Oldie but Goldie, literally - The Golden Pavilion, Kyoto, Japan - The 200 SBD 7 World's Continents Photo Challenge, by @czechglobalhosts - Sunday - Asia

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

Kinkaku-ji Temple, Kyoto, Japan

Kinkaku-ji Temple means, literally, the "Temple of the Golden Pavilion" and its official name is Rokuon-ji (the "Deer Garden Temple").

rsx4idel5v.jpg

oat4sl6xnp.jpg

Kyoto kinkaku the golden pavillion Rokuon-ji temple trees 1-8.jpg

It's one of the most famous Zen Buddhist temples of the world and is listed as one of the World Heritage Sites, together with other historical sites of Kyoto, like the Tenryu-ji Temple, another wonder I will tell you about in a next post.

u53evj7za7.jpg

s339ub2ufo.jpg

mdjouqkwxw.jpg

Kinkaku-ji dates from the mid 14th century. Since its establishment, it was ravaged by fires a couple of times, and the present building dates from the 20th century. The whole building, with exception to the first floor, is covered with gold leaves. The pavilion also houses some relics of the Buddha.

71sklgx8bi.jpg

wrnoowjlpf.jpg

k2rvsuz3fe.jpg

The gardens and the pond called Kyōko-chi, or "Mirror Pond", were built in the pure Japanese Zen tradition, and there are small islets in it, the trees and the temple reflecting in the water like if it was a mirror.

kbp123wdp2.jpg

ezmkvtxexj.jpg

mmo155ttxg.jpg

To visit this golden architecture masterpiece was in my bucket list, but I ended up being surprised by its magnificence and the impressive beauty of the gardens and lake.
It was Spring, and the cherries blossoms were, literally, the cherry on the top of the cake.

olmpyvze8d.jpg

jumvfc7ufv.jpg

dl8hijrs75.jpg

Wandering and capturing the amazing views and reflections on the lake has to be any photographer’s dream. Which is sublimed by the surreal presence of the temple, shining in gold mastering the landscape as a vision.

8cld2yzqr0.jpg

vjeyo46tj6.jpg

xejg5zx0ry.jpg

A vision of pure amazement. A vision of pure delight. Like if it was a dream in the Earth.

I couldn’t stop pressing the shutter. I am, by definition, a bit compulsive when I take photos. I always take more than the double I should (and I’m being moderate). But in this trip to Japan, I couldn’t help myself. I couldn’t stop!
Here are some of the photos I took of this amazing place.
I hope you enjoy them!

Yours,
Isabel
@nolasco
HippieSoul

Original photos taken by me.
To know more about the Kinkaku-ji Temple visit this page.

This is my contribution to the 7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge - Asian Sunday, by @czechglobalhosts

Cheers to all!

,

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Your photographs made me travel from my house to that temple. WOW the scenery is beautiful, I could feel the calmness and purity, Incredible I think it's the first time something like this happens to me ... It made me consolidate my ideal of fulfilling my dream of visiting Japan some day ...

this is my favorite AMAZING!

Thanks a lot for your wonderful comment, @wisejg, and for letting me know which of the photos is your favorite! Cheers!

What a beautiful post, Isabel! Well done! So many fantastic photos. These rural areas of Japan are so cool and relaxing!

Thanks so much, Ricardo! I'm really happy you liked the post!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=nolasco
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=oldie-but-goldie-literally-the-golden-pavilion-kyoto-japan-the-200-sbd-7-world-s-continents-photo-challenge-by-czechglobasthost-sunday-asia-ec0a4080cd259est


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hi @nolasco, I'm @checky ! While checking the mentions made in this post I noticed that @czechglobasthost doesn't exist on Steem. Maybe you made a typo ?

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

Thanks, checky!

When I first left Melbourne, literally decades ago now, I thought I was on my way to Japan as I resonate deeply with Japanese art and culture and wanted to immerse myself in it for a time. It didn't happen as I arrived in Sydney and a new life began here for me.

But maybe one day I'll be able to fulfill that dream. This series of photographs of The Golden Pavilion in Kyoto, are Food for my Soul Isabel. I'm so pleased you shared so many of the different aspects of this very special sacred place. The surrounding lake and gardens are so beautifully cared for, which is the aspect that always attracted me to Japanese Gardens. Strange that I equally love the total unruly nature of our Aussie scrub now ~ Which has always been in my essence but it's only been the last few years that I've really tuned into it.

Love all images but THE one that I particularly loved is the fourth from the bottom ~ A pathway so inviting. Resteemed immediately. 🙏♥︎🙏

I'm so glad you shared your story with me, my dear Alyson! I too love the organization and the mess. Two different kinds of beauty...
You'll love Japan, I know. It will be an endless source of inspiration for your art.
Thanks for passing by and letting me know which photo you liked best (no wonder, it could be your art!). Thanks for the resteem too. Big hug, sweetie!

Isabel, it's always such a pleasure to pass by and thanks so much for the big hug. Life is so full of 'Twists and turns' and I feel that when I can finally visit Japan, my appreciation will be 100 ~ No a 1000 fold to what it might have been all those years ago.

I'm SO pleased this article is getting all the favourable attention and recognition it truly deserves. The temple and surrounds would have been photographed by many people over the years I'd imagine, but your finely crafted work here is outstanding. Returning the BIG hug. I hope you have a fabulous week. 🙏♥︎🙏

Thanks, sweetie, hope you will enjoy your visit to Japan the way you deserve! Thanks for being so kind and generous, my dear Alyson. I'm happy too the post got attention, it's so wonderful when you are rewarded for your work! Take care, sweetie, wishing you a wonderful week ahead!

Sure is a good feeling when you are complimented by Curie. For me, it's one of the best forms of recognition of one's work at Steemit Isabel.

I went to the Sydney Botanical Gardens last Friday and it's taking forever to write about it now. My week's work in one post 😊 And I wanted to keep things simple from now on. I guess some topics DEMAND more than one image ~ And when you have taken so many photographs it takes time to be selective as well. Which makes me truly appreciate all the work that would have gone into this post. ♥︎🦋♥︎

Please find some time to post it, my dear Alyson! I'd love to see all the flowers you've captured! I agree we shall be selective and put a lot of effort when we make a post.
Thanks so much for being so kind and generous to me! Cheers!

Hi nolasco,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thanks so much for selecting my post, @curie!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thanks so much, @esteemapp!

You have amazing photos there! The temple and its surrounding look so serene and peaceful. It looks the place is really protected and quite remote. We've been to Kyoto few years ago but did not have the time to get here. How near or far is this place from the "central district" of Kyoto.

Aw, it's a bit far, we took the train and then a bus. If you see the location on the @steemitworldmap comment you'll see. Thanks for passing by, @macoolette!

How long was your travel time combining the train and the bus rides?

Aw, it was around 1 hour maximum... including the waiting time!

I see. I think that will be okay. Thank you for sharing all those details. 😊

You're welcome!

Wow, its stunningly beautiful!

Thanks so much, my dear Debra!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59388.79
ETH 2578.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47