My Travelling Experience To Southeast Asia - Saigon, Vietnam

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

To my fellow steemians,

This post is a follow-up to my ongoing series that started with this post and continued with this.

“It is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters, in the end.”
― Ursula K. Le Guin

DSC04151.jpg

DAY 6

We arrived at Ho Chi Minh City pretty late last night. After walking for almost 1 hour (because we got lost) we finally arrived at our hotel, Sunny Hotel in Co Giang. The hotel which we booked through online located far from the main road and a bit isolated. The walking is making us exhausted and we went to bed straight away without having dinner.

DAY 7

Today we visited several places around Ho Chi Minh city. Since we had an appointment late in the afternoon, we did not intend to go out-of-town.

First of all, we visited Ben Thanh Market. My goal is only one. To get Vietnam coffee for myself as well for souvenirs.

Why Vietnam coffee? Well, as a coffee lover (and I could say that I’m an addict too) Vietnam coffee has a strong smell, broader and unique taste. Brewed with a small metal drip filter and poured as much sweetened condensed milk, oh la la … perfecto, which I can heavenly indulge anytime, anywhere. 😁

Now I could enjoy the same taste and smell Vietnam coffee at home.☕

Vietnam offers more type of coffee which I couldn’t get the opportunity to try them all. In Hanoi for an instant, egg coffee is so famous not only to the locals but also to tourist too! I wondered how the taste like.

The market was called Les Halles Centrales before being renamed Ben Thanh in 1912. Ben Thanh Market is the most well-known symbol of Ho Chi Minh City. Your trip to HCMC cannot be completed without a visit here.

Afterwards, we headed to Notre Dame Cathedral Church. Built-in 1877 by the French colonist, it is a very popular building structure with its distinctive charm. Outside the building, it is constructed using bricks imported from France. A statue of the Virgin Mary is also placed in front of the cathedral where the local people claimed that the statue shed tears in 2005 and become a national news.

Located strategically close to the Cathedral is the Post Office. One of the oldest buildings in Vietnam, HCMC Post Office is also the largest post office in the country. We also had the opportunity to visit the street market on our way back to the hotel and bought some local handmade goods. Surprisingly, Vietnam are known to have lots of artistic talent that does painting, one of the infamous thing they are known is copying famous painting. 😝

We've only spent less than 10 STEEM (and you can test your bargaining skills as well), and brought home two pieces of painting!

After a quick rest and showered, we took a Vinasun Cab to our friend’s place at Sky Garden in District 7 for dinner. My friend who resides in Ho Chi Minh city after her husband got a job offer as a pilot, told us that she’s loving her new place where she could go shopping and gets to eat pho every time she wants! Language is still a barrier even in the big city but as long you know how to do a hand sign gesture, you should be okay. 😊

DSC04156.jpg

Saigon Central Post Office

206447_10151206363599163_905427992_n.jpg

We spent the whole night at her place before going back to the hotel and packed our things for our next trip tomorrow to Thailand.

It is such a pity that we only stayed in HCMC for 2 nights. I would love to know more about the history, culture, and their tradition, especially after our Cambodian tour guide, told us the history of Cambodia-Vietnam during our earlier trip in Cambodia.

The Vietnamese are very helpful, warm and kind. The locals helped to guide us when we lost our way to the hotel or when we wanted to find a specific, authentic local restaurant. The food itself surprised us. None of us were disappointed.

I would definitely love to come back and maybe do a back to back Vietnam and Laos tour.

painting from vietnam.jpg

One of the painting we bought from Vietnam

DAY 8

Our flights to Bangkok departs early in the morning. As soon we reached Bangkok, we straight away took a cab and proceed to our miserable hotel, Sawasdee Smile Inn in Chao Fa Road, Bangkok.

Why is it miserable? I will tell you more in my next and final post of my Travel Experience in Southeast Asia.

Conie_animated banner.gif

Animated Banner Created by @cklai

Sort:  

Oh my! Vietnamese coffee is SOOOO good. I spend maybe 10 days in Vietnam and I probably spent 20% of my free time in coffee shops just enjoying it and people watching. I absolutely loved it there (and not JUST for the coffee!)

Agreed. I don't know why their coffee is sooo delicious. Thinking about it makes me wanna grab a cup of their coffee.

I live in Singapore and we've been planning to visit Vietnam forever now. Reading your post has encouraged me to plan something very soon. :) Lovely place.

Glad that you enjoyed reading my post @thehungrygypsy 😊

Thank you danieldoughty for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 5.40% on this post!

Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem!

The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me!

For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily?

To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61604.80
ETH 3444.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50