Travel Pro Hang-Out Hotspot #1: La Pistoche Swimming Pool and Bar. Luang Prabang, Laos!

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

There are some great places to spend your time just hanging out in Luang Prabang Laos; however Laos is very much a developing country and there simply are not too many swimming pools around. Being a traditionally modest society due to it's Buddhist ways, lounging around with your shirt off borders on taboo in this culture. My steemit friends, if you've followed me long enough you would know, lounging around with my shirt off is what I do best!

After about twenty days in Laos I made my way to the most developed and most touristed place in the country, Luang Prabang. The country of Laos is landlocked, it has no beaches and it's very hot and sunny almost every day. I was itching to find a swimming pool, a place I could just relax in the mid-day sun, take to the shade, hop in the pool, and have a cocktail. I figured with all the tourists here there would have to be some nice swimming hole in town. Sure enough a quick google search gave me my answer! La Pistoche Swimming Pool and Bar!

The information online says it's a bit out of town and I'd have to take a taxi for 1.50 to get there. Turns out it was two kilometers from where I was staying. Out of town? Taxi? Ha! For me this was a great opportunity to go for a nice walk, see what I can see, so that's exactly what I did on my way to La Pistoche Swimming Pool and Bar!

I spent my morning eating exotic fruit and steeming it! Then I got myself ready and headed out to find my swimming pool and afternoon cocktails! I hit the road and soon found this helpful sign here.

I walk further down the road in the direction the sign has pointed me. I look to my left and I see a great indicator that things are on the rise economically in this developing nation. You can see they are building some kind of complex related to the growing tourism industry.

I continue on my way. I quickly see another indicator of a growing economy and investment from abroad. This time it's the grand opening of a Japanese Bank!

I walk a little further. It's hot, it's sunny, I'm sweating and looking forward to jumping in the pool. I look to my left and take a real life photo of the Lao school girl in-front of the Finance Department of Luang Prabang Province. Then to my relief I see this sign here. I've made it!

Fifty meters later I pay my 3 dollar entrance fee. Camera in hand I take some photos to share with my Steemit friends!

I was hoping for a bit more of a social atmosphere but it was mostly Lao children, Korean tourist, and two couples speaking Languages I didn't understand. However I was very happy to be there, I jumped in the pool, swam over to the pool bar, learned it was two for one specials all day, and returned to my chase lounge with a couple mango daiquiris and some jack fruit I brought along with me.

It was a great way to relax and spend the afternoon. After not seeing a swimming pool since Ko Pha Ngan Thailand a month earlier I was very happy with my decision on where to hang out! If you like this post please view some of my others and consider following. Thank you! -Dan "World Travel Pro!

Not To be Missed!

Travel Super Food #3: Pomegranate in Laos!

First World Vs Third World. Good Deal Vs Bad Deal?......Conversation Between Myself and @heyitshass on Why I Live the Way I Do.

Real Life Captured #2: Morning Market in Luang Prabang Laos, Part One (15 photos)

World Travel Report #12: Luang Prabang Laos

With over 10 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a video just for you!

Photo Credit: World Travel Pro!

Sort:  

glad you finally make it there! Just reading the story and I can imagine how hot it can be! hehe

Yes, I'm a bit of strange guy. I really enjoy walking around! lol

Love the signs indicating where to go for the pool, so professional haha especially the one with the red cross under it.
looks like a nice pool!

That's about as professional as it gets in Laos! lol. Glad you enjoyed the post Haas. Were you able to check out the post I made of our conversation. Got some interesting replies.

Resteemed, dont know how i missed that one!

Sweet, thanks Haas. You really got me going with your response. Put enough time and energy replying to you, had to turn it into a post and at least share it and earn a little something.

Nice. I remember going here once. I like Laos.

Also, if you're interested, you can edit this post to have it show up on the steemit worldmap.
Info here:
https://steemit.com/travel/@steemitworldmap/steemit-worldmap

So you would add a line (no bold text, no apostrophes) that says:
!steemitworldmap XXX lat XXX long title of your post d3scr

Thank you, I'll have to check into my latitude and longitude! That is so cool that you were actually at the same exact pool in Laos. It is a pretty cool country isn't. Hope you are having great day!

Sorry, I meant the city. I wasn't in a pool there.

All good Choo Girl! Like that name. What's the significance?

All good Choo Girl! Like that name. What's the significance?

As in Jimmy Choo.

Before I got into minimalism, I was really into shoes. Actually I still am, I just don't own anywhere near as many now.

Would never have guessed that. Fascinating. A minimalist who likes luxury shoes!

To be fair, I was into luxury shoes WAY before I got into minimalism.

Ha ha. Very fair. I used to drive a camero sports car in highschool listen to rap music, had blond highlight an earing and silver chain necklace. lol!

Now I'm a conservative/humble 35 year old adult who can fit all his belongings in a backpack! How we all mature :)

You're a cool Choo Girl! Happy to have met you on here. I'll certainly be checking in with you from time to time. -Dan

PS: It's now taken me 3 tries and half an hour to send this message. This will likely be my last reply to anyone until they get steemit working right. But I'll try to get posts up and upvote my friends here.

Looks like a relaxing day with those cocktails!!

Yes. Stress free!

What a great choice and way to spend your day ! Awesome post my friend sure wish I was there swimming around and having drinks haha winter is on its way here ! Im currently blogging in my car at work its 0 degrees and I need to keep warming up my car or freeze ! LOL! Thanks for sharing , I tried to comment earlier but it didn't go through ! Happy trails .💕👍

Thanks Karen, Love you GIF imiges. Yeah, Steemit has been suffering lately and has kept my activity much lower as a result. But still able to stick to my one post a day. Which I'll be getting up very soon.

Your welcome , im glad you like them ! Its just long and slow !!! Haha !👍✌💕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57431.51
ETH 3085.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35