Clitheroe Castle

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

Several weeks ago, @dismayedworld needed a haircut and wanted to try this fancy Vidal Sassoon lookalike place in Clitheroe, only minus the ridiculous fees.

Having dumped her with the Salonist I had 90 minutes to kill and thought about climbing up to my teenage haunt, the castle.

IMG_6071.jpg

I spent days wandering around Clitheroe in my misguided youth, thanks to my father who forced me to accompany him at his markets in the late '70s.

While that is another story, the thought of seeing the old fort 40 years later was not filling me with much expectation.

IMG_6057.jpg

It dates back to the 11th century and is described as the second smallest surviving stone-built keep in England and the work of the Norman’s.

IMG_6060.jpg

My memory from circa 1977 is, enter the keep, a stench of urine enters your nostrils, turn 90 degrees to the right, exit the keep, and breathe freely.

There are some other outbuildings connected to the grounds, that I failed to break into when I was a monstrous teenager, but that’s about it.

What I would have done if I had succeeded I really don’t know. I wasn’t one for nicking lead and selling it to the local scrapper.

IMG_6061.jpg

It was a really shitty day and threatening to rain as I climbed the steps for my walk down memory lane and I was expecting a drenching.

IMG_6058.jpg

The outhouses are quite grand but were likely built after the original fort was.

IMG_6059.jpg

This was my view over Pendle Hill, famous for it's medieval witches, it wasn’t looking pleasant.

The story of the Pendle witches is a notorious and well-documented example of cases brought against alleged witches in 17th-century England. The hill continues to be associated with witchcraft; large numbers of visitors climb it every Halloween, although in recent years people have been discouraged by the authorities.

IMG_6062.jpg

Apologies for the dark photographs, it really was about to downpour, but amazingly did not!

IMG_6063.jpg

They have built a little café here but it didn’t seem to be open. That was my escape plan thwarted if the heavens did decide to open.

IMG_6064.jpg

I walked the steps up to the keep and found very little had changed, except the floor inside has been re-laid and the smell of piss was missing. I was preparing to be gassed again so that was something positive!

IMG_6066.jpg

IMG_6068.jpg

IMG_6067.jpg

IMG_6065.jpg

The bottom entrance looks like it could have been a doorway, but what of the top?

Was that the work of a cannonball, the ventilation system of the Normans, or even perhaps a rather large window to ensure the captain could see the enemies approaching?

IMG_6070.jpg

There are some nice views from the top, but due to the high winds and my personal vertigo issues, I was struggling to get some shots.

IMG_6069.jpg

That’s the bandstand down at the bottom. It was not used in the '70s and little has changed.

IMG_6073.jpg

IMG_6072.jpg

IMG_6075.jpg

IMG_6076.jpg

In times of old, this may have been the conqueror's route to the keep. Grab the bushes and haul yourself up.

While I did manage to kill 90 minutes walking through this piece of history that us English take for granted, I could not really say it was good to be back.

IMG_6078.jpg

IMG_6079.jpg

IMG_6077.jpg

My memories of Clitheroe are not particularly fond ones, and I really don’t want to go there on a public blog.

At least I now have some snaps of the place, albeit dark and dismal ones.


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

Dang 90 minutes? I take the clippers to my head every week and I am done in about 90 seconds! Those are some awesome shots despite the weather being pretty crappy. Thankfully, I don't think I have any places like this that I would be apprehensive about going back to. It's nice that they have cleaned the place up a bit from when you remember it. I think there was that period in 90's? when worldwide we really started to embrace our heritage and you saw a lot of places like this being restored and cleaned up.

She's a long haired one.. you know the kind.. with all that hair!

The floor was mud, and gravel back then... as well as the pools of piss in the corners. They have made some effort and placed some paving inside now but it's still one of the crappiest castles I have seen. Then again... it's still a castle and not all towns here boast one.

That's funny, here neither :) I guess it is easy to be more jaded than us when you just have them lying about the place there.

Well... they are not exactly hanging out of my back pocket.. but yeah, not uncommon. Its Easter this weekend so we will try and find one that's a little better than.. erm.. this one.

Awesome! I look forward to reading about it!

Nifty little castle to explore. Although my knees are complaining just from thinking about all the up and down.

Thanks for sharing, even if it didn't bring back pleasant memories.

I have been up much taller ones, depends how your knees are compared to mine I guess. It was better to come here than muck about in shops for 90 mins, and I get a story too :)

Jesus mate, curb your enthusiasm!

Maybe you need a bigger one?

Posted using Partiko Android

Even my non-STEEM readers seem to like the dry humour.. so I added some extra to this one.. hehe..

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 460 (04/18/19)

Well I'm glad your shared this, even if it was just too say, "Oi, this Castle is shit, innit!"

Posted using Partiko Android

LOL, we have so many of these that we do take them for granted somewhat.

What an amazing piece of history to explore! The lack of urine was refreshing, Im sure. ;)

Love the photos, even though the day was gray! Thanks for posting so we could all look at it! What a cool castle!

I guess it's cool to some! It is old I will give it that.. there's just very little inside..

Well, where I live there are zero castles... so yep! Neat to me!

I really like those old stones! You can just feel the age about them. BTW I am not big on sketchy heights either!

Oh yes, old it is.. there is no question there!

wow, buildings of ancient designs look so beautiful. thanks for sharing

I have been around Clitheroe before but never spotted this, it’s a relatively small castle but quaint and at least they have cleaned it up a bit for visitors. It’s aged well after all those years, many would have crumbled into ruins in that time.

Posted using Partiko iOS

It's hard to miss and is in a very central location. Surprised you haven't seen it before now.

My memory of that landscape is high winds, "fresh" at best. I went on several walks to Pendle Hill, there are ceremonies there at Easter as well as Halloween. I can't remember if we ever called into Clitheroe, but it would have been the kind of place we went for a tea-shop. I quite like that castle, it's staggering the amount of work that would have gone into it with very basic tools and equipment.

There's plenty of tea shops as well as the 'chains' appearing in Clitheroe though the locals don't approve of that. Pendle can be nice if it's not like this day was, and I have climbed it several times.

While I have seen some wrecked castles before, this is the smallest ever. At least there is no charge to look!

That's true!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68745.77
ETH 3744.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76