A Visit to Fallingwater by Frank Lloyd Wright in Pennsylvania

in #travel6 years ago

Hey Steemit! So, I'm moving outside of Japan and in to America for a few posts. You may also see some articles about places that I have visited in the UK, Australia, and also more from Japan as I get around to editing each series. It's certainly fun to edit these photos that have been sitting in my hard drive for a while. I can also explain about them and inspire some people through the different journeys I have taken myself. I hope they are still interesting? If not, please tell me in the comment section below.

Today's post is about Fallingwater, also known as the Kaufmann Residence that was designed by Frank Lloyd Wright in 1935. Frank Lloyd Wright was a very famous architect and this building in-particular is known as his "masterpiece". It's incredible how this building has been built over the side of the waterfall and directly integrated in to the rock underneath, it fits in seamlessly with the surrounding environment and is still modern considering the era it was designed/built in. This is another place that you have to see to believe, and also experience the atmosphere surrounding it. The rushing water is really vivid in my mind and the peacefulness and beauty in the forest make for a special combination.

Walking through the building I could pick out all the elements of Japanese architecture that have Frank Lloyd Wright. Integrating man and nature in such a way that a traditional Japanese house would with sliding doors, large expanses of open space, making the inside seem shaded so that the attention is placed on the balconies, every trick in the book is present here. He was a very smart man indeed. Unfortunately I couldn't capture the interior and furniture, which was all custom designed by Frank Lloyd Wright himself, but I could take some photographs of the outside and other details that i enjoyed. I hope you like them too.



More from my Travels:

Exploring Naoshima - A Visit to the Lee Ufan Museum
Naoshima - Tadao Ando's Concrete Walls
Exploring Osaka - Inside the TRUCK Furniture Showroom
Exploring Tokyo - Hama Rikyu Gardens
Exploring Tokyo - A Visit to Sensoji Temple in Asakusa
Exploring Kyoto - Tenryuji Temple & Grounds
Exploring Kyoto - A Visit to Fushimi Inari Shrine


Please follow me for more interesting art, design and travel content @oen

Sort:  

This is one of my favorite FLW designed structures. He designed all of the hallways and staircases to be extremely narrow and un-inviting, the idea being it forces you into the main spaces and terraces to encourage more interaction with nature and the surroundings. Amazing property.

Yeah @ftk. It is definitely one of a kind! Thanks for commenting :)

This place is beautiful, it actually made me giddy! I went there for the first time this past August. I haven't taken the interior tour either, but I plan on doing it the next time I visit Pennsylvania. This is maybe 20 minutes from the location where I photographed that 160mp panoramic of mine.

Ah awesome @johndykstra! I did do the tour but they didn't allow photos inside which sucked. It was a pretty good tour but they treat this place a little like a factory (unfortunately). Kind of ruins the experience a bit. They must make some money from this place though 😅

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=oen
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=a-visit-to-fallingwater-by-frank-lloyd-wright-in-pennsylvania


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63003.41
ETH 3122.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52