Adventure in Thailand: Journey from Bangkok to the Islands! Part One

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Hi there my steemit friends, a couple months ago I documented my journey to the Island of Koh Pha Ngan, I've now got it in steemit "travel pro" post format. This is a two part post as it's lengthy, like the journey to the Islands from the capital city of Bangkok. The fastest way to go there is flying from Bangkok to Koh Samui, then a ferry to Koh Pha Ngan, but I took the overnight train saving me on air fare and doubling as a hotel for the night.

Going from A to B while traveling I usually don't consider an adventure, but it's not everyday 95% of the journey is done on a sleeper train and giant ferry in the Gulf of Thailand, with a total trip time of almost 24 hours! We meet new friends, sleep like a baby, and enjoy some incredible views along the way. Now let's see how it went!

A two dollar taxi ride from Kao San Road gets us to Hua Lamphung Train Station where we proceed to by a ticket for the over-night air conditioned sleeper train. I got the lower bunk. It was a combined ticket which included the train, mini bus to the port, and the ferry ticket; all for just under 30 dollars! Thailand truly is a "get more, pay less" country and a budget traveler like myself can't help but love that!

We've got a little bit of time to kill, we walk around, take a close look at my ticket making sure the info is correct, check the departure board just like at an airport, get a look at the train, and take some photos.

We board the train have a look around, and before we know it we're making friends with our neighbors from Spain. I spent most of the evening speaking Spanish, on a train in Thailand with Juanito and Maria. It was truly an international experience. Great people, we are from opposite sides of the world yet have so much in common!

Around 11pm we get comfortable and call it a night. We close the curtain, and the motion of the train gently rocks us to sleep. We sleep straight through the night and wake up to an entirely different view compared to the streets of Bangkok.

So far we "travel pro"! Everything is going smoothly and as planned. Soon we hear an announcement come over the train, "Next Stop Surrathani" that's our stop! Being packed, teeth brushed, face washed, we're ready to go. Let's see how the rest of this journey turns out in part two!

Not To be Missed!

World Travel Report #13: Vang Vieng Laos

Travel Pro Gear #1: Main Bag, Day Bag, Laundry Bag!

Travel Pro Hang-Out Hotspot #1: La Pistoche Swimming Pool and Bar. Luang Prabang, Laos!

Travel Super Food #3: Pomegranate in Laos!

With over 10 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a video just for you!

Photo Credit: World Travel Pro!

Sort:  

I really enjoy your travel posts, it's really a window into a completely different reality than my life!

Thank you! That means so much to me, and I really appreciate your support.

Thanks for your travel-report. Looking forward to Part II.

We are in Bangkok and plan to go to the islands as well.

Maybe by train :)

Have a safe travel,
Thomas

Thanks Thomas. I should have part two up this evening, Thailand time.

I'm here too and I've taken the train to Nong Khai a few times - I love it. Very comfortable and a great night's sleep in both directions.

Bankok is so great. Been twice there.

Great post! happy travels, feel your frustration with Steemit by the way, almost impossible to comment and upvote, but managed after a few tries, hahah. Keep them coming! dont post as much lately need more inspiration, soon the monthly travel destionations will be out again

Great post! happy travels, feel your frustration with Steemit by the way, almost impossible to comment and upvote, but managed after a few tries, hahah. Keep them coming! dont post as much lately need more inspiration, soon the monthly travel destionations will be out again

Thanks Haas. I like you monthly travel destinations.

I have never traveled with trains in thailand.. it look awesome.. I saw flight deals going to koh samui the other day, waiting to get even cheaper price for flight. hehe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66266.06
ETH 3031.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67