Travel Pro Super Foods #6: Coconuts!

in #travel7 years ago

Hey there my steemit friends. Part of traveling for the better part of 15 years makes me an expert in many things. One of them is coconuts. I've probably eaten more coconuts than anyone I know. When I casually biked 2,000kl through five countries in Southeast Asia for over a year, I carried my own cleaver knife and straws for getting into my own precious coconuts!

In Southeast Asia and Central America you buy them on average for about a dollar; but in Florida and the US in general they are much harder to come by and more expensive. Fortunately when I was staying at my uncles house just last week in Ft Lauderdale, he had a tree loaded with coconuts. I taught him which ones are too young, which ones are young and good for water, and which one's are older and good for coconut meat.

I also taught him how to get into the coconuts using what he had, just a long knife and a rolling pin as a hammer to pound the knife into the nut and basically cut out a little triangle to access the water inside. We probably shared 15 coconuts off the tree in three days. They were great!

Coconuts certainly are an incredible super food. Coconut water contains some great stuff like antioxidants, amino acids, enzymes, B-complex vitamins, vitamin C and minerals like iron, calcium, potassium, magnesium, manganese and zinc. It helps control high blood pressure and is good for your heart. It aids in healthy weight loss as well as any dehydration related symptoms such as headache and hangovers.

The meat has eight grams of protein per half cup which maintains and builds muscle mass. It contains iron, vitamin B, and it's high in fiber and easy to digest. It's also been known to aid in fat loss specifically in the abdominal region. For all these reasons and probably more coconuts are truly a "Travel Pro Super Food!" and something I certainly can not live without! Until next time -Dan "World Travel Pro!"

Not To be Missed!

Travel Pro Update: Around the World and Back to Ecuador! (21 travel photos!)

Travel Pro Adventure #2: Lost in Railey Peninsula Thailand! Part One (45 Incredible Travel Photos!)

Travel Pro Eats #5: Kow Mooooooo! In Chiang Mai Thailand (5 food photos)

Travel Pro Hang Out Hot Spot #4: Amsterdam Bar, Koh Phagnan Island Thailand (16 photos and video)

With over 10 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a Steemit post just for you!

Photo Credit: World Travel Pro!

Sort:  

I love coconuts and you are absolutely right that they are healthy and very beneficial. Coconuts are hard to find here in Pa and are expensive when we do find them. Wow! $1 a piece....I would be buying a dozen!

ha ha. I have bought a dozen at a time. In Thailand you get ten for as little as 5-7 dollars!
In Ecuador I made a deal with vender to buy in bulk too! I'm mad about coconuts! lol Have a great day! -Dan

I'm glad you can still get them over there. I did not think it would be warm enough to grow them - maybe on the coast?

Here in Ecuador they have huge plantations on the coast.

Oh, I see. I'm glad you have them. I am seriously addicted :)

To be mad about coconuts....that's a good thing!

I have a recent post on my blog from Bangkok. I bought 6 coconuts for 50 thb. This is about $1.50 for all six and they were fantastic. So much fresher than I ever had in the states. I feel like I need to go get more now - just from talking about it!

Go nuts for coconuts!

Cool post, thanks for sharing. I'm just now starting to get into coconut and its health benefits. I liked the pictures, too! A big upvote and followed!

Awesome Thank you. I've got a whole bunch of health related posts. You may find as a help. Thanks for your up-votes and support! -Dan

wow. coconut!! I like coconut oil for my skin. you look happy in your photo!

Thank you so much. Yes coconut oil is so healthy for everything!

Great catching of coconuts and pictures are amazing too!

I like coconut ice... Fresh and healthy
When you came to Indonesian @world-travel-pro ?

I actually biked the entire circumference of Bali Indonesia 5 years ago. But at the moment I don't have much plans for Indonesia. Where are about are you located in the country?

AJ picked your post @world-travel-pro for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57020.43
ETH 3081.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41