Our Rarotongan getaway - Day 3steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago

It was a Monday and the weather was still so bloody beautiful! Incredible.

Koka Lagoon Tours
We went on a full island experience with this one guys. It was awesome!! You start the tour in a glass bottom boat so you can see all the beautiful coral and fishys and the tour guides take us to the perfect snorkelling spot.

Its actually so interesting, the rarotongan locals actually built this lagoon from the bottom up. They produced a man-made reef to keep the bigger predators out and then they made a whole bunch of corals and within 10 years or so the corals were ginormous and flourishing which brought all the tropical fish in. They continue to keep the lagoon flourishing which in return brings more tourists like myself and the moolah $$$

The snorkelling spot where they took us was further out than we could have swimmed so it was incredible to see even bigger colourful fish!!

After the snorkelling, we were taken to this island which is where we had lunch (buffet style) also included in the lagoon tour. During lunch, we were lucky enough to have some awesome live entertainment from our tour guides - showing us how to correctly tie a sarong, husk and open coconuts and climb coconut trees in under 10secs. Bloody awesome!!

It did rain here and there during the day which was weird because it was still hot 😨 the water still looked beautiful but it was wet everywhere haha Great personality, awesome atmosphere and such welcoming people. And if you are a seafood eater (which I am not lol) you would have loved the food. Apparently the fish tasted like steak Sheri said. Overall an easy 9.5/10. Wicked!!


To hear their awesome musical island talent, watch my video here.


We had standup paddle boarding planned for tonight but it was raining and was super windy so we postponed it till thursday.

Palace Burgers
I've heard so many good things about this burger joint they have in Raro called Palace Burgers so we had to give it a crack. And holey shit. Their famous Palace Burger had double everything!! And I mean everything. Patties, coleslaw, eggs, bacon, pineapple, cheese... did I miss anything?! No one was willing to order the palace burger BUT my partner, Sheri 😝 And lemme tell ya, he smacked it.

My burger that I ordered was the chicken burger w/ extra cheese and bacon, no seafood sauce (which is the default sauce) but changed for tomato and mayo - Pretty much created my own burger but with the palace swing to it. Delicious!!

Super filling, super tasty and super bloody worth it. Straight tenner - 10/10


Day 3 done.

Check out my video of our Rarotongan getaway here.


And please check out my other Rarotonga posts.

Sort:  

sounds lovely and warm

So very lovely and warm. Much like the opposite of NZ right now haha

So many kiwis were in Raro, were just running away from the cold 😂 come join us @kiwiscanfly!

Oh my goodness that burger looks amazing! I'm so hungry right now I reckon I could totally give it a good home!
I might have to start saving for a family holiday there in the next couple of years.
Was there lots of food that wasn't seafood? Like you, I'm so not a fan of anything fish related!

There was actually a good selection of non-seafood food and were so delicious!!

When you do go there, definitely without a doubt, check out Vili Burgers - and when youre there, my favourite was the Muri Burger. My favourite meal the whole trip. We get to that later on through the Raro trip but holey moley, may be the best thing I have ever tasted, not sure!! haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98