NASA ~ Kennedy Space Center in Cape Canaveral, Florida

in #travel6 years ago

Here are some random pictures that I took when I visited NASA (Kennedy Space Center) in Cape Canaveral, Florida. Hopefully, you will find the photos interesting and somewhat educational. I had always had a fascination with NASA especially after I went on a school field trip to the Kennedy Space Center when I was ten years old.

I remember the bus ride from Jacksonville to Cape Canaveral, and at the time it seemed like it took forever to travel there, and that was plausible because I was so young at the time. I remember thinking to myself when getting ready to enter the area where Cape Canaveral begins and I'll never forget that I had concluded as to why the government picked that area to put NASA there was because of the sky appearing so much more significantly bigger than anywhere else in Florida. Now that I am an adult I think back and laugh at the silly things I thought. Oh, the actual thoughts of such a babe who would later become somewhat obsessed with NASA and space in general. Between going down there to KSC and it leaving such a profound impression on me and then possibly watching every episode of "I Dream of Jeannie" (TV Show from when I was a small kid) also let's not forget Star Trek (come on... who did not watch Star Trek growing up?), and then mid-century timing of the Space Program. Last but not least I am a geeky chick that is into astronomy and astrophysics. So, something had to contribute to it from all of that. ​

I felt last year was an​ excellent time to take my kids down to visit and learn a few things about space. I wish they had more interest but what can I do... They have different interests than me. ​At least I got to take some cool pictures, and now I am finally getting around to sharing them here on steemit with everyone.

I hope you all enjoy the pictures here. I have picked out some of my favourite ones to share in this post. If you take anything away from this post hopefully, I have inspired you to make a trip to Florida and visit NASA yourself! 🙂

There will be a followup post soon with more pictures. I didn't want to make this post too long with way too many photos. ​

In the meantime please enjoy and check back again shortly! Thanks, ​everyone!!!

#johnfkennedyspacecenter #aeronautics #spaceflight #spaceport #spacecoast #apollo #skylab #spaceshuttle #spacex #rockets #rocketships #astronauts #usspaceprogram #americasspaceprogram #education #ksc #kennedyspacecenter #capecanaveral #capecanaveralairforcestation #capekennedy #merrittisland #titusville #florida #history #technology #alirivka #ozhiya #bunnypuncher

Sort:  

Your post is informative and I have enjoyed it a lot, keep uploading such content!!

You got a 3.93% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @ubergeekgirl!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59159.54
ETH 2599.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42