Two Nights on a Duck Farm in North Carolina - BEWARE THE ATTACK GEESE! 🦆

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Ducks are so funny,” I muse aloud, reclining on the mattress in the loft of our private little cabin. Outside, the duck farm is dark and quiet.

Dancing Ducks Farm Cabin.jpg

“Ducks aren’t as funny as cows," Nash says. He lies next to me, very still. “Cows are funnier, funner, cuddlier, easier to take care of, and make better products.”

“I agree with you on all those points except for the funnier part. Ducks go like this.” I shuffle my shoulders back and forth in a waddling motion and make quacking noises.

Nash is unamused. “Well, cows walk in a line. That's super funny.”

I roll my eyes. “That’s a terrible argument. Ducks are known for walking in lines! Haven’t you seen those duckling crossing signs?”

“Well, I don’t have to think ducks are funny,” Nash snaps. “You’re the one who likes them and it was your idea to come here!”

I sit up and rub my boyfriend’s too-tense back. “Woah there… I thought this was a silly fake argument. Are you ok?

He’s silent for a while before fessing up.

“I’m afraid to go to the bathroom.”

It’s a sensible fear. To use the outhouse, we have to climb down the rickety ladder and into the cold. This part of the Blue Ridge Mountains is a designated International Dark Sky Place and the farm is strewn with random supplies, so it’s easy to stub your toe in the night.

But the biggest risk is that the guard geese might be out of their coop. They tend to lurk like dinosaurs around the outhouse with a cold indifference in their eyes.

Goose by Outhouse

You may be thinking, “What’s the big deal? All a goose can do is peck you.” Get back to me when a big ole gander is sprinting straight toward you with his neck outstretched. Maybe then you will understand what fear is.

Angry Goose

To stop a charging goose, you must dig deep within your soul and believe that you are more badass than the goose. Then, you stoop down, throw your arms wide, and walk toward the hissing beak of death.

It’s not an easy thing to do with a full bladder.

Video demonstration of what not to do:

Nash’s trepidation goes beyond using the bathroom, however. He’s been on edge since we first arrived.

When we pulled into Duck Dance Farm, we didn’t know where to park. Nash was focused on not running over any waterfowl when a man came sprinting out of the house, waving his arms around and screaming “NOT MY HOSES!!! You’re driving over my hoses!”

That was our introduction to Andrew, one of the owners of the farm. Nash's nerves were understandably shot, and we apologized for not noticing the hoses.

After Andrew breathlessly made sure we hadn’t done any damage, he showed us around the farm.

It soon became clear that Andrew loves his ducks.

He raises five endangered breeds, each with their own history and temperaments and care requirements. The largest ducks were the friendliest, and he greeted each of them by name and pointed out their individual personalities.

Cat with Saxony Ducks
Tsunami the cat hanging out with Saxony ducks.

Around Andrew, the Big Bad Guard Geese turned into docile pets. The gander waddled over with a happy honk and nuzzled his beak into Andrew's side.

“I raised this guy by hand,” Andrew explained. “He used to sit inside my jacket while I worked on the computer.”

The American Buff goose glared at us, about to charge again, but Andrew calmed him with a word. The bird was just doing his job, keeping the other ducks safe from would-be predators.

Herding Geese
The goose whisperer at work.

The other owner, Pat, invited us to try her duck bacon and duck eggs for breakfast, made sure what got settled in, then set us loose to explore.

I could have spent all 48 hours just watching the ducks paddle around the permaculture ponds - after all, my very first word was "duck". To spare Nash from my obsession, we hiked to Roaring Fork Falls in the rain and through the wilderness around Mount Mitchell.

Waterfall Split.jpg

Back in the cabin on that second night, I turn my Kindle to its brightest setting and shine it out the window to light Nash's way. He walks past warily, the Milky Way spilling over his head.

No geese come flapping out of the darkness, and he pees in safety.

When we drive out the next day, I pull over at one of the neighboring farms so we can watch the cows. Not everyone would put up with their girlfriend dragging them to an Appalachian duck farm, so Nash deserves a reward. And I have to admit that cows are pretty funny too.

Cow Farm North Carolina

Thanks for reading! All words and photos are mine. Duck Dance Farms just relocated to New Mexico so Andrew could help care for his aging parents. However, Asheville and the surrounding mountains are a beautiful part of the United States to visit even without being surrounded by endangered ducks!
- Katie, @therovingreader

!steemitworldmap 35.827361 lat -82.210460 long Learn about duck husbandry and how to stop a charging goose at Duck Dance Farm in the Blue Ridge Mountains. D3SCR <--SteemitWorldMap
Sort:  

Geese are evil....i belive them to be the messengers from the devil itself. Horrible creatures. I was attacked more then once and if anyone ever asks me what guard dog to get I always say: just get a pack of geese.

