How to Make Many Meals from One Chicken - Bone Broth

in #homesteading6 years ago

How to MakeMany MealsFrom One Chicken (1).jpg

Many Meals from One Chicken

How often have you bought a chicken and ate the whole thing in one meal? And that was that. The bones went into the trash. Done.

What if you could make many meals with that one chicken? Are you interested? Well, I am here to tell you that it can be done, and is good for your health and your pocketbook.

The Chicken

The chicken, the main ingredient for all these meals might be the most difficult to obtain. At least the ideal chicken. Yes, there is such a thing.

So, what makes a chicken ideal?

Here are the attributes of the ideal chicken:

  • You or your family raised the chicken.
  • It was fed organic exclusively.
  • It had a happy life scratching for bugs and harvesting greens.
  • It had plenty of room to explore and move around.
  • It was a heritage breed bird.*
  • It was harvested in a humane way experiencing no pain.

If you can't raise your own chickens, the next best choice is to buy one from a Permaculture farm you can visit or is recommended by a person your trust. If you are in the US, the most famous chicken farmer is Joel Salatin who I had the honor to interview on our podcast

IMG_0143.jpg

Preparing a Homegrown Chicken

Most of the Heritage Chickens take at least 6 months to grow to weigh a few pounds. The commercial meat chickens, on the other hand, are at full size when they are 5 to 6 weeks old. Since backyard chickens get to walk and run and play, their meat is a bit gamier than the white, soft kind most people are used to it now.

We often make soup from our chickens. First, I put the whole chicken into a pot filled with water. I add some fresh bay leaves, carrots, parsley, celery, onions, garlic, and salt.

Lid the pot and let it simmer until the chicken is done. An easy way to find out is to pull on a leg. If it comes loose, the chicken is done and it is time to lift it from the pot and place it in a colander over a bowl to catch any liquid.

Now, add the head, neck, giblets and the feet to the pot. Top it off with water, bring it to a boil and let simmer on low heat for at least 24 hours or longer. If you are worried to leave the flame on overnight, turn it off before going to bed and take off the lid.

Put it back on the flame in the morning and bring the pot to a rolling boil. Then reduce the heat and allow the broth to simmer again.

After 24 hours, pour the broth into a container, using a colander to catch the bones and veggies. Freeze or refrigerate the broth for later use. Add the veggies to your worm compost or feed them to the chickens.

Put the bones, feet and so forth back into the pot (clean it first) and fill with water and fresh veggies. Simmer again for 24 hours or more.

Drain the broth and store the broth in the appropriate way. Check the bones and see if you can crash them with your fingers. If they are very soft, you have two options.

Either discard the bones. Or, if you have a strong blender, blend them all up and add them to your last broth. This makes a very rich taste but might need some getting used to.

Congratulations, you just made yourself some bone broth!

Just the broth will give you several meals, either turned into soups or drank as consume.

The meat tends to be very flavorful and a small amount is often enough for a meal. I typically use some for the several soups I prepare from the bone broth.

Chicken salad, chicken enchilada, or tomato/onion stew are some of my other favorites to make - and all out of one chicken.

Seemit band.png

Join us for the daily 5 - Minute Freewrite. Check my profile for a new prompt every day.

Seemit band.png

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Seemit band.png

My recent posts

Bad Karaoke - The Things we do for Friends.

A Family BBQ

My Little Free Library

Weekend Freewrite

A Gift to Myself

Day 222 - The Daily Prompt

Would I start a Steemit Clone

Day 221: 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday - Prompt: detective

If you find a post after the seven days, please consider upvoting a more recent post.

Seemit band.png

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Imgur IOW COLOR LOGO.png

art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

Award by @japhofin8or

thealliance_mariannewest.png

Thank you @enginewitty for the banner

Seemit band.png

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
Click on the graphics to vote for Enginewitty as a witness

Join us at the Freewrite House for fun and games!!! Weekly drawing for SBI memberships and so much more!!

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Other ways to earn cryptocurrency

I will benefit if you use my links

Join Mana - Universal Income Project: https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=179a62831e
Listen to bitrad.io and earn Bro: https://bitrad.io/?ref=97511
Want to earn sweat coin by walking outside? Join here

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here!

Sort:  

Great tutorial! Ever heard of Sepp Holzer's "bone sauce?" - It is a mammal repellent, keep deer off your saplings for instance. I went to make bone broth once and accidentally let it boil dry over night, leaving me with some mammal repellent... Sadly, mammals live in this house... LOL! It took DAYS for the stink to go away, so I really recommend you do NOT let it boil dry!!

hahaha - yes, I have read about Sepp Holzer's bone sauce and am not keen on smelling it LOL
Good tip!!! Do not burn your bones 🤪

This is unique in a way that we normally throw away the bones. I am a big fan of organic chickens.

Oh, you are missing out! I always collect all the bones for at least one pot of soup.

I had the wonderful experience of drinking homemade organic bone broth daily for about 2 months a few years ago. I was drinking it like coffee in the mornings and sometimes at noon. This was the best my arthritis has ever done and I would love to do it again. Lucky you!

Can't you find bones? If you have beef bones, you can cook them 5 times or more. A very good investment. And I would think that you can get a hold of chicken feet. That would make great broth!!

I most definitely could get them, but I am in a hotel room with no way to cook. I did not cook that great batch I had. I lady I worked for and lived-in with just happened to be saving organic bones to make broth and I spurred her into it.

That would be difficult! I thought you had an apartment.

No, I have been living in hotels for quite a few years now. I have done it a few other times in my life and I like it. It's much cheaper if you have no possessions to worry about. Sometimes I have a kitchen, but usually not.

Hmmmm I grew up with chickens in the backyard. Laying eggs everywhere.
Now it is city living and nowhere close to how you get your chicken but I can definitely try making some broth

sounds like a plan!! Here in San Diego, a lot of people have worked on changing the laws that people can have chickens in the city. I think a lot are tired of not knowing what is in the food they are buying at the store. And the eggs are so much better!!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 23 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 14 SBD worth and should receive 103 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thank you so much!! very much appreciated

Who knew that a chicken could be so useful?

Thanks to @ecoinstant, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88