Talking about my bike trip in France, Belgium and the Netherlands in Queer Adventure Storytelling

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Hey there I know it might be unlikely that this reaches a whole lot of steem-ians based in Portland but just in case I wanted to tell you all about a talk I am giving tomorrow night at the Lucky Lab in Portland, Oregon. It is part of a series called Queer Adventure Storytelling that highlights outdoor and other adventures of queer people that has been going on for not quite a year now and it's gotten very popular! It's run by my amazing friend Jenny Bruso, whose Unlikely Hikers project aims to give a voice to marginalized people in the outdoors (people of color, people of size, differently abled, queer etc).

Anyway, it's FREE, tomorrow night Wednesday January 10th at 7pm (get there early for a seat) at:
Lucky Lab
1700 N Killingsworth St., Portland, Oregon 97217
https://www.facebook.com/events/1513790312052701/

I've given you some pictures below to know what to expect, or just to see a few highlights from my trip in case you can't make it. I'll be talking all the amazing things but also the good, the bad, and the ugly. You can actually read more specifically in a (mostly) day by day I cataloged in my blog: http://outandabout.space/category/cycle/

IMG_2568.jpg
Putting by bike together (badly) after a 12 hour flight at Charles de Gaulle airport

IMG_9360.jpg
Day 1 out of Paris

IMG_9806.jpg
Ghent, Belgium

IMG_9754.jpg
Gouda, Holland

IMG_9953.jpg
Amsterdam, Netherlands

IMG_0205.jpg
Riding the sand dunes of the North Sea on the Noordzee LF1 with my friend Amy

Oh and I almost forgot...I'm also excited to be a part of Steemit's burgeoning cycle community with @thankyoubicycle !

Sort:  

! I'm from oregon. I think @dflo is in pdx and @cargnash and his wife @dilemma are in eugene. They all might know some folks. But you should organize a meetup!! Twould be grand. Wait til i come visit my moms so i can hang lololol

I love this but sadly.. i am in Montana. Theres a lot of Montana--Portland crossover though, for sure. @limabeing you saw a photo of a trip i took to portland once :) . I am now following @qpdx though yay! :)

@limabeing Amazing! Thank you for tagging folks.

@qpdx this is awesome! My partner and I love riding our bikes during the summer. We even participated on a 30 mile bike ride last fall. It was definitely fun. Keep biking along!

Last summer I took 3 friends on our first bike camping trip. It was 32 miles and I really wish I could have found a campground that was more like 20-25 miles away because everyone were such troopers and really enjoyed the first 25 miles or so but just got really tired towards the end. It was a lot for everyone's first time but we still had a lot of fun.

I try to bike year round but these days I work from home so there really isn't much incentive, haha.

Oh wow, 32 miles huh. It would be fun to camp around where you were biking at so you won't have to worry about trying to make it back before dark lol. It is definitely tiring when you ride for that long. Good job though. Atleast you can say you rode for over 30 miles right? Hopefully summer comes quick :)

Oh yeah we were biking out to the campground so we only went one way in a day. And 30 miles was fine for me just a little long for first timers.

Oh, wicked cool! I wish I were in the area, but I'm all the way across the country (waves hello from New Hampshire). Looks like you had an awesome adventure, and good luck with your talk tomorrow!

Cycling Comunity on Steemit sends you some good wind!!

You are upvoted and resteemed by Thank You Bicycle - SteemIt Cycling Community!
It is our mission to spread good vibes of cycling across Steemit. We support you!

Keep those weels rolling and enjoy the ride!!

If you want to know more about our mission click here.
If you want to join us, click here.
If you do not like our activity, reply with STOP to this and we will leave you alone

So proud that you you did that trip @qpdx!
Once I hosted, through Couchsurfing, an Australian woman who lived in England and wanted to do an audition for a theater school in Rotterdam.
She was soooo cool! And very relaxed. No complaints about being sore or whatever.

My BFAM and photographer AmsterSam used to jump on his bike to visit his family in Germany. Without any preparation! He did complain a bit... Unfortunately he died last year of a heart attack. Riding his bicycle I heard.........

Greetings from one of the best cities to bike.

love yourself and respect life

Sad to hear about your friend.

But yeah I would love to host cyclists in Portland. I’m surprised I haven’t gotten more requests because I really love meeting people from all over and it’s great if they are cyclists especially.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62740.92
ETH 3354.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46