Athens waking up, arrival to Greece & kinda unsure upcoming weeks

in #travelfeed5 years ago (edited)

DSC09057.JPG

After vlogging most of my Christmas, I'm about to go silent for some time. Arrived to Athens yesterday in the night and my volunteering in refugee camp is about to start. There's been quite some hustle with the camps. I've heard some volunteers from my organization got arrested for "human trafficking" because Greek police basically fight all these NGOs...Apparently, if you hand out to people who just got out of a boat a dry clothes, you're a criminal.It happened in Lesvos tho and not here...Long story short, I'm currently staying in the hostel in Athens with super-slow internet and some other fellow volunteers..We're gonna be on and off the Skaramagas camp from 3rd January. Till then, I'll try to join local groups which help homeless people.

text10.png

....anyway....

Here's my arrival to Athens


I've arrived at 2am of local time after flying from Bratislava to Thessaloniki and then Athens. Except for trying to online check-in like 10 times for Olympic airlines flight on Ryanair webpage, everything went fine :DD
DSC09056.JPG

From the airport, it was a bit of hustle to figure out the connections to my hostel, but eventually, everything went fine.

Suddenly ...it's morning :D


And I'm waking up with some foreign people in the room :D Living in probably the cheapest hostel around, but whatever. I like it this way, cuz you meet people. Just one hour in and I realize I share a room with a German girl who just finished her volunteering stay here in Greece and is flying back to Germany in an hour. Got some cool tips on volunteering and shown her the vegan SentiSteem report I'm creating for @evecab as it was suuperobvious she was vegan as well.

Off to the streets


We say bye and I head off to the streets till other fellow volunteers come to join me in this hostel for some days. After couple of meters, the dark Victoria square from yesterday night doesn't look that scary at all :)

DSC09060.JPG

And I find this cool aisle full of orange trees right behind it :)

DSC09057.JPG

I continue walking as I'm starting to get pretty hungry. Found a fruit shop and wanted to get couple of bananas but this angry guys wasn't about to leave for quite some time so I continued :D

1.JPG

Who needs fruits if you can get coffee?


Hah after the fruits failure, I decide to go for something which never disappoints.. The coffee :) I get a double something with ice and when the owner sees the camera in my hands, he wants a pic :D I'm suupersurprised as people used to do this in India and never seen someone do this in Europe, but for sure :) Here's the pic, I've already also sent it to their email :)

DSC09082.JPG

After coffee kicked in, I started to really walk around and enjoy the time more :) Well, addiction is addiction I guess. I'm not sure if it's whole Athens or just this neighborhood but I'm pretty surprised how old everything is.

DSC09069.JPG

Loong narrow streets and lots of balconies everywhere. Haven't been to the centre yet as I'm waiting for the guys to come from the camp in the nearby cafeteria soo can't tell more. But! I've found a suupercool tiny basketball court hidden in-between buildings :)

DSC09074.JPG

And then, one "artistic" picture cuz why not :D I have to say tho, that the idea came from autofocus :DD

DSC09073.JPG

More streets and therapeutic no-rush time


I just got a call from the guys and they're almost here. Sooo have to cut this short. Here are just couple of more pictures from my walks around the block :) I was totally enjoying it as it was probably after months when I wasn't in a hurry :)

DSC09076.JPG

DSC09065.JPG

I even by complete coincidence found this Hellenic Motor Museum which I've read about yesterday on TripAdvisor. Not sure if I'll go there but whatever, I'm almost a local now :D Feel like I can give directions now :)

DSC09064.JPG

Btw as you can see on the upper pic, there are zebras...without zebras :D I mean...road crossings without any white stripes on the roads :D I was kinda puzzled at first.

DSC09081.JPG

Gotta go, they arrived! Thx for reading :) Matko.

text10.png

You can find my latest posts here:

🏆 My STEEMMONSTERS trophies/scalps 🏆

ATS_NIGHT VIEW-2.jpg
Reached #16 in leaderboard
ATS_NIGHT VIEW.jpg
One-sided win over JoeParys
ATS_NIGHT VIEW.jpg
Proud owner of legendary Hydra

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

Ti kánis? Tak jaak? dobréé? ;)Užívaj sluníčko:))

:DD jezis ja zboznujem tvoje vyrazy najviac na svete :D slunicko je ale zima docela solid...a ja som dosiel na opta (optimistu) v jarnej bundicke...ze "sak grecko, tam je isto teplo"... :D

I hope everything goes well with the camp.

Yah, I certainly hope so as well :)

enjoy your time in Greece Martin =) And take advantage of the amazing food!

Thxx! We walked sooo much today :D fried haha :D

Posted using Partiko Android

It sure looks like an interesting city!

Great post, @matkodurko! And thanks for all the lovely photos! :-)

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @for91days and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Haha, I guess I'll keep following @for91days around on their trips :D 2 last upvotes I got from @travelfeed were posts from countries me and @for91days shared on their/mine trips :D Poland and now Greece...not sure about Ghana tho haha, I guess I'll have to skip that one :) But don't get me wrong, I'd loove to go..

You still have time to make up your mind .... we're leaving January 24t!

..I guess I have to do my round/years of corporate office life till I realize it's not a way to go...

Thanks for sharing the city with us. Good luck volunteering!

Hiya, @itchyfeetdonica here. I just curated your post to our daily Travel Digest #402 and upvoted it through @steemitworldmap. If you enjoy what we do, consider supporting us by:

Vote for the Daily Traveldigest
Follow our curation trail
Delegate Steempower


The more support we get, the more we can give back! :)

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 10.90% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

Dear @matkodurko,

Thank you for the submission for our project – 1001 Places to Remember. Hooray, your story is now listed in our project publication, you can check through our progressive report either from our @fundition project page or @archisteem account. We will be sorting out the seasonal shortlist authors and make an announcement soon for the seasonal reward.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

Hi @matkodurko!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.482 which ranks you at #6548 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 6550).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 268 contributions, your post is ranked at #47.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70