Travel Pro On the Move #1: Island of Koh Pha Ngan to Krabi Town Thailand! (10 photos)

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Hey there my Steemit friends. I just thought to do a new travel series that shows how I actually do the traveling part of my life. Who would have thunk it? lol Now you guys can see how a real long term professional budget traveler moves around the planet and how much it costs.

I was going to use these set of photos for a "Travel Adventure" post but instead they will be used for my first "Travel Pro On the Move" post. However I will say this, getting from Koh Pha Ngan to Krabi was a bit of an adventure. Koh Pha Ngan is an Island in the Gulf of Thailand so I had to take this ferry boat to the main land then a mini bus to Krabi Town.

The ferry was horrendous. You can see in the photos below it was not a nice calm sunny morning. It was cold, windy, and the sea was rough. People were miserable, getting sea sick, and a few were vomiting over the edge. Whenever I have to take a boat I always have my fingers crossed that the seas are calm. Over the years traveling I've found myself in some pretty hectic waters and have personally gotten sea sick myself. It's the worst; vomiting, feeling nauseous, and you can't make it stop, ugghh, just awful.

Fortunately on this ride I wasn't totally turning green and I actually did alright, especially compared to some others on board. The weather and seas got noticeably better for the last half hour of the two hour ride on the way to Surat Thani. This is where we would change to the mini bus and travel three more hours south west to Krabi Town.

If I remember correctly the taxi from my hotel in Haad Rin, Koh Pha Gnan to the pier was about three dollars. At the pier I bought a combination boat and mini van ticket all the way to Krabi Town for about 15 more dollars. So for less than twenty dollars and six hours later I got myself from Koh Phagnan to Krabi! The best part of all is that I didn't lose my breakfast on the ferry! Until next time -Dan "World Travel Pro!"

Not To be Missed!

Travel Pro Up-Date From the Galapagos and Issues with Time Management! (15 photos)

Travel Pro Eats #11: Poo Hot Pot Buffet in Krabi Thailand and Some Travel Budget Tips! (14 food photos)

Real Life Captured #70: Yellow Green Farmers Market in Hollywood Florida USA! Part Seven (14 photos)

Travel Pro Hotels #9: Hotel David Alejandro Quito Ecuador!

Real Life Captured #69: Quatro Manzanas Mercado, Guayaquil Ecuador! Part Three (14 photos)

Travel Pro Deals #2: Three Travel Pro Deals Found in Ecuador!

With over 11 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a Steemit post just for you!

!steemitworldmap 9.713795 lat 99.981766 long d3scr

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your great photos , so glad you didnt lose your breakfast but a couple of people on that ferry dont look so good lol! What a great deal though only 15.00 dollars @world-travel-pro ! great budget traveling , im liking your new "on the move " series ! Thanks for sharing ! upped and resteemed !✌👍😀

Thanks Karen. I too am glad I didn't lose my breakfast! I think skipping breakfast was a good idea that morning! lol

Love the Gifs as always. Hope you are feeling better and thank you for the resteem and encouraging words! Will certainly add this to my list of ongoing series. I think I've got like a dozen of them now! lol :)

Good idea to add series on how you actually travel from place to place! A big part of traveling is the destinations but without the traveling in between destinations, you would turn into a "settler" and not a travel-pro!
Also interesting to see how much it costs since that is usually one of the more expensive parts of traveling.

Hey there buddy. Good to see you stop by. Thank you for the encouragement and kind words. I'll definately stick with this series. Being "Travel Pro" I'm definitely happy to show how much, or how little you can travel for as it is often the pricey part.

Wow, Thailand is one of my favorite country. Food and people so nice. Upload some more nice picture~~~

Excellent. It's one of my favorite's too!

Nice photography, and beautiful scenery

Beautiful picture and wonderful tour, as usual sequence of tapes and the accuracy of details Thank you for your participation in the diary I appreciate the effort you change

Thank you so much much. I try hard to bring you all my best! :)

Very fond of traveling by ship, every hour how many hours depart

Your ferry ride sounded rough. Glad you made it and kept your breakfast!

It wasn't the best ferry experience I've had that is for sure. But also wasn't the wort! :)

Thanks for stopping by! -Dan

The proper journey of a backpacker in Thailand. If we had the time, we would do it. However, between Sam's studies and Becca's work, we have to spend the money to travel by plane within Thailand. However, Sam wants to make sure we do the sleeper train to Chiang Mai when we go.
During your six hour journey (total) going from sea to land, you can see many aspect of daily Thai life. From the fisherman by the sea, workers in the city and the farmers in the countryside. We are sure it would be quite interesting.
Btw, those other tourists on the ferry look worst for wear and probably dreaded the ferry ride back to Surat Thani too! At least you didn't have any alcohol in your system, or did you? :p

Thanks for your comments as always. Traveling by plane...Nok Air...they offer some incredibly cheap flights. You guys are certainly Travel Pro too!

No really don't drink at all. Just not my thing. Yes I'm glad I got some photos of some other's to show how bad things were. I did quite well by comparison! lol

Thanks for stopping by guys!

Yes and we also travel light too. We often share a bag when going for a long weekend then have a smaller bag to keep day trip items.

No drink? Good on you. Actually, that is probably an expensive we can do without, yet it's nice to treat ourselves when on holiday. Sam likes to try local beers.

Yeah I'm a bit of a square and have always been quick to get a hangover. The stuff basically makes me sick. Don't have the same gung-ho drinking attitude I had in my teens and early 20s. Just kind of how it is now.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=world-travel-pro
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travel-pro-on-the-move-1-island-of-koh-pha-ngan-to-krabi-town-thailand-10-photos-1517956803


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.07
ETH 2731.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45