Heian-jinju: the big shrine and its garden that I almost missed, by @japon (tranlated from French)

in #travel6 years ago

This is an authorized translation in English of a post in French by @japon: Heian-jinju : le grand sanctuaire et son jardin que j’ai failli rater

As my primary language is not English, there are probably some mistakes in my translation.

Remember that the person that speaks here is NOT me, Vincent Celier (@vcelier), but @japon, a French guy.


Continuing my visit to the Higashiyama district, which really holds many treasures a few hundred meters from each other. I pass several temples and shrines less known, but I do not have time to see everything. Choices must be made, even if I admit that it is sometimes difficult to overlook some places that seem beautiful just by looking at the entrance.

I arrive at the Heian-Jingu Shrine, with its impressive architecture and vermilion red torii more than 25 meters high. The place is vast, even immense. A true historical marvel, this sanctuary is a reproduction of the ancient imperial palace, at the time of the Heian era.









Several buildings house museums that tell the story of this emblematic period of Japan. It's really beautiful, but is that all there is to see? I quickly go around, and get ready to continue my way to my next destination. I see a big map of the place, and I notice that there is a large park behind the sanctuary. Some people seem to enter through a small door on the left. I almost missed it, and it would have been really too bad!

If access to the sanctuary is free, the entrance to the garden costs 600 yen. The tour begins with alleys lined with sakura cherry trees. This is not the season of bloom so the place lacks a bit of charm but is still interesting. Several people are busy with the maintenance, picking up the leaves of these old cherry trees.









The garden is organized around several bodies of water, with lanterns, water lilies and lush vegetation. I do not hesitate to stray from the big paths to walk on small alleys formed of large stones.

Some groups of tourists arrive, breaking the silence of the place. But it's still big enough for it not to be disturbing. In several places, shelters are installed, with benches allowing a break on the edge of the ponds. The weather is gray but I imagine myself staying here, savoring a little freshness during the summer.



At one point, you can cross a pond while walking on large blocks of granite. You have certainly seen this scene in the film Lost In Translation, when Scarlett Johansson jumps on these big cylinders. In fact, the action of the film takes place in Tokyo and this scene was filmed in Kyoto. But I admit that this place symbolizes the image we have of Japan.



Some tourists look at me, I pay attention when crossing. The granite blocks are wet and slippery, I have with me my iPhone, my camera, if I fall, it is the disaster! The crossing is done without a hitch, some tourists applaud me!

I finally arrive at the edge of a large lake, and this impressive bridge! True culmination of the visit of the garden, masterpiece of architecture. It sits majestically, surrounded by trees, it is a real postcard landscape.









From the inside, the perspective is impressive. I understand why the Heian-Jingu Shrine is considered a jewel of Kyoto. A popular spot in the city, even outside the Hanami period (the contemplation of cherry blossoms), it is undeniably worth seeing. The Shinto shrine is beautiful, but all the beauty of the place is behind, and I almost missed it.

It is with all these beautiful images in mind, and the memory card of my busy camera, that I continue my discoveries of new treasures in Kyoto.

-- @japon


01: Travel diary in Japan, by @japon
02: Tokyo, overcrowded city? Really? by @japon
03: Are the Japanese too disciplined? by @japon
04: Going to Japan without speaking Japanese? by @japon
05: Ueno, more than just a big park in Tokyo, by @japon
06: Asakusa, diving in the heart of Tokyo's historic district, by @japon
07: Ameyoko, Ueno's colorful market, by @japon
08: Tsukiji, the largest fish market in the world, by @japon
09: Climb the steps of Atago Jinja Shrine in Tokyo, by @japon
10: Hama Rikyu, an exceptional park in the heart of Tokyo, by @japon
11: Jimbocho, old books and tempura, by @japon
12: Shinjuku Gyoen Park and the best burger in the world!, by @japon
13: One night in Shibuya, by @japon
14: Takeshita dori : this little street dedicated to fashion (and good crepes), by @japon
15: They lie to you about Kyoto, by @japon
16: The temples and secret garden of Higashi in Kyoto, by @japon
17: Kinkaku-ji, the temple of the Golden Pavilion in Kyoto, by @japon
18: Ryoan-ji, the amazing stone garden in Kyoto, by @japon
19: The Ninna-ji Temple and its extraordinary gardens, by @japon
20: Kyoto Gyoen, the Imperial Palace Park, by @japon
21: Nishiki Market: A Must in Kyoto, by @japon
22: Ginkaku-ji, the temple of the silver pavilion in Kyoto, by @japon
23: Meditate on the path of philosophy, by @japon
24: Nanzen-ji, its impressive gate and two gardens, by @japon

Sort:  

The vermillion red colour of paint chosen for the buildings of Heian-Jingu shrine nearly made my heart stop. I mean what a wonderful wonder. I never even knew there is a colour which goes by that name. I learn something new whenever I come to your blog @vcelier and that's one reason I will never stop coming.

The story is amazing and it does not even look like a translation. It looks like something that was written by you Celier. God bless you for this awesomeness.

Wow.. gret nice post The image of the fish has been painted very beautifully

It looks so historical,hope i could visit their once.

I hope that you wont pretend that youre tired tomorrow:P'

I habe been watching your amizing picture when you upload it. In #esteem application I put you on my favorit because I can learn from you from wrting side and photography side. And this picture very amazing @vcelier. Thanks for sharing us. God Bless You

What a great experience, @japon! Good thing you didn't miss it! Japanese gardens are always beautiful, and always have a way of calming your senses just by looking at it.

Thanks for sharing and also thanks to you @vcelier for the translation.

good post Congratulations

You have given the best for friends disteemit.ini result of your hard work. a very beautiful photo I'm sure a lot of people who like your post.

Excelente fotografias, me gusta tu post.

old buildings but still very sturdy@vcelier

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60191.28
ETH 3302.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36