R2R Travelogue 9: Monterey Peninsula of California

in #travelfeed5 years ago (edited)

Day Nine: As a "road less traveled" sort of guy, I enjoy seeing out-of-the-way places. You are likely to be talking about something with which few are familiar. You can, if you really stretch it and are in very remote locations, even imagine you are the first to see it.

Well today, dear reader, we are not in that category, but instead I will be posting about one of the most famous locations where land meets sea, on the face of the earth - the Monterey Peninsula of California.

Photo: Looking South at Carmel Bay

I am not a professional photographer. I don't even have a camera. Just my trusty smartphone - a Samsung Galaxy S9+. For giving my dear readers an opportunity to "see" this wonderful location through my eyes, that should work! 😉

In so doing, perhaps I can whet your appetite for coming here to see and experience it for yourself. Let's take a closer look!

Monterey Peninsula


There is so much to see and do in this famous location that one could easily spend a week here and still feel like they haven't managed to cover it all. I was here a day ... 😊

Photo: Map of One Day's Activities

I arrived late afternoon and spent the evening in Carmel-by-the-Sea, watching to sun go down over Carmel Bay. I also started my morning there.

Once leaving, I found myself blocked by a "pay to view" section of the peninsula accessed by the 17 Mile Drive illustrated above. I had no intent of paying any money to see anything, certainly not the price they were asking ... 👎

Not that there isn't a lot to see on this drive, like the famous Pebble Beach Golf Course. But, there is plenty of wonderful viewing and experiencing available free-of-charge! 👍

As illustrated above, I stayed in Carmel-by-the-Sea, a really pleasant and peaceful little village just south of the Monterey Peninsula.

As I had done the night before in Morro Bay, once arriving and parked for the night, I set out on foot for the rest of the evening.

Photo: Streets of Carmel-by-the-Sea

After awhile, needed to stop and "refuel" with a wonderful seafood meal. The service was very good, the food "hit the spot," and it was a pleasant "pick me up" at the end of another "brutal" day "out on the road" ... 😉

Photo: Flaherty's Restaraunt in Carmel-by-the-Sea

On the way to the sea, passed by this exquisite little hideaway. Just picture what it would be like to spend a week or two just "hanging out" in this part of the world, at a little place like this.

Photo: Normandy Cottages in Carmel-by-the-Sea

Don't have any idea how much these cost, but loved the idea of bringing my beloved lifemate here and staying just up Ocean Ave. from Carmel Bay.

Photo: Sun Setting over Carmel Bay

Note the overcast skies. Too soon, I decided I wasn't going to be treated to the hoped for great sunset shot over the ocean. Heading back up the hill to my room and talking to my sweetheart, I glanced back and sadly was seeing the last of what had been a glorious sunset! 😧

Too late for me. I will try not to mistake that mistake again the rest of the trip.

Photos: Relaxing. Looking North across Carmel Bay to Monterey Peninsula

The next day, started it out with a last look at Carmel Bay, where I took the opening photo and the ones above. After sitting there peacefully for awhile taking it all in, off to the "main event!"

Photo: Streets of Pacific Grove

Passing through Pacific Grove, I got out and walked around a bit. Similar "feel" to Carmel-by-the-Sea, but if I had to make a tough choice, I would pick walking through the streets of Carmel-by-the-Sea.

Photo: Lovers Point Park

Down to the sea, my first stop was this wonderful little park shown above. I spent a considerable amount of time here, helping some other tourists with a family photo shoot and then climbing down near the sea for some quiet time. Loved it!

Photo: Perkins Park

Notice these "succulents by the sea." Very pretty, but a bit of a serrated edge, similar to what I saw a few days ago on some the cactus in the Sonora Desert of Arizona!

