Weekend trip to London

in #travel6 years ago

Welcome back! This will be my last post about my university exchange to the UK for now. Meanwhile, whilst writing these last few blogs, I've been working on a bigger multiple parts blog about my month of traveling through Guatemala and Belize. I can't wait to share it with you people!

In this last one, I want to show you some things about my trip to London. Honestly, a visit to London cannot be skipped if you're visiting the UK for a longer period.

P1010572-.jpg
Tower bridge by night

P1010565-.jpg
Tower bridge by night from the other side

The semester was almost coming to an end and we still wanted to do a weekend trip to London. Since London is just around 170 kilometers away from Coventry, we figured out the cheapest way was with some low budget bus company. Also, we booked the cheapest hostel we could find in London since we were only planning to sleep there anyway. Our bus was leaving early in the morning from some unknown shopping centre. To get there we grabbed a cab near the train station and hopped on the bus. A few hours later we arrived in London, the biggest city you will find in the UK.

Since just 1 of us had ever visited the city before, we wanted to try and see everything of the city during our weekend. So we walked and we walked and looked: Buckingham Palace, Big Ben, Palace of Westminster, London Eye, Tower of London, Tower Bridge, Piccadilly Circus etc. etc. I guess all these places speak for themselves so I can better show you some of the pics I shot.

P1010522-.jpg
Palace of Westminster

P1010544-.jpg
Tower of London

Big BenThe Shard
P1010520-.jpgP1010554-.jpg

After a good meal and some beers, we looked for the hostel. It was somewhere in Kensington, but the description on the website was really shit. After walking around a bit we finally found the hostel and it matched the description like a glove. Cheap and there is always a party. As was the case when we stayed there. Supposedly someone was throwing a birthday party no one seemed to know who was the birthday boy/girl. Anyway, the room was shit as well, some bunk beds with really bad mattresses and to top it off, a portable shower cabin in the middle of the room. I mean.. really! Anyway, we weren't complaining, I mean what can you expect for just 10 Pounds a night right!

P1010579-.jpg
London Eye

P1010562-.jpg
Millenium Bridge with St Paul's Cathedral in the background

The next morning we grabbed the shitty breakfast and took a second one at Starbucks. We had the crazy idea to check out Harrods, which is a major warehouse in London. Since it was the beginning of December and Harrods just launched the Christmas collection, there was an enormous queue of people waiting for the place to open up. We took another coffee on the opposite of the street and watched to queue grow even bigger.

After our visit (together with a few thousands of others) to Harrods, we checked out Park and the Financial District. Since it was weekend the Financial District was pretty deserted but nevertheless pretty nice if you're into architecture.

P1010557-.jpg
In the Financial District, you will also find some older buildings

P1010588-.jpg
Buckingham Palace

At the end of our second day, we grabbed the bus back to Coventry and, of course, closed it off with some beers in the local pub.

Hope you enjoyed reading this as much as I did writing it. London is a really beautiful city with so many things to see. Although we walked everything, I do suggest taking an underground now and then isn't such a bad thing for your feet! And if you don't mind sleeping on a mattress from the year 1900 mixed with some loud party noises, I've got a cheap address for you to spend the night.

If you enjoy my work, please consider upvoting it and follow me for more travel blogs around the world. Also, check out my Steepshot account for more travel-related photos!

Cheers, Stephan

Steemit banner.jpg

If you’re interested in any of my previous work, feel free to check it out:

!steemitworldmap 51.512146 lat -0.101605 long London d3scr

Sort:  

Dude the Londen pictures are sooo decent, super curious about what you are gonna give us out of Guatamala and Belize (the blue hole??

And did you find out if steepshot can be used separately from steemit? Curious still! Groeten!

Thanks! I'm sorry in advance but I did not visit the blue hole haha. Although it will be an experience, It was so overpriced (diving there). But maybe some other time ;D But both countries have a lot of other amazing things as well!

I can not find any other way to separate the posts than creating a new account, so that's what I did. I post daily snaps on that one now and keep this one for my blogs! You can find it here.

Smart I guess! It would get mixed up too much otherwise. Good solution!

WOW. Just WOW. I am so envious of your travels! Some day I hope that my husband and I can visit Europe and I definitely want to visit London! Thank you for sharing your adventures and amazing photos!

Great post!
@byn

I'm following you now so I can see more of your adventure!

Thank you! Europe has so many nice things to see. I read your introduction and still don't know which of the 10 sentences is falls. I hope it's not the one with the 1 year living on a sailboat because I'm pretty curious if you did like it in the end or not? Did you also sail a lot during that year?

Nice photo's of london. I've never been there but it's sure something on my bucketlist.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=steef-05
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=weekend-trip-to-london


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

You got a 1.08% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @steef-05!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by steef-05 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97