Yashas Travelogue #14 - Adventure Solo Bike Ride to China Border - Himalayan Beauty PersonifiedsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Through the majestic Himalayas which stood tall, I made my way through the rough terrains and I was all alone with my motorbike. Early morning start to the ride is always better and that is something I never learnt. Day 5 of the ride was scheduled from Kathmandu to The Last Resort Bungee Jump to the Kodari border and then back to Chitwan. Yes!! It was a long long ride. I started from Kathmandu at 7 am in the morning and rode on the Araniko Raj Marg or Araniko highway.

Bhote Kosi river which saperates China and Nepal.jpg

The ride through the country side of Nepal has been a fantastic one. Through the 4 lane broad highway of Kathmadu I rode towards the Himalayan range to take me to Bhote Kosi river Bunjee jump site. It was a refreshing ride and there was absolutely no stress at all. The roads were smooth mostly and few pot holes here and there never bothered me. This part of the ride was tough for the bike because of the steep ascents. My R15 never gave up.

Class of Nepal defined.jpg

Tiny villages were very well organized and I knew a small halt here will not be a loss. People here breathe fresh air, drink clean Himalayan water and are always blessed with the amazing shades of nature.

Village enroute to Kadari.jpg

After being a part of World's Longest Bungee Swing, I started towards the China border really late, this later turned out to be a night mare for me. I started towards Kodari border (Nepal – China border) which is 16kms from here. 16Kms of hard terrain takes around an hour if you ride carefully. Road was fully torn out, the scenery around more than made up for the strain. 10Kms into the ride comes the first check post towards Border.

The scenes along the highway was mesmerizing.jpg

Nepal army officer asked me to unpack each and everything and examined the luggage as if I was carrying his kidney in it. It was his duty but at an altogether different level. I was patiently explaining him all the things in the luggage at the same time loosing the precious time. I had to go back till Chitwan and it was a 260Kms ride. After his thorough checking I continued on towards Kodari. With its last stretch totally out of place. It took almost an hour to reach the border.

Peaceful ride towards China border.jpg

Finally I could see the Sino friendship bridge. A friendly bridge between Nepal and China. It was a proud moment for me as I hoist the tri-color at a non Indian International border. My third international border on the ride. It was 4:00pm. I was in a situation where I would have ended up no where. I still started towards Kathmandu and the destination being Chitwan.

Last check post towards China.jpg

Nepal-China friendship bridge.jpg

Tri colour stands all.jpg

The same route on my way back was a challenging one given the fact that I had restriction of time. I raced my way back and was enjoying all the way till Kathmandu. It was a scenic sunset on the way back which forced me for a small pit stop. After which there was no stopping me.

I continued on to ride towards Chitwan in the extreme darkness and being extremely tired. I was in no mood to stop and finally reached Chitwan by 1:00 am.


Stay tuned to this space as I go onto cover and share all my travel stories here.

If you like what you see do not forget to resteem, follow and upvote (@rideofpassion)

All the images are of my own and watermarked accordingly.

The experience was also written in my blog which you can find here

Sort:  

Must have been an awesome trip. What a landscape

It was a hectic day on road, but I enjoyed every bit of it :)

Nice experience. sometimes we need travel to refresh our brain.

@albertjester - Thank you, i feel we shud always travel to keep our brain refreshed... it is beyond all materialistic pleasures

So exciting.

ha ha it was exciting :)

i love bike trips, while i was in Asia it was main transport for me while i was in Thailand and Malaysia. I had 150cc bike it was very fun . Are you travelling a lot ? first time seeing some report of travel from you , usually i see motivating videos :)

Hello @investwarrior - It is anyday the cheapest and the best option of transport in SE Asia, and it my means of travel too.... Yes I travel a lot, in fact I quit my engineering job to travel the world... so basically I am jobless now traveling around on my bike...

Motivational videos is related to my project on steemit called voceshares (@voiceshares), would be great if you would like to have a look

Hey @ridoefpassion - I enjoyed reading your blog articel about your bike trip. I used to have also a motor bike - but long time ago and never travelled that far. Now I have family and do a world trip with them (But without motorbike )
What we have in common as i read your reply in the comments is that you also quit your engineering job. In which field where you occupied? Will you go back? Best regards, Oliver

@alittledifferent - Thank you for such kind words, it is indeed nice to hear such words from a person who believes in similar thoughts ......I am even glad to hear that you are on a world tour now....

Yes I was an engineer in Telecom sector, worked with Ericsson for 4 years and then quit the job to follow my passion... I will never go back its been 18 months and not once I have got that thought back... I am happy being me and doing what i like... I am proud of you if u have quit ur job too.... I know what it takes to do that

Awesome! Must have been hard but so cool. Unpacking all your stuff is less fun though. Pics look amazing, keep them posting please.

@twogirls1planet- Did I just meet one of the coolest travelrs, I am very happy to be interacting with you guys.... Loved your blog and what you gals are doing... I am very happy for you and following your passion... Can we connect on discord at @rideofpassion #7223.... Would love to share your passion...

Wonderful post! Continue on your journey and don't let others detour you

Peace

@oneluv - I love your steemit name and thank you for such kind words

Wow. Beautiful journey. Get some rest 😊

@xredsoulless- Thank you for your concern, appreciate that... nice to meet u here :)

Beautiful post, nice ride and stunning shots! Thanks for sharing man :) #keepsteemin

@warrkin - Glad that you liked .... Himalayas is indeed an amazing place to be :)

A wonderful trip. When my children grow up a bit, I also dream of great travels. It's fine. Learn new every day, follow the call of your heart.

This is a wonderful comment, thank you @anna-mi , I am sure your sttitude takes u places... along with your children :)

Awesome views! It's a real ride of passion :)

@tiffanyrej- Thanks a lot, it was indeed an amazing view for me all throught :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62441.36
ETH 2940.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59