Roadtrip: Scottish Highlands Part Four

in #travel6 years ago (edited)


Other articles in the series:
Roadtrip: Scottish Highlands Part One
Roadtrip: Scottish Highlands Part Two
Roadtrip: Scottish Highlands Part Three

I had agreed to get @goblinknackers some scotch from the Talisker distillery, and so after a full and very unhealthy breakfast we packed our sparse belongings, took a few more shots of the Kyleakin surroundings, before making our way into Skye proper.

ldpvqir6hv.jpg

fpg2m5cjby.jpg

dx2k4w1edi.jpg

It was a 60 mile round trip to the Talisker distillery, so I hope you appreciate it @goblinknackers!

2kpv5xu99h.jpg

The roads were mostly 60MPH ones and for the first few miles we made good time, but then the terrain became most mountainous, with windy roads going up and down and around these huge peaks.

vfks9d0idj.jpg

6shytism1t.jpg

The further into Skye we went, the worse the weather it seemed. So far, it had been blue skies and little else. Clouds hung over these enormous peaks and made for some stunning photography. There were few others on the roads, but the people we saw were pulling over to take shots too.

ixa0ot5owb.jpg

The distillery is on the far side of the village of Carbost, and is at the bottom of a rather steep road. The weather here was verging on rain and you can see all the low clouds forming over Loch Harport.

prq63yaled.jpg

xo70po2zys.jpg

8jehvyw1tr.jpg

We arrived reasonably early and the tourists were already starting to flock. The visitor car park is quite small, but we managed to get a spot. Inside was a typical tourist affair, the whiskies lined up one on side, and tours available at £10 each, or kids at £5.

gw7hdn708w.jpg

I can’t really imagine an 8 year old wanting a swig of Taliskar Storm or Skye though it is included in the tour. We skipped the tour as we were short on time.

h95tny154z.jpg

wtic35t8rz.jpg

Most of these spirits are available in the shops and supermarkets. I was looking for something more exclusive and found a limited edition run of 6000 bottles at a cool £90. This is what @goblinknackers was looking for, him being a collector of these limited editions.

0z1svsimh3.jpg

Having grabbed one, we headed out and back to the Scottish mainland. I didn’t buy any whisky at the point. Another customer mentioned to us, ‘These are £25 in Tesco, don’t buy them here’, while pointing to the large bottles of Taliskar Skye and Storm.

We found out later that this was in fact not true. The prices are pretty much the same. I guess the supermarkets have these distilleries over a barrel regarding costs and mark-up. No pun intended.

I noticed the further we got to the mainland, the better the weather. Good! We don’t get this kind of extended good weather in the UK and I was thinking we were going to be cursed with rain and grey skies again.

klewn38mmj.jpg

Having passed Eilean Donan castle the day before, we were not going to miss this famous landmark again. Arriving at 11am, the tourists were in full flow and the sky was blue again.

Several movies have been shot at this castle, the most famous being the original Highlander starring Sean Connery and Christopher Lambert.

While Highlander is a work of fiction, the castle is very real and looks just like it does in this YouTube clip that is scenes from the movie that incorporate the castle.

I don’t know how many photographs I took, but it was a LOT. I have never seen such a picturesque castle before, and so we paid the admission fee and headed into the grounds.

h70nj6slzt.jpg

Unfortunately there were quite a lot of tourists around, with it being a lovely day as well as a weekend one.

43ycnws37z.jpg

r2vhpm4fkj.jpg

xxesqodvlv.jpg

g2imfj9j2p.jpg

djqpv5yjb6.jpg

1oynmlpbkj.jpg

65y41ujyff.jpg

The outside areas, we could photograph, but the inside ones we could not. I could see why as the main castle area contained several very old oil paintings.

There was quite a lot to the interior, many floors, narrow passages, very steep winding steps as you would normally expect from a 12th century building.

The history of this one is extensive, but until the early 1900’s it was a ruin and was salvaged and bought by a private owner. You can see some of the brickwork is obviously not 800 years old, but it doesn’t really detract from the sense of ancientness and history that has happened here.

x3dc4ib8iz.jpg

f1l98jieki.jpg

tl1ozu8ah6.jpg

pku6ii9d74.jpg

I looked out over the Loch and felt what others must have hundreds of years ago. Anticipation of the invading Vikings arriving, to conquer, pillage and rape the locals. Thankfully it didn’t happen that day.

99ddptcx73.jpg

The kitchen was the most interesting room. Lifelike pieces of meat, fruit, banquet food, ducks, rabbits, pigs hung up and waiting to be cooked and a very real stern looking lady making sure you didn’t take any snaps.

I did check out the realistic meat when she was distracted and found it not surprisingly to be plastic. They did a great job with those models.

I made the decision not to break the rules and steal some snaps, though there were no paintings in this room. I didn’t want to get thrown out.

There were no boasting rights about the famous movies that were shot inside the castle. Apparently,’ The World is Not Enough’ Bond Movie has some footage there too!

053p5mwlu5.jpg

Visiting Eilean Donan was the highlight of the trip, it is simply something that is out of the past, has that atmosphere and character but is somehow still with us. It did not disappoint and I will always remember my visit.

This post was created in #esteem thanks @good-karma

All Photographs were taken by myself.


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

Awesome photos @slobberchops, it's always been my dream to visit the Scottish highland castles & lochs, beautiful!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 191 (7/10/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

I am a little disappointed @slobberchops, everyone knows that rules are meant to be broken otherwise they wouldn't make them in the first place. Other than that, great post. I feel like I am riding along as your shadow on this trip, where are we headed next?

Just one more and its done. The people in there were really strict, one per room. As much as I had liked to, I daren't take any snaps.

Such beautiful scenery along the way and Love that castle, I think a few years back when I did enjoy the odd shot of Whiskewy someone nbrought me one of there Bittles was quite good from what I remember

If I were rich enough to buy a castle I’d very much like one like that...but with real meat in the kitchen .

Very cool. I have always been fascinated by castles since I was a little kid. You took some really great pictures. It would be interesting to see some of the oil paintings that they have inside. Was it well furnished inside or mostly just empty and cold stone?

It was fully furnished, a great place to live if I could persuade the occupants to sell cheaply.

Wow you actually got to see the castle of Duncan Macleod. I could almost hear bagpipes from your photos. The scenery is breathtaking. I could only imagine seeing a real castle an awesome experience you had.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=slobberchops
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=roadtrip-scottish-highlands-part-four-059cfb20ff166est


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Looks like the roads haven't improved much from the time I visited with my family at the age of 17. I'd just learned to drive, and my dad was my driving instructor, so he let me drive a few times. I remember having to keep my cool while driving along one of those roads when suddenly a herd of sheep started absent-mindedly tumbling off a hillside and onto the road.
Most of that holiday was spent sitting in the car eating Spam sarnies while the rain lashed against the windows.

This was the only place the weather went a bit crap, elsewhere it was lovely. The state of the roads was surprisingly good in terms of holes. They are worse in England.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 9 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 9 SBD worth and should receive 133 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00