Real Life Captured #20: Swap Shop Drive-In and Flea Market in Ft Lauderdale Florida! Part One (15 photos)

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Hi my steemit friends. Time to mix it up now that I'm not in Thailand anymore. I recently spent four days with Uncle Kenny in Ft Lauderale Florida where he resides. It was like going down memory lane as this is where my grandparents lived before they passed. We had a great time palling around, but when he took me to the Flee Market on Sunrise Blvd it was like taking a long long trip down memory lane. I was first here about 32 years ago in a stroller at age three!

I've been here many times through my regular winter visits to Grandmas all throughout my childhood, but this was the first time I've been there in well over a decade. It's amazing how the mind works. I haven't thought about this place not once in over 10 years, yet I remember the whole layout, the yellow bridge, the big drive in theater, the antique car display, everything!

I would have to say the only difference is that it's looking a little on the starved for business end of things. A little run down, but other than that it's as if nothing has changed in thirty years. We didn't come on the weekend, maybe that's why. Usually that's the time to go. Uncle Kenny was just there looking for a cell phone case for cheap; and this is certainly the place to find "cheap"....Maybe Uncle Kenny was a budget traveler in a former life, as he too certainly enjoys a deal.

Our first photo is of Zoltar! Remember this from Tom Hanks in the movie Big? I can't believe we found him, Zoltar the fortune teller! I didn't want to press my luck, god forbid it made me age another 20 years! Now lets take a look at what it was like to wander around the Swap Shop Drive-in and Flee Market in sunny Ft Lauderdale Florida!

Not To be Missed!

Travel Pro Adventure #3: Lost in Railey Peninsula Thailand! Part Two ( 22 photos)

Travel Pro Update: Around the World and Back to Ecuador! (21 travel photos!)

Travel Pro Super Foods #6: Coconuts!

Real Life Captured #19: Weekend Night Market in Chiang Mai Thailand! Part Two (18 photos)

With over 10 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a Steemit post just for you!

Photo Credit: World Travel Pro!

!steemitworldmap 26.136638 lat -80.189209 long d3scr

Sort:  

Awesome post! I grew up going to the Fort Lauderdale Swap Shop (lived down the road). Haven’t been there in 20+ years. Used to see the circus a couple times a year. I can’t believe that it’s still around. Thanks for sharing!

Thank you! It was trip for me too being there.

Nice post, thanks

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=world-travel-pro
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=real-life-capture-20-swap-shop-drive-in-and-flee-market-in-ft-lauderdal-florida-part-one-15-photos


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Great pictures you have taken.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61728.21
ETH 2680.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56