Photo: Beach Front Properties

There's an old saying, "It could be better, but it could be worse ..." The next time you are thinking life isn't going so well for you, just be thankful you don't have it as hard as the poor people who are "hanging on by their fingernails" surviving in tough places like this. Yep, it could definitely be worse! 😉

Seriously, I would hate to think what these people pay for taxes on their properties here, let alone what it would cost to pay to have these homes free and clear of debt. All I know is I don't need to worry about it ... 😉

Photo: Succulents Blooming on the Beach

Even in the "dead of winter," we can see life still renewing itself on the beach. Listening to some of the locals talk about how "cold" it was gave me a real laugh. My guess is this plant was smiling too!

Photo: Hey! What's up?

"It's a tough job, but somebody's gotta do it." I wasn't the only one grinding through it! 😊

Photo: "End of the Line" for @roleerob at Point Pinos

Okay, so maybe my "ride" doesn't quite stack up against that one out at sea, but I am perfectly content and at peace with my lot in life.


I hope you have enjoyed this "walk with me" visit of the marvelous Monterey Peninsula of California. There is a great deal to see and experience here, so maybe you'll want to add this location to your "bucket list!"

Moving On Past San Francisco



Leaving the Monterey Peninsula and with no easy way around the Bay Area, as I had done with Southern California, I decided the best course of action was to go right down through the middle of it and "escape" across the iconic Golden Gate Bridge!

First, I passed by this amazing display of modern agricultural techniques just outside of Watsonville.

Photo: Amazing Field near Watsonville, California

While not certain, I believe California is the most productive agricultural state in America. These pictures help explain some of that. The black plastic to keep weeding down made some sense. The elaborate watering system (note small tubes in the ground ...)? The chemical tanks - their content and how applied? Mysteries to me. If this is "your world," for any of my dear readers, I'd love to get your input on these questions in the Comments below.

Moving on to the challenge of the day - could I get through this massive population center without getting caught up a nasty traffic jam?

Photo: Crossing Golden Gate Bridge in San Francisco

The good news? Even though about 30 minutes later than intended, I did get across the Golden Gate Bridge about 4:15 p.m. The bad news? Thinking I was now "safe," I ran into two +15-minute traffic delays - bumper to bumper, stop and go - trying to get through Marin County, north of San Francisco. 😧

No, there were not any accidents. This is just "normal" traffic! 👎

Thankfully now in "the rear view mirror," 👋 as country roads and small-town America from here on out for @roleerob, until all the way back home!

Closing



My recommendation, if you are ever able to visit this spectacular setting, is to arrive in the "dead of winter," as I have done on this trip. Far fewer people, costs are more reasonable, and truly the weather was magnificent. At least for someone coming from a location where it truly is winter.

Coincidentally, the headlines this morning, as I finish this up (late ... 😞) say "Coldest Temps in a Generation Wreak Havoc Across the Country" ... 😧 Wow! In a generation?

Hmmm. Well, happy to report we're doing fine here on the Pacific Coast of California! 😉 The climate moderating power of the ocean is hard to overstate.

So, another superb day in "@roleerob's excellent adventure!" Thanks for going along with me, dear reader. I’d love to hear any feedback you may be inspired to provide.

Until "next time," all the best to you for a better tomorrow, as we all work together to build our Steem Community! 👍 😊

Respectfully,
Steemian @roleerob

Posted using SteemPeak and “immutably enshrined in the blockchain” on Tuesday, 29 January 2019!


  • "R2R" Note: My "shorthand" way of referring to what I first wrote about in my Reflections: My "Road to Recovery" Trip post. "Road to Recovery" <=> "R2R" ... 😉

  • Image sources, unless otherwise noted: My trusty smartphone!

divider 123.png


If you liked this post, you might enjoy others in my "Road to Recovery" Travelogue series:


This account is protected by @dustsweeper

Sort:  

Hiya, @itchyfeetdonica here. I just curated your post to our daily Travel Digest #422 and upvoted it through @steemitworldmap. If you enjoy what we do, consider supporting us by:

Vote for the Daily Traveldigest
Follow our curation trail
Delegate Steempower


The more support we get, the more we can give back! :)

Excellent news @steemitworldmap / @itchyfeetdonica. Thank you very much, as it inspires me to keep going!