We just lost a duck a few days ago. :/ We had to tie down the dog (because we got a complaint some other dog was in heat and my fathers dog wanted to be a part of the action of course)....so the dog was tied. A tied dog at my fathers place means one duck less. :( The fox got her. Her male compainion that survived is so sad now...breaks my heart.

test1.gif

If you are going to use it, open it in another tab first....cuz the comment resizes it.

Oh my god, thank you! That is super cute - I'll be sure to credit you for your work. I feel the urge to go show it to Mr. Bumblepoppy right now haha.

I'm so sorry to hear about your duck. :( They are so sweet and funny and have such strong bonds with their flock, so I can only imagine how the male feels. Sounds like the dog does a good job guarding when he can, just like those meany geese.

Yes...my father doesn't belive in neutering and he is a really great watch dog. Trully. But the nature for breeding is stronger. :) I did suggest my father to neuter the dog....would be way less complications, since he needs the dog to be lose to be effective and he wouldnt stroll of time to time. But he just gets pissed at me lol.

No credit needed! Just wanted to "gift" you in some way!

Good night. :)

Can I take credit for the two of you discovering one another? I'd like to. ....The opening dialogue in this post is awesome. I also love the. "My hoses, you're running over my hoses! My beautiful hoses!" To completely misquote you from memory, but the way my mind created a scene in my head. I saw that guy and the day and you and your boyfriend, that's good writing.

Absolutely, you can! That guy was way into his hoses, but only because they provided water for his even more precious ducks - it was so alarming haha.

Geese are no joke. I used to frequent a park where people had fed the geese too much, so they were very greedy. Any time you even remotely got close to them with food, they would charge you.

Another time, when I was a kid, I remember one sneaking up and snatching a sandwich out of my hand. I think I was more upset about being startled than by the loss of the sandwich, but still. They're ruthless.

All this aside, the Asheville area is lovely. Really anywhere in the Blue Ridge Mountains is a gorgeous place to be. The Mount Mitchell area also has a lot of great waterfalls and natural attractions, which I'm sure you're aware of. I'm originally from NC, so my family took many trips through the mountains seeing what we could see.

You also introduced me to @steemitworldmap, which is a really neat feature, so thanks for that! I'm going to go add my latest post, which actually isn't far from yours!

Thanks for sharing!

Haha, you definitely know the fear, and it's so much worse when you're a kid. For every time I've gotten along with with a goose in my life, there was another goose who just spat or pecked at me for no discernible reason.

I loved Asheville! It was my first time in NC, definitely a relaxing and beautiful area that I hope to revisit in the future. And yes! I'm looking forward to seeing more cool pins on that map.

There's a park where I lived as a child full of peacocks and ducks. I used to go there to read all the time and I loved having the birds around. I always brought some bread to feed them and as soon as I got in the park I had a line of ducks and peacocks following me impatiently to get some bread and they fought for every tiny piece of it.
Ducks are fierce and I respect that. Cows are cool too, but ducks are way cooler.
Btw, how was the duck bacon? It sounds great

I used to read with the ducks too. :) I didn't actually partake of their bacon, sadly. I decided to stick with being vegetarian, even though the ducks clearly live a good life.

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team.
If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot.
An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

Curation yay! I accept, thanks for the nom.

I felt so bad for all the people in the video, but at the same time was laughing to the point of tears. Geese can break bones with their wings though- they are pretty fierce.
Fun fact, my little brothers first word was also "duck" but that was NOT what he was trying to say lol. He couldn't pronounce the f sound until he was 5.

Hahaha, your brother sounds like a firecracker. It looked like a lot of the people in the video were just hurting themselves when they kept tripping and falling in their haste to get away - though I don't blame them!

oh my god, that's hilarious! 😂
and now I know what to do if some goose attacks, thank you!
what about this though? ->

That's almost exactly how the goose acted with Andrew! He could go from psycho to cuddlebug in a second, haha.

Congratulations. This post has featured in today's Muxxybot curation post.

https://steemit.com/curation/@muxxybot/muxxybot-curation-18

My kind of getaway! Love ducks just can't eat their eggs because I'm allergic to their eggs. But, they are fun to have around!

Oh no! At least you're not allergic to the ducks themselves. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63633.54
ETH 3477.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54