The Workings of an Authentic Chinese Tea house (a hidden gem)

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

I never would've thought four months ago that I'd be managing a Chinese tea house. Before this point in my life I drank a glass of peppermint tea with lemon when I was sick, and every once in a while an iced tea for a natural boost of energy. I knew nothing about medicinal teas, or that a few herbs could cure anything from the common cold to preventing cancer recurrence. Now here I am, drinking a Rooibos Mate blend to help with my allergies.

So today I'm gonna take you guys on a tour! I love where I work and I'm sure you all will, too. :)

IMG_2126.JPG

As soon as you walk into the shop the aroma immediately hits you. It's like, a weird (but amazing) mix of Dimsum and sweet tea. Some people come in just to purchase tea, others come in for food and tea at our tables. Our tea is by the ounce, and we have more than 350 teas. It may sound like I'm trying to sell you something, and maybe I am, but mostly I'm programmed to do so. I genuinely love where I work!

IMG_2443.JPG

And yeah, you heard right, we serve Dimsum! All organic and made from scratch, I'm surprised I haven't gained weight working here with all the dumplings I've eaten. For those of you who don't know what Dimsum is, it's kind of like Chinese Tapas. We serve dumplings, steamed buns, fried rice cake, xiao long bao, and other slight variations of those things.

IMG_1169.JPG

The teas that we offer, though, are what really have my heart. I first started coming here with my mother for our weekly meet-ups, and soon after started investing more time and money in teas and the accessories that come along with loose-leaf tea. Around this time I had just switched to a new medication to control my contraction-level period cramps. I felt constantly nauseous, dizzy, and it was hard for me to even function day to day. Tanya the owner recommended a tea for reducing inflammation, and I still don't know what that had to do with my uterine issues but it worked! I drank a whole pot of the tea she gave me one morning and for the first time in months I felt myself again. After that point, I was hooked! I started drinking another tea for reducing stress and anxiety (this tea has in it globe amaranth, jasmine, linden leaf, blue tea, chamomile, and many other flowers). People come to the shop with all sorts of issues, ranging from migraines to rare blood disorders, and we always have a tea for them. Of course I would be more than happy to give you guys some herbal advice! ;)

IMG_6111.JPGIMG_2924.JPGIMG_3722.JPG

We offer a Chinese tea ceremony at each table. We use an instrument called a Gaiwan to strain caffeinated teas, and a glass teapot for herbal blends. We strain the teas into community cups, and from there each person can pour the tea into their tea cups. It's such a unique and fun experience to have someone (me) brew tea for you, and is incredibly relaxing. In America we are all about getting things as quickly as possible, and quickly become frustrated when the Starbucks drive-thru doesn't move fast enough. At Yellow Mountain Tea House you have the chance to enjoy the making of tea, and just as well the tea itself.

IMG_2659.JPGIMG_8397.JPGIMG_3611.JPG

It's been slightly difficult for me to write this post! There's so much to mention about the tea house, but for now I'll leave it at that. If you have any questions, please please ask me! If there's another subject about the tea house or Chinese herbs that you think I should make another post about, let me know!

IMG_2798.JPG

Sort:  

Congrats @zoebean1 on your new business adventure.

It would be great to set up a Steemit store to sell your items.

Thanks for sharing!

Best regards.

Peace.

Congratulations @zoebean1, this post is the second most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 2117 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $405.73. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

I am so curious and have to search where this is.

Colorado. too far for me.

I really very like to drink tea. I like this post. Thanks for sharing this post my lovely friend. good job

Oh wow! If I ever visit your country I would surely visit this awesome place of yours @zoebean1 ! I don't drink much tea myself all the time but I do appreciate its properties especially some really helps in healing for the stomach.

Never tried an anti-anxiety tea before. People with constant stress should have some of it, especially so many things has happened in the States.

Congratulations @zoebean1! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @zoebean1! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @zoebean1! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 400 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - The party continues
Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @zoebean1! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest⁴ commemorative badge refactored
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61182.87
ETH 3360.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49