Steem USA State Wars: Favorite Attraction--Center for Puppetry Arts Atlanta, Georgia

in #statewars6 years ago

Hello from a bright sunny day in Atlanta!  I have to say I am thoroughly enjoying the #statewars we have going on, however strange that might be to say war is fun. ;)  As much as the last few topics have got my creative juices flowing, today's topic--favorite attraction or event--is the one I am most excited to share so far!  Check out the latest prompt from @steemusa here: https://steemit.com/statewars/@steemusa/statewars-day-3-favorite-attraction-event

I think I'm going to break my own record for number of pictures in one post because the Center for Puppetry Arts here in Atlanta is amazing!  Whether you are a Jim Henson groupie like me (child of the 80's), love learning about other cultures, enjoy art and other creative outlets, or you just want to feel like a kid again then this is your place.  Once again we have some really great attractions in the city, but this one sometimes gets overlooked so I did not want you guys to miss it.  Luckily I just visited with my mom and big sis this past weekend so it is fresh in my mind and on my camera roll!

The Center has a museum that you can purchase a pass to most any day of the week, and they also do special events.  It is a great place to take children as they do a number of interactive workshops like making your own puppets.  They also do a live puppet show of "Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer" every year during the holiday season, among so many other shows throughout the year.  This particular trip we made was to get our brand new "The Dark Crystal" board game.  They have a huge collection of Jim Henson puppets and memorabilia, and that is one of the cult classic movies created in part by Henson.

We'll start with the Jim Henson exhibit, so take a tour with me to relive my childhood...

Jim seems like the best kind of dude.  I love this quote, and we definitely could use more of this in the world today.

Here he is with some of his well-known creations.  Anyone know how to get to Sesame Street?

This guy is a man after my own heart...

@dksart enjoyed looking at some of the sketches that they had posted when we went a few months ago.  It is amazing to see the creative process.  They also have a lot of the scraps from making the final products.

We watched all of the Jim Henson movies and shows as kids, so there is so much nostalgia walking through and seeing puppets from "Fraggle Rock"

As already mentioned, "The Dark Crystal" is a family favorite.  The detail work in some of these is so amazing.  It's hard to take pictures with the glass, but hopefully you can see a little of the genius work.

Our absolute favorite Christmas movie of all time is "Emmett Otter's Jug-Band Christmas".  It is such a sweet story that just fills us with joy every year to watch it.  Ma and Emmett are part of our family.

I could go on and on about this part of the museum, but there is a whole other section with puppets from all over the world!

I may have to do a whole separate post on this section, so I'll give you just a little taste of my favorites.

There was also a special separate exhibit with puppets from India.

They have plaques all over to read about some of the collections, as well as some videos playing to help you learn about the history of the puppets.  It is so fun to look, but really educational if you take the time to read and absorb everything.  Pretty much every culture across the globe has used some form of puppetry as an art form.

The message is a lovely one, and you can't help but leave in a good mood!  We definitely enjoyed ourselves.  Kind of funny that my mother is the one with her tongue sticking out. ;)

I hope you guys enjoyed this museum visit as much as I did!  If you ever make it to Atlanta, definitely put it on your list of places to visit!

Sort:  

Wow!! Would love to visit there!! I could definitely use up some camera space there. So glad you put this up for all to enjoy!!

I didn't even think I took that many pictures until I tried to pick ones to share! I can't wait for my niece to be old enough to start enjoying it. It really is a gem of a place!

Well, I'm glad you did..lol!!

Great place! :)

Did you pick yours yet? ;)

Dumb me read "puppetry" and my mind went to like puppy dogs at first! This was a pleasant surprise when I opened it lol.

Haha, well I do love puppies, too! I think there were a few puppy puppets in there. ;)

Wait whatttt! Dark Crystal is one of our favorite family movies too! I remember when my father rented it on VHS! Lol
I will definitely visit that place!
Thank you !!!!!!

As if I didn't like you enough already, that just takes the cake! We haven't played the game yet, but I'll report back to you once we do. I told my sisters we need to have the movie on while we play it to make it authentic. I think they got me the DVD a few years ago since we don't have VCR's anymore! :)

Ha ha I will have the DVD for my nieces! :)

I remember growing up watching the dark crystal! I even recently watched it again on y firestick! Great entry!

I knew team USA had some cool people! :) There is supposed to be a Netflix series coming out about it, and they are doing a special release in theaters for a night or two in February I think.

NO WAY!!! I'll be on the lookout!

I just looked it up and it's playing near me on February 25th and 28th! My sisters, mom and I are going to go. :)

I feel I have visited the museum my self after looking at these pictures! Thanks love for sharing;)

Thanks for visiting with me. 🤗

Seeing big bird and Elmo bring back some happy child hood memories. It is always amazed we as a society can keep wonderful places like this open.

The amount of detail on some of those puppets from India is just crazy. Talk about a labor of love.

The costuming on those ones from India are stunning! It's a nonprofit organization, so I am so glad enough people appreciate it that they are able to stay open.

How cool! Nice writeup & photos

Thanks a lot! :)

The details in some of the dark crystal puppets is amazing!

Kind of funny that my mother is the one with her tongue sticking out. ;)

I almost missed it. It blend in with her mask and had to scroll back up to look at it again after I read that.

That movie came out in 1982, as well, so even more amazing thinking that they made those over 35 years ago! Haha, yeah her tongue blends in with the mask!

What's crazy is a guy named boogie2988 (youtube) just opened a box of goods he ordered online and it had something in their from dark crystals.

He menioned Jim Henson did of pneumonia because he didn't want to bother anyone to take him to the Dr. Crazy to think about and sad and found it ironic that I saw him mentioned twice today.

Neat! Yeah, he was only 53 when he passed. I can't even fathom what else he would have done.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63950.69
ETH 3311.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92