THE LAST PUBLIC FERRY IN ARKANSAS

in #travel7 years ago

This was an interesting trip!


The ferry in Peel, Arkansas is the last public ferry operating in Arkansas. It shuttles cars, truck, and motorcycles across Lake Bull Shoals from Peel, AR to Protem, MO. Unlike certain ferry routes and some bridges, there is no toll to pay for this service; it is free to ride.

Depending on where we are going in Missouri from Arkansas, sometimes we take this ferry across the lake.

Lake Bull Shoals can be quite an obstacle otherwise, so to be able to cut right across it in your vehicles is certainly a bonus.

The ferry operates from just before 7am until just after 7pm on a daily basis. Many people depend on it daily to get to work or for their other travel needs.

The entire area is very beautiful, and the lake is no different. In the summer we sometimes cross to go to the park in Protem, MO for fishing, swimming, or just hanging out. I know that there is at least one ferry operating in Wisconsin too, but I never used it when I lived up there.

The ferry itself is powered by a tug, which can detach from the ferry.

To change direction for the return trip, the tug just rotates 180 degrees to face the other direction.

We even got to see them switch tugs when we rode it the other morning. I had never seen anything like it.


Here are a few more photos

As always, I’m @papa-pepper and here’s the proof:


proof-of-ferry


"Don’t waste your time on social media, invest it at steemit.com”


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Very cool. It reminds me of a ferry that crosses the Skeena River in Northern British Columbia. That one uses the current to power it by angling up or downstream to go back and forth along a cable.

i think Ferries are like Tug Boats!

Very interesting to see these little bits of "old lore" from around the world... that ferry reminds me a little of small ferry near where I grew up in Denmark, as a kid. It connected two small villages across a long narrow bay; the drive around was some 35 miles; the ferry ride was eight minutes. There was no schedule-- the ferry left when there were "enough cars" (max of 8) or when the captain could see that someone had pulled up on the other side and was waiting.

Cool post-- thanks for sharing!

Think I'm all Caught up now, keep missing your posts. I don't like ferrys there's to much water around :)

Mindblowing !

Very cool post!

You're like the raywilliamjohnson of titles.

Cool trip! But why such complexity, there is no bridge?

Have the @little-peppers ever ridden on the ferry? Sounds like something that @grandpa-pepper should do some day.

Yes they have. Perhaps we will take you when you get back down!

Hey Papa pepper. I am new here on steemit and @luzcypher just told me about your project operation translation. I would love to translate some of your posts into german or spanish, but I don´t know how to get your pictures. How can I do that? :) Also: How can I avoid to translate an article that already has been translated? Greetings from the caribbean.

Very few have been translated into German. Nothing in over 3 months. I'll get a list later.

For images, just right click on the image and select copy image address, then paste it where you want it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 56386.16
ETH 2529.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49