"Out on the road" soon, for Day Eleven! 👍

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @for91days and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community! a

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

I absolutely love the valley as it varies so much and has so much to offer when passing through! I need to do that trip again; this time with the family to enjoy the sights!

Posted using Partiko iOS

It really is a remarkable place @newageinv. I think, though, for us, I have a new "best place" to take my beloved lifemate, should we ever get back out this way. To Mendocino, which I am writing about tonight ...

What beautiful pictures, La palya looks so relaxing, especially at sunset, and I like the city a lot ... Grove Grove Streets, I've always liked cities that have trees, they really are beautiful. The photos of Perkins Park, they are beautiful, with those red flowers ... if you have noticed my blog you can realize that I love flowers, :)

I loved this trip to the Monterey Penisula.



I understand that there is always a lot of traffic on the San Francisco bridge, so that delay is usually something very common there, maybe it's because tourists should want to take pictures of the beautiful view.

A sunset on that bridge must be a marvel!

Thank you for adding value to this post @blessed-girl, by sharing what stood out to you.

"I've always liked cities that have trees, they really are beautiful."

We are like-minded on this, as I think tree-lined streets are very attractive. There is something about trees which make them stand out to me.

”The photos of Perkins Park, they are beautiful, with those red flowers”

Yes, there were also some blue flowers, but my close-ups were too blurry, so didn’t “make the cut” to get included in this post. Sad, as they were the prettiest, in my judgement. Gotta get better with my picture taking … 😉

While a famous sight to see, I am very glad to be past the Golden Gate Bridge and all the big populations centers of California. I am a simple, small-town guy and don't enjoy the traffic jams, etc. People seem to be at the worst in these times and it is just nice to stay away from it all, as much as possible.

There is a very nice viewing point, once you cross the bridge, as this is where I took the photos you see in this post. The trouble was back out on the freeway and the hundreds of thousands of people who are making their way back to their homes, north of San Francisco, once their work day is over.

Yes, agreed, a sunset over that bridge would be something. If you chose to ever go there, there are places where you can park and then walk out on the bridge.

Howdy sir roleerob! Thank you for another excellent adventure segment! The scenes are what I like to think typical of the California coast and culture and that phone does a fine job of taking pictures! The crop field photos that you have are always interesting too!Another perfect job sir!

Yes @janton near this famous tourist destination, it was very interesting to find these remarkable fields. I have only shown one, but they were all over. I can only imagine the amount of agricultural product grown in this area.

If you like farming / agricultural topics, my next post on Sonoma County (Day 10) and all I experienced there will stand out to you. It sure did to me!

haha! yes sir I'm a farmer, was raised on a big cattle farm and ranch out by Dodge City, Kansas, we were big wheat farmers also so yes I love agriculture. I always think of California as the vegetable garden of America. Kansas is her bread basket but California is her veggie garden. lol. I look forward to getting to your post about that and you're doing a wonderful job!
Hey you can't be writing me now, aren't you out on the road? lol.

Up before 🌄 (here) @janton

” Hey you can't be writing me now, aren't you out on the road?”

… and keeping up a little bit with my engagement, while my siblings are sleeping … 😊

With your background in farming, you’ll enjoy the next day of my “journey,” where I talk about what I experienced in Sonoma County.

Have a great day!

Good morning sir roleerob and thanks for getting back to me and taking us on your journey!

Hello @roleerob, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you @creativecrypto. Definitely continuing to Steem along. All the best to you!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=roleerob
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=r2r-travelogue-9-monterey-peninsula-of-california


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I forgot to mention ... I always thought you had a professional camera, your photos come out very well. :)

Excellent phone!

Thank you for the encouragement @blessed-girl. My phone is a Samsung Galaxy S9+. My son convinced me to change to it, when faced with losing my iPhone provided by my old employer.

Glad he did. Android-based phones took some getting used to, but I am happy with it. And, yes, the camera works quite well! 😊

Hi @roleerob!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.930 which ranks you at #4039 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 10 places in the last three days (old rank 4029).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 237 contributions, your post is ranked at #123.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44