My experience, your question: Should tourists be allowed to photograph people in life-threatening situations?

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

n88gg988oa.gif
I found myself in this situation once, in the Amazon. Only the danger is real.

After raining all morning the river is up. A Shuar Indian swims to the other side of the river and secures a rope for us to hold on to. Our group is to cross the river by holding on to the rope so we are not swept away by the rapids.

I decide to be one of the first to cross the river. If I face the fear I do it quickly before I can change my mind.

My boots give way to the rapids in the middle of the river.
The boots issued to me for hiking through the Amazon Rain Forest are too big, they quickly fill with water. I could not afford to lose these big boots in the middle of a jungle. Really go without boots like the Indians? There was no way could not lower my feet, the currents from the rapids are pulling me. I kept my feet scrunched in order to not lose my boots.

My hands grip the rope with me in paralyzing fear. One of our guides Juan made his way down the rope looks me in the eyes, and yells, "Use your arms." So I wasn't going to die that day. I look over at the river bank and spot one of the tourists I did not know taking photographs of my look of horror. Once on land I was too embarrassed and traumatized to ask about the photographs.

Here is my husband and me first arriving in the middle of the jungle I used this for my blog board once, so it is stretched looking.
h4etf0ihrd.jpg
The military in Quito, Equador allow these private small planes to fly out with supplies and we were aboard one of those planes. Flying just above the canopy of the rainforest. I begin to regret lying about my weight after the pilot announces the plane was too heavy.

We are next to the airstrip cut into the jungle near the river. Remember, back then there is no radar deep in the Amazon so if we crash it was over.

After that photograph, we got into a dugout canoe and head down the Amazon River.

Since I am not athletic the Shuar go to great strides to help me during the hike through the Amazon to a sacred place. I love these people and plan to write more about our experience with them.

Why would I make a trip like this since I am not usually into intense physical exercise? Intense for me I don't swim. Back in the 1980's when we took this trip, the rain forest was being rapidly cut down and this trip was for awareness. I read a book by John Perkins,
"The World Is As You Dream It." John, a CEO saw the devastation from the corporations and creates these tours.

After reading his book I decided to go and my husband quickly agrees.

Photograph of a Shuar Indian wikipedia
r3s9off5oi.jpg
I don't remember any of those particular markings. I remember black tattoos and I remember the tribe was good to us and took care of us.

Our main guide is Juan from Equador and the other guides were the indigenous people, known as the Shuar. There were no maps or trails. Yes, they were once headhunters, but it has since been outlawed.

I will look for some photographs because I do believe in one box some survived the house fire.

I am not going to write a book here. This post is to make a point. There is much more that happens including the medicine man from the Bird People who leads the ayahuasca ritual.

Should people be allowed to photograph you in life-threatening situations?

It is clear to me that someone was standing behind that child in the gif from giphy doing absolutely nothing. And another was photographing him. We know he was in no danger, so it is alright. It is amazing how children spring back, he even checks his ear.

I am referring to everyday life. What do you think?

I remember a while back a lady doing selfies in front of a house fire smiling and the internet came down on her.

If you ever find yourself in imminent danger, how would you feel looking up to see a fellow tourist snapping photographs of you?


ucgnmd3k5w.png


Thank you for reading,
@rebeccabe

upvote comment resteem

My groups in discord

#steemitbloggers by @jaynie
#steemusa
#steem-ua
#photofriend
#bananafish



This post created with #esteem created by @good-karma


Made by - @rebeccabe

Sort:  

Great article @rebeccabe! What an adventure the Amazon must have been. I'm glad you survived unscathed! I'm sure there's way less of the jungle now that there was in the 80's. So sad.

Some are so addicted to the outpouring of "likes" and "comments" on social media I feel their main goal is to search for an capture things that will elicit a steady stream of this digital drug.

In a sense it minds me of Nero fiddling while Rome burns.

I think they should be fined or charged. I remember a group of teenagers videoed with their phone a man drowning instead of helping him and posted the video. A news report ... the teens were not charged.
https://www.cnn.com/2017/07/20/us/florida-teens-drowning-man/index.html @ericvancewalton
We need to hold young people accountable for their actions. The man was handicapped.

I agree! I remember that horrendous story and I'm sure there are so many similar ones that go unreported.

so sad when you think about it. There are good people too. Sorry that the guy went that way.

Wade with tha walalby's / swim like a fish. (that's all I got this 'round @rebeccabe)!
Always,

well thanks for giving it what you got :)

Hahhaha I chuckled cause I remember the exact same situation happened to me when I was camping out in the forest and we were crossing the river... The undercurrent is VERY VERY strong and both my shoes went swimming away.

Haha! that is funny.
Now, this situation is different @zord189 in the middle of nowhere, unable to swim and photos by a tourist of my face. Do you think that is okay when strangers take photos of people in imminent danger? Haha!
I guess you see where I am going with this.

I believe that the photographer should ALWAYS ask for consent from the person they are going to capture, regardless of the danger of the situation. It is basically violation of your privacy, especially for children. Nobody wants their random photos roaming around on the internet, we can never know where they will end up (as paranoid as it sounds)

Greetings from Cape Town :)

Hey Cape Town. @haritakurdu
That is where @jaynie lives :)
I agree and the child is okay otherwise, I would not have used the example.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Check @resteembot's introduction post or the other great posts I already resteemed.

Thank you for thanking me. I love the application. I use it on my laptop where I have my account.

I would be mad if that would happen to me

thank you... later on I felt a lot anger about it. At the time survival was on my mind.
I appreciate your comment.

Wow, it sounds like you've had some great adventures! I don't particularly like getting photographed, especially by strangers. You never know what people are going to do with the pictures nowadays. I wonder if the child in the GIF knows that he's famous. :)

who knows .. gifs are really never traced at least I don't think so.
I have had a few adventures. I find life to be the greatest adventure of all the older I get the more alive I feel. Hey that could be my next post. You are making a blogger out of me with these ideas. LOL

Glad I can be of service! Keep on living and having adventures. Then tell us about them. It's the circle of life. ;)

We are in this Steemit adventure together. :)

No one should suffer embarrassment or lose their life because
someone thinks it’s entertaining to videotape take pictures, when there
could be real danger. Some people just don’t have common sense or compassion at all.
Great post.

Hi @rebeccabe!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.220 which ranks you at #2651 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 13 places in the last three days (old rank 2638).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 426 contributions, your post is ranked at #26.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57941.45
ETH 2579.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39