Visit Scottish Highlands #1 - Eilean Donan Castle

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hello My Friends and visitors!

Today I decided to start new series on my blog - similar to 'Visit Norway' - photo guide to Scottish Highlands where I will present some nice places which I visited during last few years.

For the first entry - Eilean Donan Castle on Loch Duich near the town called Dornie.

IMG_1799sm.jpg

Easy to access from the main road, on the way from Inverness to Isle of Skye, well seen from a far. The place is well known and I it is one of the most popular Scottish Castles in Highlands. Next to the castle we can find big parking places, visitors centre with restaurant, gift shop, toilets - standard...

IMG_9371sm.jpg

Like before, I don't want to present historical facts or numbers... all of this can be easily reached in Wikipedia for example, I will focus on photographic aspect of the place and my own opinions and thoughts...

IMG_1782sm.jpg

I have visited the place 3 or 4 times already but never had luck to have good lighting conditions or interesting weather to shoot... I can only dream about some fog, maybe rainbow, sunset light on the walls of the castle or at least some more interesting sky...

IMG_1781sm.jpg

There are three good photo spots which are worth visiting - first one is just by the castle and car park. We have good access to the bridge, interesting rocks by the shoreline and great visibility on the castle and whole island. The castle is open for visitors of course, You can walk freely outside the castle, but during the high season it is accesible only with tickets. With the ticket we can also take some guided tours to see the whole castle inside - but as a landscape photographer...I never been inside ;)...

IMG_1803sm.jpg

Second good spot is just on the other side of the loch, after crossing the bridge in direction to Isle of Skye we can park on the left side, where also we can find some Cafe, toilets and carpark. From this side the castle is well situated together with the mountains behind and the water in front. Wish to see the reflections on still water... On this side we can meet quite often crab fishing boat (I am not sure how it is called properly) which is always nice element of the photo.

IMG_4295sm.jpg

IMG_9362sm.jpg

Third nice photo spot in the area is situated above Dornie town. We have to drive up quite steep road to reach the small carpark but it is definitely worth it! The overall view on the Loch, surrounded mountains and a castle below...

IMG_1675sm.jpg

Last time I was there, March this year, we guided, together with my brother photographer, a photographic workshops for a group of 12 students from USA. I didn't have much time to shoot but I used the lunch break to catch some shots instead of eating. Results need some sacrifices ;). I used my ND1000 filter to try some long exposure shots.

IMG_1805sm.jpg

I also catched this view and tried some stronger post-processing to create sepia-like effect of old photograph. Always have some "photovisions" about normal stuff ;)...

IMG_1739smsepia.jpg

My opinion and final thought - place is worth visiting, but it is worth visiting when we travel to Isle of Skye - good photo spot for 1-2 hours maximum, The castle is well preserved, it is very well situated and with good lighting conditions, we can make really amazing shots. I have seen many great shots of the castle in net. I was visiting this place during autumn and spring time avoiding summer season, so there was not so many people, but as I spoked with my brother, during summer holidays it is crazy crowded - many big busses block the carparks, people walking everywhere, extreme hard to find some quiet place just to enjoy the view and contemplate the castle... Outside the season , especially early morning time - it is almost deserted.

This is the place where we can feel the real spirit of Highlands!

IMG_5808sm.jpg


<><><><><><><><><><><><><>

Thanks for reading and watching, stay tuned if You like to see more Highlands beauties!

If You like my work, check my portfolio site asphotovisions
More information About Me

<><><>

Remember that upvoting, resteeming and following are the best way to show the authors that You like their work, it supports them not only finacially but also gives a huuuge amount of positive energy to create more interesting posts and work on future projects!

Sort:  

Beautiful photos.
Thank you for a nice photographic trip.
Best wishes.

Thank You a lot Jarosław! I am working on my writing style and on my blog to give more and more interesting content. Have a good weekend!

Seriously I could smash my voting power in your account alone, I wish I were a bigger account. But once more one if the most beautiful and of outstanding quality 🙌

Thank You for this! Really great to read such thinks from another artist! I support Your incredible work also. Last time was late for Your Live performance :( ... Hope to see and hear more in future! Have a great day!

Wen I see this photography my mind start to wonder, fairytale... Story , romance , thanks 🙏 for sharing these, beautiful

True! This country is full of magical places. Thanks for great comment!

really like your post! some great picture and information! never been there but seeing your pictures, it makes me want to go there one day!

That is great! I like to share the beauty of the world with others! Scotland is definitely worth seeing! Thank You.

Beautifully given !!! I want more and more!!!

More and more is coming soon!! Thanks a lot!!

nice shots, my best with fishing nets.

Thanks a lot, I like this one too, I can say it was freshly made especially for this blog post.

Well, now I have to visit Scotland. Just gorgeous!

If You like this one, just stay tuned, because more posts from Scotland are on the way ;). All the best!

These images of the Castle and its reflection on the water has amazed me. There is an otherwordly feeling about the scenery and it's really fantastic!

We are pleased to feature you work on today's 10th edition of Photocircle's Daily. Congrats!


PC comment footer 02.png

Learn about this new photo curation project by clicking >here<


Alternatively, you may also check the latest featured work of outstanding authors by clicking >here <

Thank You very much for that! I appriciate all kinds of support for my work. Have a great weekend!!

Congrats to be nominated by ocd. Your photos is awesome, once again it proved that Isle of Skye scene very nice and too bad that I still do not have chance to go there yet even I was in York last Jan. I had followed you as well. Looking forward for your next post!

Thanks for all support and good comment. I still have a lot to show from my Scotland's photo trips so stay tuned! Have a good day!

Congratulations, your post was discovered and featured by @OCD in its daily compilation 221!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.


If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd to reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem. You can read about it here.


@ocd now has a witness. You can vote for @ocd-witness with SteemConnect or on Steemit Witnesses to help support other undervalued authors!


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55885.64
ETH 2358.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31