Travel Pro Places of Interest #6: Shipwreck Bay San Cristobal Galapagos Islands and a Warning to Any Visiting Digital Nomads! (15 photos)

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

What's Up With the Internet in the Galapagos?

Hey there my Steemit friends. This is my first real post on the Galapagos. The reason I've waited so long is that I really wanted to include some videos. I've taken more videos than I normally do, and I'm really getting into them. So no big deal, I'll just upload some videos right? Guess again!

The Galapagos Islands are famous for their wildlife and unique ecosystems; not for their internet service. I was literally blown away with how bad the internet is here. I didn't assume it would be good, but I didn't know it would take three hours to upload a 45 second video! Then crap out after 10 minutes!

My first assumption is that the hotel paid for really lousy and cheap service. Like they cheaped out on a better service option. So I went to a restaurant it was not better. I went to a cafe, it was still no better. After speaking with a few "compadres" in Spanish. It was explained to me that on every inhabited island in the Galapagos the internet is like this.

The bigger main Island of Santa Cruz with a slightly larger population, same quality internet. The cafe owner jokingly told me that if you want to complain, write a letter to the government. Everyone including the locals are frustrated about it.

So let this post be a heads up to all those thinking about traveling here. Be prepared for internet that maxes out at about 30k/s! That means no you tube and staring at the clock to just open your email if you can even do that!

If you are a digital nomad, like I recently have become here on Steemit. You may want to think twice about coming here in general. Fortunately posting on steemit and writing my articles takes minimal band width but I haven't had the patience to open other people's pages and comment. Loading up these photos is going to take a while; but sharing these interesting places with my Steemit friends is totally worth it, just no videos for now.

Ship Wreck Bay San Cristobal Galapagos

So I got off the plane, walked from the airport into town (only five minutes), and did my usual routine when I arrive at a new place. That is going from hotel to hotel looking for the best deal. In Travel Pro Fashion I found an airconditioned, clean room, with fridge, cable TV, wifi, and private bathroom for only twenty dollars. Which is a steal for the Galapagos.

I then walked down to the beach or I should say the bay, Shipwreck Bay. I knew there would be animals all over this island, as that is what it was famous for; but when I got to the bay I was literally blown away! I walked onto the sand and suddenly felt like I was inside of a zoo; the part that is caged off for the sea lions.

Talk about being one with nature. I forgot all about the lousy internet as I was surrounded by these beautiful, big, animals; dozens of them, maybe hundreds of them. They were as docile as could be. They'd let you walk right up to them. You could even reach out and touch them even though you're not supposed to.

So yes there were some shipwrecks, but they were more like ornaments for the sea lions to hang out on. The sea lions were literally everywhere. Some even found there way up onto the side walk. They were not afraid of humans in the least. They reminded me of very non-agressive laid back dogs. They'd just lay around sleeping or what have you.

They kind of are a strange looking animal, especially when they start to waddle around. Their bodies are built more like the shape of a fish and are perfect for propelling themselves through the water; but on land, they almost seem handy-cap. They often just kind of throw there fat bodies over rocks and whatever else is in their way and hope for the best. Very strange animal indeed. Now let's have a look at these guys on Shipwreck Bay San Cristobal Island in the Galapagos!

Not To be Missed!

Travel Pro Up-Date From the Galapagos and Issues with Time Management! (15 photos)

Travel Pro Eats #11: Poo Hot Pot Buffet in Krabi Thailand and Some Travel Budget Tips! (14 food photos)

Real Life Captured #70: Yellow Green Farmers Market in Hollywood Florida USA! Part Seven (14 photos)

Travel Pro Hotels #9: Hotel David Alejandro Quito Ecuador!

Real Life Captured #69: Quatro Manzanas Mercado, Guayaquil Ecuador! Part Three (14 photos)

Travel Pro Deals #2: Three Travel Pro Deals Found in Ecuador!

With over 11 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a Steemit post just for you!

!steemitworldmap -0.901807 lat -89.612646 long d3scr

Sort:  

yes, i would like that if you actually stopped by sometimes at my page, so please make some time ! :-D
Just messing with ya...
I like your post again, and great photos !
heart small.jpg

Ha ha. I'm heading there right now. Lousy Galapagos internet and all. You are worth the time :)

the water looks lovely and those sea lions have so much character, must be a lot of fun to watch! well, without the good internet it sounds like you might just have a real vacation ;-)))

Ha ha. Very true, I did have a great time here it was certaily more like a vcation compared to my normal travel style. This morning the internet is working good enough to get these replies out! Will be heading back to my home base in Guayaquil for a week today at 2pm flight leaves. I now have 800 photos and 20 videos to edit and dozens of posts to make! Sounds like a real J-O-B lol. But I love it, as long as people support my efforts which you certainly have been great at. I thank you dearly for that. Sndbox nomination. Wow, that changed things for me in a hugely positive way. Hope you had a great time in NYC. I'll be sure to stop by your page when I get back to Guayaquil. -Dan

thank you for post! the photo is gorgeous! however at the first picture I had a question : it is hot or bad. )))) well it is a joke.

Hot is good :) Thanks for stopping by! -Dan

Looks like an amazing place :)

No idea there were so many seals!

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=world-travel-pro
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travel-pro-places-of-interest-6-shipwreck-bay-san-cristobal-galapagos-islands-and-a-warning-to-any-visiting-digital-nomad-15-photos-1517936402


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

wow what a great experience
I would like to have that kind of contact with these animals

It was a great experience. I think you would really like this place!

Is it quite touristy there? There's a lovely lack of people in our sea lion photos but there seem to be an awful of of boats out on the horizon.

Try not to get too frustrated with the internet situation. Just think of all those posts you'll have ready to go when you get back to the mainland! 😍

How about 800 photos and 15 videos to edit. This is turned into a full time job for me! lol But I love it! :)

Yes, great observation. I asked the locals if this his high season, anticipating that it was not. They were like "yes, now is high season very busy now"......yet hardly anyone is here! Maybe they are all on the cruise ships docked in sea. But even on the hiking trails, it was like I had the whole island to myself!

Good to hear you've got plenty of space despite the cruise ships. I don't envy you your photo/video editing. That's definitely not something I'd enjoy.

haha, tell me about it. That's why I wouldn't be here doing this if I wasnt' supported by some "bigs" getting paid for my work. It's really has taken huge chunks of time away from me fun travel life that I love. But earning I'm $$$$ so I can't complain :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56784.71
ETH 2392.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27