Our Rarotongan getaway - Day 2steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Woke up Sunday morning and it was such a beautiful day.

It was funny, I was like "Huh, where Sheri??" and what do ya know.. He's being bloody tarzan and got a coconut off the tree - He found a machete too (a little worrying) and smashed it open. As you can see, no consideration for his safety whatsoever and now looking back - He most definitely could have chopped his bloody fingers off. Praise the Rarotongan lord above 👏


Snorkeling
I usually hate the ocean, not knowing exactly what you might come across, small or big, in the big blue ocean makes me poop my undies. 💩 But we went snorkelling in the lagoon and it was bloody awesome!!

Raro's waters are literally as clear as glass, no weeds just beautiful coloured fish and awesome coral everywhere. The reef prevents from any sharks and other dangerous sealife to come into the lagoon so all the beautiful fish are protected. And so are we. I loved it so much, I was one of the last out of the water and am definitely going back tomorrow.


Locals Territory
After the snorkelling, we thought we'd take a drive around the whole island - We found that there is actually one road which goes around the outside of the island, mainly for all the tourists, and another road which goes through the middle of the island which all the locals use.

Driving along the local road, its quite amazing to see the island right from the heart. In amongst the native bush life, its a whole different feel from being in the "designated tourist area"


Cocoputt - Ale House
For dinner we went to this place called Cocoputt - Ale House. We had a game of mini putt and we were able to drink during, which I thought that was pretty awesome. After our game we were seated and awaited a full course buffet meal, Rarotongan style 😁

And even though I am super picky, what I did eat was so so yummy!! We had live entertainment during our feast and just awesome local personality. Definitely an overall 9/10.


Day 2 done.

Check out my video of our Rarotongan getaway here.


And please check out my other Rarotonga posts.

Sort:  

Great post :)

Amazing😊 love it. So colorful @thereceptionist

Thank you! 😊 Raro is such a beautiful place, covered with vibrant colour. My photos do it no justice.

That looks so pretty! Wow, sounds amazing. I'm the same as you when it comes to swimming in the ocean....not a huge fan. But if the water is clear that might be better.
OMG about the machete! Hahaha! So dangerous! And was it just lying around for anyone to use! Haha!

😂 Yeah, Sheri said the machete was just on the lawn... but then I'm not 100% sure he was being honest about that haha dodgy critter!!

But yes, if you are like me when it comes to the ocean - definitely go to Raro! I wouldnt dare go snorkelling in the waters of NZ because the weeds for one scare the living shit out of me haha no weeds. no nothing. I where glasses and I could see everything underwater, its soo clear!! 😄

Haha that's hilarious! My partner thinks I'm nuts because I have a weird phobia of seaweed! I hate it, it's just gross! Raro sounds like the place to go!

Traveling and making money online sounds like a good life to me.

I know right! Gotta do what makes you happy 😁

Omgg!! 🌴 It really was - And just so crystal clear it felt like I was floating in a dream with all the pretty fishys 🐠

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63310.58
ETH 2680.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58