Visiting Benigil Caves Portugal and How to get there.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Benagil Caves.jpg

Today I visited Benagil Caves in Algarve Region of Portugal. I'm staying in the city of Portimao which is about 15km to the Benagil Caves. So my original plan was to rent a scooter and drive it there. But it is November right now and a lot of the stores are closed because it's their slow season including the scooter rental I was going to rent from.

So your best bet may just be to call an uber or taxi. My fare was less than 20 euros. And from my research, there were no buses that go to Benagil Caves or anywhere close to it.

Upon arriving to Benagil Beach you will see this sign to the Taruga Benagil Boat Tours.
This is the closest option for a boat tour at Benagil Beach however you will not be allowed to get out of the boat and explore the caves. They basically ride in, take a few moments to get a peak and the continue of their tour to some other caves. So if you specifically want to explore the cave and take pictures I suggest you rent one of their paddle boards. At this time it cost 15 euro for 45mins to rent the paddle board. But I would check their website as prices may fluctuate.

Tip: Bring cash as Taruga does not accept credit/debit cards, and there is not an ATM machine within walking distance.

IMG_4484.JPG

IMG_4485.JPG

IMG_4504.JPG

Benagil Beach is quite small with only about 60-100 yards of beach shore surrounded by cliffs.

IMG_4507.JPG

Facing the ocean you paddle approximately 200-300 feet to the left, and it's the first inlet you see. It took me less than ten minutes paddling there, but the water was very calm. On the map below I marked where the cave entry is.

IMG_4513.JPG

Looking back at the shore from the paddle board.
IMG_4488.JPG

IMG_4487.JPG

IMG_4492.JPG

Once you get in the cave the waves and undertow are a little stronger. there were two other guys that swam there (Although I do not advise unless you are a good swimmer.) After rummaging around marveling at this natural wonder and taking photos, a couple of other people came in on paddle boards. One couple just had a pool float that they used to hang on to swim there.

Benagil Caves.jpg

DSC02605.jpg

Sort:  

Wow, very beautiful place i would like to Take pictures there

@florian-glechner Thanks, I hope you will some day!

Hi @unomas! I liked Your journey to the caves. Very interesting photos. Thanks for Your detailed explanation. It is really surprisingly to see that there are difficulties to get there on a weekend day . I think that this information could be useful. Caves Benigil very beautiful. And , Yes, I liked Your post about visiting Steemfest2 in Lisbon. You are lucky that this amazing Steemians meeting took place in Your country. I wish You success on Steemit!

Thanks, I actually live in the US, this is just an extended vacation for me.

looks like a chilling place.
would have loved to see your pictures in it though.

thanks for sharing

Thanks @ewuoso, most of the picture I took inside are pretty much the same framing as the wide shot, so since they where so similar I decided not to share. Maybe when I get to a stop on my tour I can upload a few more.

I did just upload a video to youtube and another photo.

its cool. i will be back in 7 days. make sure you have a good post ready

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62928.79
ETH 2465.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55