Traveling around Central America – Costa Rica

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

With a heavy heart, I left the islands of Bocas del Toro and got into the small boat that would bring me back to the harbour of the small coastal village of Almirante. Although the way to my next stop was not far, I left my hostel early in the morning. I had to take several public buses, a border crossing in front of me and wanted to make sure to arrive before darkness. 

After a short walk, I got to the bus terminal of Almirante and took one of the buses to Changuinola and from there one to the border crossing Sixaola. Even though everybody told me to take a private shuttle and that it would take me at least several hours to get to the border, I arrived there in less than two hours. I lined up to get my exit stamp from Panama and had to pay an, for my taste completely overdrawn, excursion fee. I crossed the border without further problems, swiftly got the entry stamp for Costa Rica and took the bus to Puerto Viejo - my first stopover in Costa Rica!

Puerto Viejo

Puerto Viejo is a small town on the Pacific coast of Costa Rica and just a few hours’ drive from the border of Panama. This formerly remote fishing village has grown rapidly in recent years and is now, at least among surfers and backpackers, one of the most popular travel destinations in Costa Rica.

I stayed at a small hostel near the beach and let the days pass without doing much. I enjoyed the sea and the sun and explored the surrounding beaches. 

alternative text

alternative text

San José

Many travelers had advised me against visiting Costa Rica's capital, but the city was right on my path and I still did not know where I wanted to go next. So I jumped into one of the buses to San José and arrived there about 4 hours later. I had booked a dorm bed in a small hostel near the center of the city in advance and after getting lost several times on my way there, I managed to find the right direction. 

I only spent very little time in San Jose and I never felt insecure and had no problems with crime. But the city simply could not convince me: too many people, dirty, loud and not even the main square had much to offer architecturally or otherwise.

Trinidad de Dota (Parque Nacional Los Quetzales)

I have already dedicated a complete post to this part of my journey through Costa Rica. For those who are into bird watching and like to see some photos of the famous Quetzal, I recommend reading my blog: Chasing the famous Resplendet Quetzal.

alternative text

Playa del Coco

My last stop should be the beach Playa del Coco on the northern Pacific coast of Costa Rica. After a long bus ride from San José, I arrived in the town Coco in the early evening. I had already read a lot about its beautiful beach, but when I left the bus station and headed towards my hostel, I realized that Coco was not really the sleepy little village, as I had thought. A Hard Rock Cafe, Papa John's Pizza, Subway and other American fast food chains dominated the main street. I was already planning to leave the next day in the morning, but as soon as I had left the main road, the hustle and bustle became less and less. Fortunately my first impression was not confirmed and the rest of the village and the beach turned out to be anything but touristy. The beach was almost always deserted and the atmosphere perfect for relaxing.

alternative text

alternative text

The sunsets and a lonely walk along the beach are a must - just beautiful!


 If you liked this blog, I recommend you read the first three chapters of my trip through Central America:

  1. Panama City
  2. Panama’s highlands
  3. Bocas del Toro

Thank you for reading! Feel free to comment, upvote, follow me and resteem!

Steemit Worldmap:
!steemitworldmap 9.922731 lat -84.089003 long Costa Rica D3SCR 


Sort:  

The Photographs are So amazing - I like the 1st one a lot - so much blue

And the last one - very dramatic and intense

*followed :)

Thank you! I'm glad you liked them, they are also one of my favorites :)

Oh wow great post. It really makes me yearn to go there. Beautiful photos!

Thanks a lot! :)

Very cool adventure you had. Thank you for sharing :)

You are welcome! :)

Amazing photos and great post. Wonderful adventure I bet :)

Thank you! Yes, traveling around Costa Rica was really awesome! :)

Ohh I love Costa Rica! I had the opportunity to go there this year and it was such an awesome hloiday. It is a beautiful, diverse country

I totally agree, Costa Rica is such a beautiful country! I wish I could have spent more time there. Which places did you visit?

Great shots! In your first one, I really like the symmetry from the reflection of the clouds in the water.

Thank you! :) Me too! The sunset that day in Puerto Viejo was unforgettable and perfect for taking some good photos.

Awesome work, can you share your few tricks which you are using. I am newbie in photography, you see one of my snap here https://steemit.com/landscapephotography/@kumawatamit28/morning-beauty-treat-for-the-eyes
#landscapephotography

Congratulations @ninolatino, this post is the second most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 3052 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $1821.35. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77