard, lol. Jeffrey Pines, Ponderosa Pines, an White Firs. So many pine cones, needles, and new little trees. We have to keep our yards somewhat thin of them or we can get fined for having a fire hazard. The trees don't understand moderation here so we have to keep them in check, haha!

I think that is how nature works!! Keep growing and the fastest shades out the other ones. But fire danger is real and pinecones like to burn. In my hometown, the Bratwurst is traditionally grilled over pinecones.

Yup! Oh wow! I have some Bratwurst in the refrigerator and plenty of pinecones. Might have to give that a try, sounds interesting... Thank you!

Let me know how it worked for you. they have to be dry...

Dry pinecones are everywhere this time of year. Will do...

Those are some great looking trees, Marianne, if you ask me. Curious looking at least. You might not want to let me cut your hair ... lol. I don't have a yard per se but there are no shortage of trees outside my window:)

It is all one tree :) And I agree, it is a good looking tree. Good for you that you have trees to look at!!

Great looking tree. I think it needs a well-made treehouse. :-))

That might be a good idea. too bad that I am not good with heights :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62986.12
ETH 3072.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84