Visiting The Subaru STI Museum & Dealership In Tokyo - Highlights Of Traveling Japan

in #travel7 years ago

I was lucky enough to be able to squeeze in a visit to the Mitaka STI Museum & Dealership during our trip to Japan. This adventure was literally my top priority while on our trip, I had read about the Museum online and I'm a Subaru enthusiast. My current Subaru is a 2002 WRX wagon < BUGEYE >

On the first floor, the dealership is pretty standard. But if you go to the second floor you will find a showroom with four beautiful and rare Subarus.

If you like cars and or Subarus, It is definitely worth checking out. I was in awe the whole visit. The STI Dealership and Museum is located at 3-9-6 Osawa, Mitaka, Tokyo. 


THE 22B STI 🔥🔥🔥

The Subaru 22B STI is a widebody WRX STI Impreza coupe that was produced in 1998. Only 400 22Bs were built, and according to Wikipedia all 400 Japanese units sold out in 48 hours. There were also 24 22B STIs made for export markets (16 for the UK, 5 for Australia, & 3 prototypes).

The 22B is basically a real rally car for the road. It is an awesome and beautiful vehicle. It might just be my #1 dream car. ( Its definitely in my top 3 😄)

The engine in the 22B is bumped up from the 2 liter boxer to a 2.2-liter turbocharged flat-four engine (EJ22 engine ) and puts out 276 hp. The 22B also features goodies such as STI brakes, wide fenders, adjustable rear wing, Bilstein suspension, 17x8.5" gold BBS wheels and a sintered twin plate clutch with a ceramic disk. The curb weight of the 22B comes in at 2,800 lbs.

@curiouser and @slickwilly 

My buddy Neil joined us for the visit, he also owns a WRX. 👍

No lie, I had a quick vape in the presence of the 22B. 😁  People joke about Subaru enthusiast always vaping but it's soo true.


1998 Subaru Rally Car Driven By Colin McRae & Nicky Grist at Sanremo.

Colin McRae was a very well known British rally driver. He drove for Subaru for several years and won them the World Rally Championships in 1995, 1996, and 1997. 

1998 was McRae's last year racing for Subaru with the R14 WRC. McRae finished 3rd at Sanremo in this very car:


2008 Subaru Rally Car Driven By Petter Solberg


The WRX STI tS with the NBR Challenge Package.

The tS version of the STI ups the HP just a little and adds a variety of STI goodies. My favorite feature is the carbon-fiber rear spoiler. 


The STI Decor 


The people at the front desk wanted to be in my selfie: 


The take off room where you can buy your STI in your own personal room. . with your car. 😎


Outside The Dealership

A gorgeous Levorg STI being loaded right outside:

Michelle and I took a month to travel across Japan and China last May (2017). It was epic! Follow me, @slickwilly and Michelle, @curiouser for posts about our adventures!  

Hi there, I’m Will.  First and foremost I am an entrepreneur and voluntaryist.  I aspire to help build a more free world, one that we all want to live in.  Some of my biggest passions include cryptocurrencies, marketing, finance, cannabis, traveling, bodybuilding, snowboarding, motorcycles, and Subarus.  All pictures are my own unless otherwise stated.  I release everything under CC0.  

My website: williamjohnsonlong.com  
Affiliated Steemit Accounts: @bitcoinshirtz @trueliberty  

My Previous Post 👉  WOW ! 1000 STEEMIT Followers 😀

Sort:  

Jealous on how close you were to one of my favourite cars. I've had 4 GC8's in the past and the rarest was a 1997 WRX STI Type RA, sold all of my Subaru's sadly. Moved over to the dark side with GT-R, RX7 and MR2 ownership. Love the detail on your post, you got my upvote!

Thanks @nelkeljdm! I hope to one day have a RX-7 FD, but first I have to build out my Subie fleet. 😁

Careful, they are just as addictive haha! I've got 2 FD's now :) Awesome that you are building a little fleet, I had a mix of 9 STI's and WRX's in the past. If you scroll down my blog there's a couple of build posts. Did a complete '07 hawk interior swap into a '99 GC8 I owned, rewired the cluster and everything for it to work also swapped in 04 non DCCD box, diffs, fully forged EJ22 build :)

... you have fun adventures at a Subaru museum in Japan 😉

Great post babe!

Wow that's the beast of a car wow looks so beautiful too :)

something great about the subaru is its 4x4 traction. And nice vape!

Hi there will? @josediccus here, I never knew Japan made Subarus, the are fast powerful cars you know, I take it that you also own one? How fast can it go? And it seems your visit to Japan was splendid right?

Yup! Subarus are made in Japan. 👍 Mine is only a WRX, which has a 2 liter turbocharged boxer engine. The 0-60 is right around 5 to 6 seconds.

Wow you had a great time in subaru museum with those rare beautiful cars 😍😍 I am jealous now

Cool post @slickwilly!!! Can’t wait to go to Japan and explore! I read that you’re passionate about cannabis, what’s your opinion on pot market? I used to manage a health food store and I’m obsessed with CBD Oil, I believe is the best medicine we can get. Do you agree?

Thanks @naturald!
I am very passionate about cannabis, both for recreational and medicinal use. I'm with you, CBD products are amazing!
If your doctor won't prescribe you cannabis based medicine, they probably aren't a real doctor . 😂

Ahaha you’re a funny guy! That’s a good quality😉

WOW. You are really lucky. As a SUBARU fan I'm waiting to visit there in future. Thank you for the great article.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57408.28
ETH 3079.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31