Holiday Visit to the Atlanta Center for Puppetry Arts {Family Time!}

in #travelfeed4 years ago

IMG_20191229_101108309.jpg

Hey everyone! If you read my December @yourtop3 post about my favourite holiday movies, then you might just recognize these guys in my cover photo. They are none other than Emmet and the boys from Emmet Otter's Jug-Band Christmas. I got the whole family, including myself, some fun t-shirts for the holidays in honour of the classic holiday film by our childhood hero, Jim Henson. Right before the end of the year all the gals in the family took a trip to the Center for Puppetry Arts here in Atlanta. I wrote about the wonderful place two years ago in this post, but it's such a magical place I couldn't help but cover it again!

IMG_20191229_125146673.jpg

This particular trip was actually my Christmas present to my niece. The kid has everything you could possibly hope for as an almost-4-year-old, so I would much rather gift her with experiences. I think I also mentioned in my holiday movie post that watching Rudolph live at the Center was when I first felt my niece kick in my sister's very pregnant belly, so getting to bring her for her first trip outside of the womb was pretty special. We also had ulterior motives as the museum has a special exhibit on The Dark Crystal right now.

IMG_20191229_123124710.jpg

After having recently finished the Netflix prequel series (The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance), we were all especially excited to get to check out the exhibit. It did not disappoint!

IMG_20191229_122639057.jpg

With the little one with us, it was tough to take too long to really see everything, but it is still breathtaking to see the genius level of creativity that goes in to designing the puppets and making the set come to life!

From Podling outfits...
IMG_20191229_122702679.jpg

To Landstrider masks...
IMG_20191229_122732998.jpg

The majestic Mystics at full size...
IMG_20191229_122932599.jpg

...and of course the counterpart Skeksis.
IMG_20191229_122813531.jpg

I even caught Aughra checking her phone. 😉
IMG_20191229_123049119.jpg

I could spend hours just looking at each detail. This exhibit was only supposed to go through the end of the year, but I believe they extended it for a few more months because it was so popular. They normally have a small section for the movie in the main Jim Henson exhibit, but it was really neat to see even more pieces and sketches in one spot. The ladies and I all approved.

IMG_20191229_123309284.jpg

Of course after we watched the live puppet version of Rudolph, we made a quick trip through the rest of the museum. Ma and Emmet weren't there, but they still had a nod to the Emmet Otter movie in the Henson exhibit.

IMG_20191229_142318727.jpg

I couldn't even begin to share all of the wonderful stops along the way in the museum, but I'll try to share a few more top pieces along the way...

IMG_20191229_142704693.jpg

Hoggle above and Sir Didymus below from another beloved childhood classic--Labyrinth!

IMG_20191229_142633717.jpg

My niece is also a big Ludo fan. She's got her own toy, though it is a bit different than the one below. On the Henson side all the other classics are represented, though I didn't snap any shots of the regulars like Sesame Street, The Muppets, and Fraggle Rock.

IMG_20191229_142755354.jpg

We really rushed through the international puppets exhibit, though I couldn't help but get a pic of the newly acquired Tom Servo and Crow from Mystery Science Theater 3000. My dad and I used to watch that show and laugh at their commentary of the old films they viewed.

IMG_20191229_143044138.jpg

It truly is a magical place, so if you love Jim Henson, puppets, or just museums in general make sure you stop by next time you are in Atlanta! I'm hoping we'll make another visit before the next holiday season. They always have some fun events going on throughout the year--for both children and adults alike! Though I have to say even just going to walk around the museum is worth the time spent.



Banners by @woman-onthe-wing, @dksart and @bearone for @steemusa



Sort:  

That looks like a great way to spend a day. It's easy to forget how prolific Jim Henson was. What a great Christian gift to your niece.

I have never had a bad time at the Center! Now that we have the membership for the year we just need to keep an eye out for more fun events to attend with her. I think she may even like some of the other ones better than Rudolph. :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=plantstoplanks
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=holiday-visit-to-the-atlanta-center-for-puppetry-arts-family-time


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @priyanarc.


@helpie is a Community Witness.

Many thanks @helpiecake! Very much appreciate the visit!

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #737.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team and got an upvote from @blocktrades to support your work. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting us so we can keep the project going!

Don't forget to check out our Haveyoubeenhere 2019 Steemitworldmap Travel Contest here, it closes today!!!

Become part of the Haveyoubeenhere community:


Thanks so much! Happy to share another wonderful spot to visit for anyone wanting to see what Atlanta has to offer!

Oh my gosh, I love the Dark Crystal part of the exhibit, both the movie and the Netflix series constitute a national treasure unlike any other. It’s also nice to see Henson’s daughter carry the torch with this series. I also saw the making of Age of Resistance and I was thrilled to find out they passed the CGI gimmicks by and decided to lay down the money for real life puppets with full sets. I hope it opens doors for future content that give jobs who struggle to keep their craft alive.

Yesss! I thought they did a fantastic job sticking to the authenticity of the original. CGI is nice for certain things I suppose, but it can never take the place of that type of artistic expression. I really could look at those puppets for hours! So much minute detail in every single portion of the characters. I am happy I decided to get a family membership this year for us to take my niece, as it helps keep the museum running. They do a fantastic job of working with not only the Henson family, but preserving the puppetry culture from all over the world!

Your heart really is in the right place.

This sure sounds and looks like fun, especially to someone who grew up in the early 80s or any open minded kid ( I hope most are ).

P.S. Gifting people experiences is often so much better than a present. Thanks for the reminder :>)

Every time I visit it is like a pure flash right back to growing up in the 80's and 90's! So many memories with all the different Jim Henson creations. It can be a challenge sometimes to find the right experience as much as finding the right present, but time truly does make the best gift no matter how you spend it!

Congratulations @plantstoplanks! You received a sweet smile from TravelFeed. We love your work so keep up the good job. 😊

Feedback

Based on your post, we have the following feedback for you:

  • We noticed that you did not publish your post through TravelFeed.io or edited your post on other Steem frontends. For better-looking blogs, we recommend you use our EasyEditor. As a bonus, when you post through our platform, you receive double upvotes from us, you are eligible for the top pick of the day (resteem + featured on the TravelFeed.io front page) and you can earn extra rewards from being featured in our daily curation posts. You can simply login with your existing Steem account using Steemconnect or Steem Keychain. See you next time on TravelFeed.io!

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@worldcapture (TravelFeed team)

PS: TravelFeed is in social media to reach out more people, follow us on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.

Thanks so much @travelfeed & @worldcapture! I need to remember to use the front end when I post, so thank you for the reminder! :)

We're looking forward to them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70839.13
ETH 3563.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77