Exploring Osaka - Walking Around Dotonbori

in #travel7 years ago

I made a calculated decision to brave the Minami (Namba) area of Osaka on a national holiday in Japan. Yes, some of you might think I was a little naive, but that day I had a meeting outside of the city and also had to meet a friend in this area for some Okonomiyaki. I'm not really one to take pictures of my food but I captured a nice one here of the Okonomiyaki in a small restaurant that my friend likes to eat at from time to time. It was a very peaceful retreat away from the mayhem outside on Dotonbori.

Okonomiyaki, okonomi meaning "how you like" and yaki meaning "grill", is not a dish that I eat often in Japan but is one that is very tasty. It’s a very simple dish as consists of flour mixed with water, cabbage and your choice of meat and vegetables. Basically a pancake of sorts and is enjoyed by many people when visiting Osaka.

This area is possibly one of the most famous areas in Osaka and is known for the Glico Running Man sign that everyone seems to take a picture of (including me!) haha As it was so crowded I didn't feel like taking too many pictures but I think I captured the main details and liked how a few of the photos turned out. I hope you enjoy them too. More soon!

More from my Travels:

Exploring Naoshima - A Visit to the Lee Ufan Museum
Naoshima - Tadao Ando's Concrete Walls
Exploring Osaka - Inside the TRUCK Furniture Showroom
Exploring Tokyo - Hama Rikyu Gardens
Exploring Tokyo - A Visit to Sensoji Temple in Asakusa
Exploring Kyoto - Tenryuji Temple & Grounds
Exploring Kyoto - A Visit to Fushimi Inari Shrine


Please follow me for more interesting art, design and travel content @oen

Sort:  

A great place to visit and great photography and lighting

Hello, friend 🤗
I always spend time at Dotonbori even if I don’t do anything just stroll around there. There are many restaurants as you explored.

Thanks @noopu. Yeah, you are right. It's an interesting area. Very popular! :D

You missed out the big Kani (crab) restaurant. LOL

Haha It's so weird, I thought I photographed it but couldn't find it on my hard drive for this day. The missing photograph! lol 🤔

To this day, I'm convinced those plastic display foods are real! (๑˃‿˂)

Saw your post featured on @jrvacation (๑•‿•๑). I haven't done extensive travelling through Osaka yet, so blogs like yours help a lot in planning for routes and landmarks (๑✧‿✧๑).

Hey @bizarro. Thanks for the comment. Yeah, Osaka is a nice city. I was there for around a month in October last year, it was interesting to see the differences between Osaka and Tokyo and to get to know the different areas in more detail. If you need any help just let me know :D

Aw, that's neat! (๑✧‿✧๑) I was only able to stop by there the last time I was in Japan. I think the station exit was the furthest I got (๑˃﹏˂). And thank you! Nice to know there are many friendly people here (๑•‿•๑).

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=oen
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=exploring-osaka-walking-around-dotonbori


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Nice travel documentation!

Thanks a lot @patschwork :)

Japan always looks like such a cool place to visit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54147.93
ETH 2274.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35