@maninayton Asks - Why Do Parts Of North Yorkshire, England, Smell Like Coconut?

in #nature7 years ago

Well, the answer is due to this shrub - Gorse (Ulex europaeus)

Gorse

When heated by the sun the flowers give out a powerful scent of coconut.

Acres of gorse exist on the moorland within walking distance of my home making the daily dog walk a very fragrant experience!

Gorse2

Divider

I hope you have enjoyed this post and would consider following me (I will reciprocate). Some of my posts are about mental health issues while others cover a wide range of subjects. For a taster of my musings please follow these links:-

I get a new garden fence...Whoopeeee!!!!

A final update on the chilli oil!

My grandfathers' old school and the letter they sent to the troops in 1915

A #treetuesday entry - the Common Beech

Bluebells blanket our woodland floors

Divider

Until next time - take care of yourselves.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60841.72
ETH 2603.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56