Welcome to Badlands, TX (outlaw country)

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Terlingua Day of the Dead Rider

Where is that on the map?

A quick search on google maps will not yield any promising results. You will however receive results on a regular google search about a National Geographic series. This series takes place in Terlingua, TX which is a small ghost town nestled in the Chihuahua Desert. Terlingua is 90 miles from the nearest town and sits in the largest county in Texas, Brewster County. I call Terlingua Outlaw Country because it sits an a county that is over 6000 square miles and populates less than 10,000 people. I believe there are a mere 6 deputies to cover a 6000 square mile area.

Terlingua Ghost Town Graveyard


World Famous Subterranean Restaurant & Bar LA KIVA


I'm pulling a page from @papa-pepper

If you can guess who this is, you will get 50 STEEM


Terlingua, TX

I have been a frequent visitor here since 2002. I stopped in Terlingua on my way to Big Bend National Park which neighbors the town and was immediately captivated by it. I have been a landowner in this town for 2 years so I go back even more often than when I was just a tourist. Most  spring breaks in Texas are spent on the beach but for some reason the groundhog decided to see his shadow. DAMN GROUDNHOG.

"The Porch"

FAMOUS TX HWY 118



Limited Ammenities

I had to drive quite a ways to get a reasonable amount of wifi in order to create and upload this post. I hope it gives you some insight into this small town in the middle of nowhere.

Base Camp )







GRAND FINALE

Arsenal of Entertainment









No it is not the season for fireworks but hey, IT'S OUTLAW COUNTRY!!!!!


There's Adventure in all of Us

I took you Indoor Skydiving with my 6 year old
I took you on the road with the White Power Ranger to get a tattoo
I took you on an aerial tour of Houston
I took you to @ned scott's funeral (RIP)
I took you to #STEEMITGUNCLUB

FOLLOW

AND I WILL TAKE YOU PLACES

mostly in Texas LOL


Black Uncle Sam Credit
Sort:  

Hello @xtrodinarypilot,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to not receive comments from SteemTrail, please reply with "Stop" to opt out.

Happy TRAIL!

Is that Karl Rove?

HAHAHA yeah that's Karl Rove's old ass. Our hunting properties are adjacent.

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Mar 14. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $2.35 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 14 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

dam, ya far out west... that area is scurry, especially driving at night

yeah be back in a day or 2.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56586.95
ETH 2389.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34