The Very First Surf Attempt In Muizenberg

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

The Turkish coastline isn't exactly known for its roughness except for a very few spots on the West Coast; and the Black Sea coastline has very strong rip tides. With these reasons combined with my laziness, I never got to try surfing until the age of 25. Little did I know that I came to one of the most popular surfing spots in the world.

Compared to Turkey, South Africa is very generous with the national holidays. If I remember correctly, it was the National Women's Day of 2017. My friends behind whom I was terribly lagging on Devil's Peak suggested that we go surfing to Muizenberg on that day. Being the "yes man" that I am, I didn't even hesitate for a second.

Muizenberg- although now a super-chill side of Cape Town- has a significant place in South Africa's history. It was a scene to a very short battle between the British and the Dutch forces during the 18th century, which resulted in the defeat of the Dutch forces and the surrender of the Dutch Governor. This battle was the beginning of the British control in the Cape Peninsula and the surrounding area. There are a lot of historical remains from that era, including the Rhodes Cottage that Cecil Rhodes (British Prime Minister of the Cape Colony) purchased as a holiday house. Source

Besides the heated military fights, Muizenberg also became the center of a fun activity: surfing. Surfing became very popular in Muizenberg ever since the beginning of the 20th century. Agatha Christie- the famous author of thriller books- was one of those people who developed her surfing skills in Cape Town by going to Muizenberg everyday while she was on a nursing duty in Cape Town. Source

It was me, Besir, Onur, Ricardo, a very beautiful girl from the States that Ricardo somehow (if not by mistake) matched on Tinder and her bestie. The six of us took the train to Muizenberg in the morning. Which reminds me now, it was also the day that I took the train in Cape Town for the first time. So, it was a day of "the first times". 

It was a very warm and sunny day, probably around 21-22 celcius during the day. It was expectedly packed with families because of the national holiday.

First things first, we went into the Corner Surf Shop. This was one of the 3-4 surf shops lined up along the shore. We rented wet suits and the surf boards for 100 Rand per person for 2 hours. The owner of the shop told us that we could also get surf classes for 300 Rands per person but luckily the American girl was going to give us some briefing.

Before diving straight in, she demonstrated how to lie on the board,paddle and stand up in one go. Obviously it was very easy to do since the sand was stable.

I was actually a bit worried about the possibility of sharks because I read some news about occasional attacks which resulted in shark bites. These would especially occur in the southern coast of Western Cape. I also heard that even though there are warning sirens in Muizenberg, they sound just like the train sirens when a train is approaching. So, I was thinking about how to distinguish the two sounds before losing a chunk of my body.

Also, it was going to be the first time that I dipped my foot in the Atlantic Ocean. I was preparing to contract all my muscles to hold my scream against the freezing cold... until I realized that it wasn't actually that cold! Yes, my body was covered with the wet suit except the head, the hands and the feet but they didn't feel cold either. I mean, it was the "it's cold but you get used to it" kind of cold. This made sense, because even though we were still in the Atlantic Ocean, Muizenberg was part of False Bay, so it wasn't really affected by the cold currents flowing far out in the ocean. In addition, the waves weren't hectic. This is why Muizenberg is very suitable for beginners.

Nevertheless, it was such a mission to lie still on the board without sliding off, let alone standing up. The board was very slippery, so it took me half an hour just to find my balance on it. The other issue was that I had to paddle really really fast and countinuously so that the approaching wave would have started carrying me along. Most of the time, either the paddling wasn't fast enough so I capsized or the wave wasn't strong enough to drag me along.

Eventually, I did manage to catch some waves but I was mostly kneeling. I had to do that standing up very fast and instantly. I could only do it once or twice, each for 1-2 seconds (more like femtoseconds?) followed by falling into the water.

We were already very exhausted after the first hour, so we couldn't even wait for two hours to return the boards. However, we didn't let go of them without taking some photos of the victory.

Afterwards, we sat inside one of the pubs in the area and ordered some french fries which took hours to prepare.

I also didn't forget to take the photos of the iconic colorful cabins. I just love how Capetownians like to paint things! Can you imagine that these are actually nothing but changing rooms?

So, that concludes my first surfing experience. Later on, I surfed in Elands Bay up the West Coast (for 10 minutes) and in Jeffrey's Bay in Eastern Cape, but Muizenberg will always have a special room in my heart.

Who likes surfing? Did you have difficulty in your first time? Drop me a comment below.

Cheers Cheers!


Sort:  

That hill in the first photos is looking waaay dramatic

hahaha how so?

Maybe because where I live we have just flat everywhere:D

looks like you had a great fun..

Yep, I did ^^

Sounds like fun day! I can't imagine trying to stand up on a slippery surf board. I would be face planting on the board or into the ocean, haha. Love the colorful changing rooms.

hahahah yeah, luckily you have a rope to tie the surfboard to your ankle so even if you lose grip, the board won't be dragged much further from you

Congratulations @haritakurdu! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

these are some gorgeous pictures of the colorful cabins.. really inspires me to pack my bag and just go.I love swimming and have never tried surfing in the ocean, this looks like something worth a try, only to be careful of sharks

You should pack your bag and visit when you have the chance :) Shark attacks are very rare and they rarely come to shallow waters but still it doesn't hurt to be cautious.

Also, just saw your mention, thank you very much for your support :)

hmm..good advice.. Hopefully, soon will i willbe on my next adventure..
You are welcome,
a while back someone featured me and the community gave me a lot of love and support , and i feel its an amaing concept.

Lovely photography and history of the area @haritakurdu the train ride down is one of the best along the coastline. We used to travel by train from Cape Town to Simonstown.

Hello dear Joan :) I think the train isn't going all the way to Simon's Town now, instead it's only going up to Fishhoek but I'm not sure

This is something I would NEVER do! It's just sooo dangerous in my opinion.

BUT I find it amazing when other people overcome their fears and learn how to surf. It looks like you did a good job! I think not everyone manage to actually stand on the board when they try it for the first time :)

Actually one of my friends was very good, he learned all the tricks in half an hour. I guess you also need a natural talent for things :D

I can imagine. I know that it would take me weeks just to be able to paddle without slipping off the board :D

It seems like you had great fun out there!

It was a fun day, yes :)

Hello there!

Great post! I have done some bodyboarding when I was younger but never tried surf.

PS: I have found your article after reading @itravelarts's entry for the Pay It Forward Contest

I heard about bodyboarding and it sounds interesting as well. Thanks for stopping by :)

Love the post! I had no idea Agatha Christie was a surfer.

I've often wanted to try surfing, but my beach time growing up was basically non-existent. I've been able to travel much more lately and had the chance to try kite surfing last year. That was epic!

Perhaps this year I'll get to try regular surfing.

Kite surfing must have been much more difficult I bet. Where did you try it?

I was more of a swimmer type rather than surfer, but swimming is not possible in the ocean I guess. So surfing became the new swimming hahah.

Thanks for stopping by :)

I was in Cabarete in the Dominican Republic. I only took one lesson so I didn't even get to take the kite out on the ocean. It was still really cool to be able to fly along the beach though. It takes a lot of upper body strength and the ability to remain calm when the kite starts doing something crazy. Definitely fun!

My arms are not that strong so I would probably have a panic attack on the ocean! I did paragliding in Turkey and it was also insane especially in the beginning, my legs wouldn't stop trembling. I will write a blog article about that in the future.

That will be fun to read about. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66650.28
ETH 3590.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.96