@maninayton - My #treetuesday Entry

in #treetuesday7 years ago

Even in death trees provide support and cover for life.

Here Ivy (Hedera helix) grows up a dead Hawthorne (I think it is anyway!)

Tree

In turn, this Ivy will be giving cover to a wide range of insects, birds and other wildlife. The wood of the dead tree will also be host to insects and fungi.

Divider

I hope you have enjoyed this post and would consider following me (I will reciprocate). Some of my posts are about mental health issues while others cover a wide range of subjects. For a taster of my musings please follow these links:-

Why parts of North Yorkshire smell of Coconut

A new garden fence

The last part of my Chilli Oil experiment - A success!

Divider

Until next time - take care of yourselves.

Sort:  

Don't forget about beach Wednesday. I'm watching you

Help! Where's the nearest beach! Need to take photos!

Yes, trees have an interesting life cycle providing for many stages along the way.

Thank you for the comment @herebedragons. I hope you are well today?

Yes thanks. Good article.

Thanks for the resteem by the way :-)

Congratulations @maninayton! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

No such thing as dead....life goes on.

In one form or another, yes it does. Circle of life thing :-))

This is so cool! I have so many pictures of random trees to contribute to tree Tuesdays lol Thanks!

Hello @quickenspirit and thanks for the comment. I cannot take credit for coming up with this challenge (I'm not sure who did) but it is fun.

I wonder if the ivy caused the death?

Apparently, Ivy doesn't kill trees. Unlike Mistletoe for example which is a parasite and feeds from the tree, Ivy only uses the tree to climb. Its roots are in the soil where it gets its nutrients from and should not pose any problem for the tree. I may sound like a know it all but I only found this out while looking for the latin name today!

That's good to know. I had no idea lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60716.93
ETH 2594.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55