Abandoned Amidst Beauty - Part V from Belogradchik, Bulgaria

in #travel6 years ago

Welcome to Part V of my series on Belogradchik...Part V, how is that possible? How many photos do I have from this place anyway? 😁 So far, I have shared a monochromatic prelude to this series, showed you the natural beauty and the ancient fortress plus taken you on a walking tour around our neighborhood. (You can find links to all of those posts below.) This was the first stop on my 2 month long road trip around western Bulgaria with fellow Steemian @brentssanders.


After our hike around the fortress, we thought we would go for a drive in the countryside. What we found is like nothing I've ever seen in my neck of the woods in California.

Outside Belogradchik 19.jpg
The Belogradchik Rocks are spread throughout the Western Balkan Mountain range over 50 square kilometers. There are 5 groups of sandstone/rock formations. To tell you the truth, I don't know which group this picture shows because most of the time I had no idea what direction I was heading. I can't begin to describe how disoriented I felt driving in Bulgaria, especially at the beginning. Thank heavens for my co-pilot!


Brent's Outside Belogradchik 19.jpg
We came across an abandoned cemetery right along side of the road that extended back a ways into the trees. This shot belongs to Brent...I am moved by this image. Who was this man or any of the people buried here, for that matter? They are all one with nature now.


Outside Belogradchik 3 - Resized.jpgOutside Belogradchik 1 - Resized.jpg
These shots show the haphazardness of the headstones. I don't recall seeing many names or dates on the stones. Perhaps there were markers closer to the ground hidden by the brush.


Outside Belogradchik 8.jpg
This little house caught our eye. It was a bit of a jaunt from the main road but we felt it was worth investigating.


Outside Belogradchik 7 - Zeke.jpg
I obviously did some aggressive editing here completely changing the look and feel of the day. Weird but worth sharing. I especially like the bonus UFO. 👽


Outside Belogradchik 14.jpg
Here is an inadvertent selfie I took while experimenting with the panoramic feature on my iPhone. Look at this gorgeous valley we had all to ourselves!


Belogradchik House 7.jpg
Are you beginning to sense a theme here? We were obviously drawn to these abandoned places this fine afternoon. This house must have been gorgeous back in the day. The interior designer in me could see the former glory as well as the potential. Out on the road, in front of the house, was a baba walking her cows...not a common site for me. She seemed like quite a colorful character. For the life of me, I don't know why I didn't ask if I could take her picture but I have confidence you all can use your imaginations.


Belogradchik House 5 - Resized.jpgBelogradchik House 8 - Resized.jpg
I am giving you a little peek inside plus an artistic exterior shot here but you can see much more of this place in my post from a few months ago. In my younger days, I would have jumped at a chance to restore a place like this!


It was time for us to go if we were going to make it back to the fortress by sundown...which we did. We had had an extraordinary day that was topped off by an encounter with a wild pheasant crossing the road right in front of us. Brent practically jumped out of the moving car to see if he could get a picture of this beautiful bird. The bugger was off into the grass before he could catch up...the memory will have to do.

I hope you were able to feel the mystery and wonder of these places that were abandoned amidst the beauty of the Belogradchik countryside. It was an experience I won't soon forget!


Check out my previous posts from in and around Belogradchik:
The Prelude
The Series Begins
Part II
Part III
Part IV
Exploring the Back Roads of Northwest Bulgaria

!steemitworldmap 43.617970 lat 22.691633 long Just Outside Belogradchik d3scr

Steemit USA footer.png

Sort:  

Love it, and the collapsed houses. I aleays yake a pic of my shadow every hike, I tag it as "ancient shadows" she always comes with me you know

I was going to send you this post through Discord because it seemed like your kind of thing but it seems it found you all on its own! I hope I get to hang out with you some day. I think that would be amazing plus our "ancient shadows" could meet although, something tells me they already have. Thanks, as always, for your wonderful comment and support!

You're welcome... :) yes, they may already have... if you see a branch swaying with no wind, there is mine ;-)
thanks for the walks around :)

I looked for that branch yesterday...no luck. I will go back this afternoon and try again. :)

good jop samantha !! !

Thank you kindly!

you ar welcome !! i'm resteemed your poste !!!

Wow! Thank you again. I appreciate the resteem very much!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=samanthajbarnes
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=abandoned-amidst-beauty-part-v-from-belogradchik-bulgaria


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

@samanthajbarnes thank you for sharing this. I truly love off the beaten track kind of travel; the mysteries that revolves around the discovery makes one wonder how it used to be during its heyday. I am not a professional critique but pictures are amazing and fit well with the story line. Hats off to you, you did a good job writing it on a personal level which the kind of writer I would go for.

Pardon the delay in my reply. I hit the road the morning after the Whaleshares show and haven't had a moment to sit down behind my computer since. Thank YOU for taking the time to read my post and am so glad you enjoyed it. Thanks also for your kind and encouraging words. This trip meant a lot to me and I am thankful I am conveying able to convey that through my photos and words.

Hope we cross paths again at the Whaleshares show!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 15:36:17
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 953.32/1600.00
Total Photos: 90
Total comments: 219
Total contest wins: 5
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43