Yashas' Travelogue #18 - Travel Around Kuala Lumpur My Way in 12 Hours!!

in #travel7 years ago

Kuala Lumpur is a Central Business hub of South East Asia, millionaires are made in this city daily. I will take you all through a journey around this beautiful city which stands a testimony to modern Malaysia's global outreach with advancement.

How To Use Public Transport In Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia .

I reached early in the morning, after arrival I headed straight towards the bus terminal because I knew only a bus is the cheapest option to travel from the airport to city. I have also written a blog regarding the

KualaLumpur Twin Towers.jpg

Journey from KLIA2 to KL Sentral usually takes an hour, it may increase during peak traffic hours. First point of Kuala Lumpur exploration started from KL Sentral. KL Sentral is the point of contact for all the transport means to various parts of the city. I had 12 hours of time and I could not afford to waste even a bit.

KualaLumpur Highway.jpg

My article may not cover Kuala Lumpur in detail but my intention is to spread the spirit with which I traveled this amazing city. I reached KL Sentral from where I was supposed to go across Batu Caves, Bukit Bintang , Petronas Twin towers. It was long day ahead with flies in my stomach. KFC to the rescue at KL Sentral to introduce me to a new menu and give that much needed relief from hunger.

KualaLumpur Traffic View1.jpg

Batu Caves - A Hindu Heritage Sight!!

Starting from KL Sentral I headed straight towards Batu Caves, mode of transport was KTM Kommuter. Kommuter fare is 2RM to Batu Caves from KL Sentral once there spend ample amount of time to enjoy this Hindu heritage site in Kuala Lumpur. A huge statue of a Hindu Deity welcomed me, and what appeared to be a lengthy climb ahead was also visible.

Statue at Batu Cave.jpg

Batu caves involves a climb of 277 steps to reach cave site. One of the many caves in Malaysia this offers an experience to be a part of worshiping Hindu deities. With hundreds of fellow travelers to accompany you, it is worth the effort.

Batu Cave Steps.jpg

It was then time to head towards Bukit Bintang, a 30 min bus ride to Chow Kit and then a monorail travel takes you to Bukit Bintang, the shopping hub of Malaysia. The traffic rules here is followed with strict adherence.

Bukit Bintang : The Shopping Hub of Kuala Lumpur

Kuala Lumpur is a city with insane traffic and it is often unreliable when it comes to maintaining time during your travel. Huge traffic jam is a common scene and sometimes you end up feeling walking is a better option. I got down at Bukit Bintang which is considered to be a shopping hub of Kuala Lumpur. A stroll here will give you hundreds of brands on display, it is a paradise to all the shopoholics. I don’t like shopping and not crazy about brands. However it was worth spending time here just to go around and get a feel of shopping in KL.

KualaLumpur Escalator.jpg

Kuala Lumpur Street Food

Bukit Bintang is at a walking distance from Twin towers. Hawker food stalls are omni present on your way to the towers. I enjoyed a local Malaysian dish for lunch at one of the food stalls. It was just delicious. I met a Bangladeshi and a Pakistani brother who showed no signs of national disputes our nations carry. We spoke in length on their life in KL. I realized one thing, politics is one enemy which divides nation, as responsible citizens we maintain that respect for each other which goes beyond boundaries. This is what travel does to you, gives you that maturity to respect people and know them.

KualaLumpur Underground Food Stall.jpg

The Petronas Twin Towers

Finally here I come, standing tall as a mark of modern Malaysia, Petronas Twin towers. A pathway through the heart of Malaysia ends at Suriya KLCC Mall which then opens up to the grand view of Twin Towers. Right there in front of my eyes the twin towers stands tall. Only regret is I didn visit the Petronas in the night illumination. Never the less I was impressed.

KualaLumpur KLCC Mall.jpg

One can also go all the way till the observation deck by paying the entry fee to twin towers. The view is awesome here and it is recommended to experience skyline view of KL. The details of tickets and timings can be found here at the Petronas Twin towers Site. Do go there with advanced online booking to avoid the long queue.

KualaLumpur Twin Towers.jpg

Spent quality time here at KLCC park and it was time to pack things up at KL.

KualaLumpur Twin Towers Park.jpg


My other articles which may interest you

  1. Adventure Solo Bike Ride to China Border - Himalayan Beauty Personified

  2. Thailand Adventure Solo Bike Travel Video Documentary - Feel of Thai on Two Wheels!!! My Birthday Post (Video Inside)

  3. My Experience at Asia's Favorite Play Ground - Resort World Sentosa, Singapore !!!

  4. Adventure Solo Biking Expedition From Southern Most Tip of India to The World's Highest Motorable Road!!!


All the images used in the article belongs to me and have been watermarked. You find the experience written on my personal blog as well.

Kindly bring it to my notice if someone tries to duplicate my work.


If you like what you see, do not forget to upvote resteem and follow (@rideofpassion)

Sort:  

Beautiful MALAYSIA with beautiful photographer!

Thank you, its more like beautiful Malaysia with a regular photographer.. :)

Thanks for sharing!

Pleasure is all mine :)

Awesome I really want to visit

You are always special

Ha ha Thank you sir

Wow some stunning photographs there you have a new follower!Thanks for sharing.

I love Malaysia and especially Kuala Lumpur, the shopping, street food and articheture. Thank you for sharing all the lovely photos and you've given us much info.

It is indeed a pleasure to be of some help.... Happy journey...

very beautiful

Thanks for sharing. I would love to do the Batu Caves. I just posted a trip my family took to a animal park, a whole 1 1/2 hours away. LOL. It was a good time though. I definitely will subscribe! I love everything bicycle.

I thought you meant bicycles not motorcycles. I ride them too. LOL

A beautiful city and a rich culture.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64614.75
ETH 3444.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55