Banff National Park with a glimpse of Aurora Borealis (Northern Lights)

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Last summer I had the opportunity to visit Banff National Park in Alberta Canada for the first time. Prior to my visit I really didn't know what to expect. All I had to go by were the numerous photos I have seen online. After a little research, I decided it was a good excuse to get out of the city and embark on a little nature trip. So I found the cheapest ticket I could to Calgary, Canada, rented a car and headed toward the Canadian Rockies.

As I was arriving in the city of Banff the sun was about to set, and it was starting to sprinkle, so I decided to head to my campsite. After the rain started to settle I decided to check out Lake Minnewanka since it was close by.

DSC01058.jpg

This is the view driving on Lake Minnewanka Scenic Dr before approaching the lake.
(Map Marker 1)

DSC01063.jpg

Boat Dock at Lake Minnewanka
(Map Marker 2)

DSC01074.jpg

Overlooking Lake Minnewanka
(Map Marker 2)

DSC01089.jpg

Lake Minnewanka at Water Level
(Map Marker 2)

After checking out Lake Minnewanka it was starting to get dark so I headed back to the campsite to get some rest and prepare for an early start the next day to explore more of what Banff had to offer.

After getting a good night sleep, I make my way toward the city of Banff to get a quick breakfast before driving West on Trans-Canada Highway 1 toward Lake Louise.

DSC00764.jpg

I stop to take this picture of Castle Mountain near Castle Junction
(Map Marker 3)

After about 40mins of driving, I arrive at this majestic beauty!

Banff Lake 1.jpg

Lake Louise in the Morning
(Map Marker 4)

DSC01126.jpg

Lake Louise in the Morning
(Map Marker 4)

DSC00794.jpg

Canoe Rentals on Lake Louise
(Map Marker 4)

Next on the agenda is to visit Lake Moraine.

Lake Moriane Bottom-2.jpg

Lake Moraine from ground level
(Map Marker 5)

I don't think I have ever seen a lake with this deep of a blueish green color before, it was simply a natural wonder to me. I decided to hike up to an overlook as I spot some other people viewing from a small peak.

DSC01097.jpg
Lake Moraine from Bird's Eye View
(Map Marker 5)

Lake Moriane from Rocks.jpg

Lake Moraine from Bird's Eye View
(Map Marker 5)

After a couple of hours, I decided to go back to the town where Lake Louise is to grab a bite to eat and then find a trail to hike. I decided I would try and hike to Lake Agnes Tea House.

DSC01008_alt.jpg

Mirror Lake on the hiking trail toward Lake Anges Tea House
(Map Marker 6)

IMG_8648.JPG

While taking a sit down break at Mirror Lake I meet a new friend.

So the hike is pretty steep and I am a little out of shape, I decided not to finish the hike to Lake Agnes Tea House. Even though it was only another mile of hiking, I was underestimating the terrain. I figured I could get a couple more snap shots of Lake Louise and wait until nightfall to try and get some night shots of the milky way.

DSC01044.jpg

More shots of Lake Louise
(Map Marker 4)

As midnight approaches I head back toward Lake Moraine to practice some astrophotography. I fiddled for about an hour taking some long exposures of the Milkyway and I just couldn't get a picture I was really happy with. Sometimes the shots are there and the weather is cooperating with you. I just wasn't having a lot of luck. So I figured I would wait a little longer as my iphone app said the best time to see the Milkyway was about one more hour away. After waiting I still was not able to get a good shot of the Milkyway with a deep contrast like I wanted. So I figured I would just mess around and shoot the sky in the opposite direction. I'm glad I did, or I would not have been able to capture this picture.

DSC00899-Edit-2.jpg

Northern Lights at Lake Moraine
(Map Marker 5)

Although I could not see the Northern Lights with my naked eye, I was able to capture it with a long exposure. This was definitely the highlight of the trip as it was my first time seeing the Aurora Borealis (Northern Lights). Quite the magical moment. Well worth the wait, I was happy with what I was able to capture so I head back to the campsite and await the next day's offerings.

I decided to hang out in the city of Banff the next day and just check out the city itself and walk around. Didn't really use my time to take a bunch of photos, but I end this trip with a drive down Vermilion Lakes Road.

DSC00910-Pano.jpg

Panorama of Vermilion Lakes
(Sorry I forgot to put a Map Marker, but they are located right next to the City of Banff)

My experience at Banff National Park is one I will never forget. With mind blowing beautiful lakes and mountain ranges, I highly recommend it to anybody that enjoys nature. By far one of the most beautiful National Parks that I have had the pleasure to visit.

Gear

  • Sony a6300
  • iPhone 6
  • Sony 16-50mm Kit Lens
  • Rokinon 12mm f/2.0

Software

  • Adobe Lightroom CC
  • Adobe Photoshop CC
  • Affinity Photo 1.5.2
  • PhotoPills
  • DarksiteFinder

Map.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks for checking out my post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63182.56
ETH 3083.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83