Dōtonbori, the bustling district of Osaka, by @japon (tranlated from French)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

This is an authorized translation in English of a post in French by @japon: Dotonbori, le quartier animé de Osaka

As my primary language is not English, there are probably some mistakes in my translation.

Remember that the person that speaks here is NOT me, Vincent Celier (@vcelier), but @japon, a French guy.


Back to my hotel. Upon arriving in Osaka I left my luggage while waiting for the room to be available. I was surprised by the unbeatable price to which I was entitled: 25 € per night! Needless to say, I had a little apprehension, but for one night I did not risk much. The great interest is that the hotel is right next to Dōtonbori, the bustling area of Osaka.



I am finally in my single room and with its own bathroom. I stay in the hot shower to warm me up. There remains the problem of soaked shoes. I have a second pair to go out at night, but I have to dry the ones I wear all day. So, let's go for about twenty minutes of hair dryer in the shoes!



Dōtonbori is really a magical neighborhood at night. On both sides of a canal, illuminated buildings that immediately give the tone of a modern and young atmosphere. Also in the streets, many trendy teenagers who spend the evening in one of the many bars or clubs along the canal.

This district is reminiscent of Shibuya in Tokyo. Giant displays on the walls, crowd, noise. All these gaudy colors. It's alive. And it's beautiful. Even in the rain.









On the canal, boats pass with a lot of tourists who photograph and are photographed.






I'm looking for a place to eat, but there seems to be only bars. I am looking for something calmer. I deviate a little from the edge of the canal, and the place takes a special atmosphere. Quiet streets, sometimes dimly lit.



I'm trying to eat Kobe beef or Wagyu. There are some restaurants around me. I go to the first, but it seems closed. Next door, two men eat on a counter on the street. One of them is dressed with the costume of Luigi, Mario's brother!



I'm looking for the next restaurant, it's raining again. The phone tells me an address inside a building. It's on the third floor. I take the elevator, and when the door opens, in front of me a guy a little fishy. In the hallway of the third floor, I do not see a restaurant. Just some indications in kanji on the doors. This place is definitely not for me. I'm going back down.

Finally, I see a sushi restaurant. This is not beef but it will do for the evening. Two chefs are busy making sushi I order on a shelf. I spend quietly my evening in Osaka. Outside the wind blows hard, through the window I see an umbrella that flies away.






The next day I leave again for Kyoto. This interlude in Osaka makes me want to discover this city more deeply. It deserves that you spend at least 3 days as there are so many things to do.

-- @japon


01: Travel diary in Japan, by @japon
02: Tokyo, overcrowded city? Really? by @japon
03: Are the Japanese too disciplined? by @japon
04: Going to Japan without speaking Japanese? by @japon
05: Ueno, more than just a big park in Tokyo, by @japon
06: Asakusa, diving in the heart of Tokyo's historic district, by @japon
07: Ameyoko, Ueno's colorful market, by @japon
08: Tsukiji, the largest fish market in the world, by @japon
09: Climb the steps of Atago Jinja Shrine in Tokyo, by @japon
10: Hama Rikyu, an exceptional park in the heart of Tokyo, by @japon
11: Jimbocho, old books and tempura, by @japon
12: Shinjuku Gyoen Park and the best burger in the world!, by @japon
13: One night in Shibuya, by @japon
14: Takeshita dori : this little street dedicated to fashion (and good crepes), by @japon
15: They lie to you about Kyoto, by @japon
16: The temples and secret garden of Higashi in Kyoto, by @japon
17: Kinkaku-ji, the temple of the Golden Pavilion in Kyoto, by @japon
18: Ryoan-ji, the amazing stone garden in Kyoto, by @japon
19: The Ninna-ji Temple and its extraordinary gardens, by @japon
20: Kyoto Gyoen, the Imperial Palace Park, by @japon
21: Nishiki Market: A Must in Kyoto, by @japon
22: Ginkaku-ji, the temple of the silver pavilion in Kyoto, by @japon
23: Meditate on the path of philosophy, by @japon
24: Nanzen-ji, its impressive gate and two gardens, by @japon
25: Heian-jinju: the big shrine and its garden that I almost missed, by @japon
26: Eikan-do, the temple of the momiji maples in Kyoto, by @japon
27: Kodai-ji, a Kyoto temple dedicated to a woman's love for her husband, by @japon
28: Sannenzaka and Ninenzaka, the streets of Higashiyama, by @japon
29: Kiyomizu-dera, the temple of pure water in Kyoto, by @japon
30: Tofuku-ji: the maple lookout point, by @japon
31: Makis, Yasaka-jinja Shrine and Maruyama Park, by @japon
32: Nijo Castle and its fabulous garden, by @japon
33:Departure for Osaka and its castle, and announcement of a typhoon, by @japon
34: Osaka, the garden Keitaku-en under a torrential rain, by @japon
35: Doguya-suji, the kitchen market in Osaka, by @japon

Sort:  

nothing beats wagyu in osaka. Still had fondle memories of the past with the gf (now wife) in japan. Great translation!

I guess sushi isn't such a bad replacement for beef if you're in Japan! lol Seems like a nice place with the canal, but that isn't a Luigi costume, that's Mario, Luigi is the green one ;)

that isn't a Luigi costume, that's Mario, Luigi is the green one

Yes, you are absolutely right.

I like it your post

I enjoyed reading your article.

Sushi its awesome in whole world who know about japanese cuisine its a life saving health package for whole humanity its anamazing and your post the way you express anything its outstanding everybody want to read it start to end

As always, the most exciting part for me is always the images. I really enjoy viewing other parts of the world. Been a minute since I read your posts, great job as always!

I really like the street atmosphere in Japan, photos to 4 and 7 are my favorites, I really enjoy your post sir. Cheers

Locations like this are great and can be fun to explore and find those little shops hidden in the alleyways. Love the brightness of the signs at night. I'm a night owl so I would enjoy this city a lot. Its hard to find something to due at night where I'm at now. Not much a night life around here. Thank yo for sharing @vcelier! Fantastic shots and good story to really put the mood on the photos you provide.

Hello. I liked your post! I used to live in Osaka, Japan. That big crab is famous and you took a picture of it! Thank you. I miss that crab...
日本は 楽しい 国です。私は 本当に 大阪が 好きですよ。はい,その地域では,できる唯一のことは ビールを飲むことです。

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62622.21
ETH 3446.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50